Ocean Way® Microphone Collection

Ocean Way® Microphone Collection

Regular Price: $249.00

$199.00

You'll Save 20%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $249.00

$199.00

You'll Save 20%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ocean Way® Microphone Collection

Overall Rating

1-20 of 29 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

f. cardini

June 17, 2019

Grande emulazione di fantastici mics

Ho apprezzato l’emulazione dei 47. Buone anche le altre

f. cardini

June 17, 2019

Warm tone

Warm tone especially the 47’s

P. Pendlebury

June 4, 2019

Stunning

A stunning addition to the Sphere universe. Absolute magic.

I. Andriotis

May 2, 2019

Make sure to grab!

I have to say that I do use the default mic emulation very often, especially the ribbons and AKG models. However, this particular collection of Large Diaphragm mics is extraordinary and worth adding to your collection.

One of my biggest concerns with LD mics is capturing a detailed sound, but avoid having a harsh top end. I don't know how and what sort of magic is happening here...but the 47, 49 and 12s do exactly what I described by default as soon as you bring the plug-in up.

Strongly recommended!



L. Koivisto

February 26, 2019

Dull sounds back to life!

This is a great plugin to revive dull sounds!

A. Green

January 4, 2019

Great tool.

As with the Townsend Plugin.
These sound great.

K. Lima

December 21, 2018

Warm tones....

that's it. the best mics on the planet.

R. Marant

December 14, 2018

Tecnología Townsend, cambio de juego!!

Tengo toda la colección de Townsend y es una gozada disponer de esta colección de micrófonos de ensueño, con una gama tonal de lujo.
No te arrepentirás, seguro!!

E. Norton

December 13, 2018

Perfect Imaginings ...

Paired with the L22 mic, Ocean Way Studios reverb plus various other UAD console emulations you can conceive of and then realize a fantasy recording experience in your DAW. The Neumanns are my favorites.

M. Nowak

November 12, 2018

Great models

I was happy with the stock Townsend models and really didn't want to have to buy this...but had no choice. Even with the same mic (M49, C12) there's an extra bit of richness and depth to the Ocean way versions. The C800 is killer, the KU-3A ribbon has a great midrange character, and KM-54 is a useful addition. I have even more tonal options now.

UAD User

October 24, 2018

The one to get.

To me, this has the most crucial vocal tones that I need: more modern and bright. But I also have the Bill Putnum ones, which I consider more for vibey songs, I guess.

The Townsend system really is incredible, and while there are others out there (notably, the Slate), the Townsend has the most control and lowest latency due to using the Apollo in tandem with the DAW as well as how smart the dual capsule system was designed in tandem with the modeling software.

It's just a no brainer.

The ONE thing I've found to be a "downside" on this system is the self noise of the Townsend L22 itself. It is SO QUIET that it apparently doesn't mask other noises in my room, which my previous tube LDC's apparently were! Haha. But the upside is that you get a MUCH cleaner recording, you can't clip the circuitry of the mic, and you can capture delicate sounds with more subtlety and ZERO concern about the noise floor. *The self noise is rated a 7db A weighted. There are very few microphones able to achieve even DOUBLE this noise floor. Neumann KM-184's are around 13, and that is already very quiet compared to most mics.

Anyway! Can't go wrong!

T. Fabri

September 19, 2018

New Era

These emulations are great - the diffrences between the models seem to be sometimes quite subtile but than suddenly you find the Sound you were aiming for. It is so cool to have the opportunity to choose the mic in the mixing stage... and it's great to have all the three collections. Yesterday I was soloing lead vocals - my favorite was the BP 47 - but in the mix the OW 47 worked even better - amazing!

M. Rakusic

September 13, 2018

This is the future....

This plug in with L22 is all what I need. Recording acc. Guitar, Vocal, Sax etc.... Work for everything. I do not know how to sound the original C 12, ore some expenisve Nemann, but these emulations sit in every mix!

S. Costantino

August 30, 2018

The possibilities are endless!

Using my Sphere mic system is a revelation and having access to the Ocean Way collection software along with the mic collection that comes with it gives me every possibility I could ever imagine!
Combined with my Apollo and Softube Console 1 the workflow is hands on and makes it so easy to dial in whatever I need to track on the fly!
The other thing that’s incredible is that I can dial in the polar patterns to tune in the room and any applications that I’m working with!
It’s a true game changer!

J. Norman

August 29, 2018

Fabulous -- and a great addition to the Townsend collection

I think the original Townsend collection is great. I had thought, since the Ocean Way set has many of the same mics, that I might be risking a lot of duplication. But nope. Each mic has its own character, so, for example, the U87, in one collection isn't the same as in the other, and it's likely I'll use each in different situations. Of course, each collection has mics that aren't the same and they're amazing, too. All in all, I'm glad I increased my digital mic closet with this purchase.

m. lloyd

August 29, 2018

OCEAN WAY MICROPHONES

I've recorded, off and on, in the Ocean Way building(s) since about 1962... quite some time. Alan has been a friend for many years and his expertise and talent is beyond compare. Being able to access some of his wonderful mics is a blessing. Truly. The UA folks have used their great talent to allow us this cool opportunity.

I appreciate this plugin. It rocks...!
And...rock on Michael Lloyd

D. Thierry

August 28, 2018

Mon Avis!

Très satisfait de mon achat. Merci UAD

d. baynham

June 24, 2018

This Mic Modeling System has changed my daily work flow

I have been using the Sphere mic system for nearly a year, and it has completely changed how I work in the studio. For years I have used multiple microphones on sources that I’m recording, and it has been worth the extra work in terms of flexibility and tone, but the time and hassle of changing mics and stands and preamps did slow me down in terms of working with my flow of ideas.

Now, I’m able to set up a Sphere mic and try multiple mic and preamp models in real time through my Apollo interface,and I’m also able to blend mic models within the software as well. With this most recent update, I’m able to blend Ocean Way mics with the Townsend core mic models--that come for free with the Sphere mic, or blend Ocean Way mics with other Ocean Way mics, etc. Then, I can either commit the sounds to my recording, or simply record dry while listening through the mic models in Apollo, and commit to a final choice later in the mix. Also, since I can automate the mic plugin, I can vary between models over the course of a song. If I am using a ribbon or dynamic mic as one of my models on a lead vocal to get a particular verse tone, but I want a brighter condenser tone for the chorus, I can easily automate that.

These models sound amazing, and provide an incredible range of colors and options. I cannot say enough good things about this system. Also, if you have a need for customer service, the folks at Townsend, and the folks at UA have treated me with speed, kindness and excellent help.

S. Carr

June 18, 2018

What a time to be alive

I'm in a self built low budget studio and would use an AKG C-414 to record vocals.. Until the day bought my townsend labs L22 and never looked back. Well, now that I have some time to look back, they just recently added the 414 with several different versions to choose from. It sounds the same or better (noise floor) and that's before you include the rest of the Mic's both emulating and modifying vintage mics. It seems like this mic should cost way more than it does but that's just another plus.

D. van Haarlem

May 7, 2018

An astonishing pedigree mic locker at your fingertips.

I was already very happy with mic emulations I got with my Sphere II, but these are truly amazing. Somehow Alan Side's ears helped making the revered mics sound even more silky in the top end. I love the C800G and C12 variations. I would have loved to see a Telefunken 251 and a Manley Ref C, but I am not complaining. The fun part starts with combining/mixing different mics with each other.

1-20 of 29 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2