Ocean Way® Microphone Collection

Ocean Way® Microphone Collection

$249.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$249.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ocean Way® Microphone Collection

Overall Rating

18 Item(s)

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

T. Fabri

September 19, 2018

New Era

These emulations are great - the diffrences between the models seem to be sometimes quite subtile but than suddenly you find the Sound you were aiming for. It is so cool to have the opportunity to choose the mic in the mixing stage... and it's great to have all the three collections. Yesterday I was soloing lead vocals - my favorite was the BP 47 - but in the mix the OW 47 worked even better - amazing!

M. Rakusic

September 13, 2018

This is the future....

This plug in with L22 is all what I need. Recording acc. Guitar, Vocal, Sax etc.... Work for everything. I do not know how to sound the original C 12, ore some expenisve Nemann, but these emulations sit in every mix!

S. Costantino

August 30, 2018

The possibilities are endless!

Using my Sphere mic system is a revelation and having access to the Ocean Way collection software along with the mic collection that comes with it gives me every possibility I could ever imagine!
Combined with my Apollo and Softube Console 1 the workflow is hands on and makes it so easy to dial in whatever I need to track on the fly!
The other thing that’s incredible is that I can dial in the polar patterns to tune in the room and any applications that I’m working with!
It’s a true game changer!

J. Norman

August 29, 2018

Fabulous -- and a great addition to the Townsend collection

I think the original Townsend collection is great. I had thought, since the Ocean Way set has many of the same mics, that I might be risking a lot of duplication. But nope. Each mic has its own character, so, for example, the U87, in one collection isn't the same as in the other, and it's likely I'll use each in different situations. Of course, each collection has mics that aren't the same and they're amazing, too. All in all, I'm glad I increased my digital mic closet with this purchase.

m. lloyd

August 29, 2018

OCEAN WAY MICROPHONES

I've recorded, off and on, in the Ocean Way building(s) since about 1962... quite some time. Alan has been a friend for many years and his expertise and talent is beyond compare. Being able to access some of his wonderful mics is a blessing. Truly. The UA folks have used their great talent to allow us this cool opportunity.

I appreciate this plugin. It rocks...!
And...rock on Michael Lloyd

D. Thierry

August 28, 2018

Mon Avis!

Très satisfait de mon achat. Merci UAD

d. baynham

June 24, 2018

This Mic Modeling System has changed my daily work flow

I have been using the Sphere mic system for nearly a year, and it has completely changed how I work in the studio. For years I have used multiple microphones on sources that I’m recording, and it has been worth the extra work in terms of flexibility and tone, but the time and hassle of changing mics and stands and preamps did slow me down in terms of working with my flow of ideas.

Now, I’m able to set up a Sphere mic and try multiple mic and preamp models in real time through my Apollo interface,and I’m also able to blend mic models within the software as well. With this most recent update, I’m able to blend Ocean Way mics with the Townsend core mic models--that come for free with the Sphere mic, or blend Ocean Way mics with other Ocean Way mics, etc. Then, I can either commit the sounds to my recording, or simply record dry while listening through the mic models in Apollo, and commit to a final choice later in the mix. Also, since I can automate the mic plugin, I can vary between models over the course of a song. If I am using a ribbon or dynamic mic as one of my models on a lead vocal to get a particular verse tone, but I want a brighter condenser tone for the chorus, I can easily automate that.

These models sound amazing, and provide an incredible range of colors and options. I cannot say enough good things about this system. Also, if you have a need for customer service, the folks at Townsend, and the folks at UA have treated me with speed, kindness and excellent help.

S. Carr

June 18, 2018

What a time to be alive

I'm in a self built low budget studio and would use an AKG C-414 to record vocals.. Until the day bought my townsend labs L22 and never looked back. Well, now that I have some time to look back, they just recently added the 414 with several different versions to choose from. It sounds the same or better (noise floor) and that's before you include the rest of the Mic's both emulating and modifying vintage mics. It seems like this mic should cost way more than it does but that's just another plus.

D. van Haarlem

May 7, 2018

An astonishing pedigree mic locker at your fingertips.

I was already very happy with mic emulations I got with my Sphere II, but these are truly amazing. Somehow Alan Side's ears helped making the revered mics sound even more silky in the top end. I love the C800G and C12 variations. I would have loved to see a Telefunken 251 and a Manley Ref C, but I am not complaining. The fun part starts with combining/mixing different mics with each other.

D. Huang

May 5, 2018

Awesome Mic modelling.

Really a good emulation ...

BUT .. Need a 180 degree Version of Ocean way Mic collection ....

f. formoline@qip.ru

May 5, 2018

Very Very GOOD!

uaudio the BEST!

M. Guertin

March 14, 2018

Great Collection

Love the sound of these, a fantastic addition to the already great collection that are included in the Townsend Plugin. This is the only way I'll ever afford to record through any of Alan Sides' mic locker. Worth every penny if you like incredible sounding mics! (and if you have an L22 how could you not love incredible sounding mics!)

M. Dessaulles

January 19, 2018

The next best thing..

As others have stated here, I also was blown away with the sound of the Sphere mic alone. The double capsule alone is great for a stereo room mic! I then started to experiment with various included mic emulations and was also very pleased when recording male and female vocals. The Ocean Way microphone collection adds amazing new mic emulations to an already great product.

J. CARPENTER

November 30, 2017

I thought i loved the emulations before..

THESE SOUND AMAZING....PERIOD!! Now that I've got that off my chest, back to my point.. Ive been a Townsend Sphere for almost a year now so I've gotten quite fond of this system, i was blown away by the sound of the mic alone let alone the pristine emulations. I've compared it to the direct competition and the sphere had a certain "weight" to the tone. It sounded "expensive" not thin and brittle to my ears. i didn't think it could get better until i heard this plugin. it sounds even fatter. just comparing the 800 to the townsend's version theres just a little more "booty" to the bottom end that sounds even more pleasing to me. and the k53, wow! it has a nice top end "sizzle" that sounds nice for what im doing. shoot,just for the additional mics you get for your arsenal its a no brainer! for all sphere owners this is a MUST. don't believe me? try it for yourself, the proof is in the pudding.

H. Way

November 28, 2017

Simply Amazing!

I am totally blown away by the commitment of this company to so quickly add to my already nice repertoire of microphones. This is such an amazing collection! The collection that came with the microphone excellent but this definitely widens the pallet.

UAD User

November 23, 2017

This has changed my view of what a microphone system can be

I was quite happy with the mic collection that came with my Sphere mic. They all sounded great and the notion that you could dial in the perfect tone during mix was quite an amazing experience. Well, I was at the end of a modern pop type mix and THIS additional 'pedigree' collection from Ocean Way came out. The mic that worked best for the record I was working on was the c800g and I was curious to hear a variation on the record. Holy cow....Uhmmm.....THIS collection is pure magic! There an additional degree of energy, presence and resolution that creates such a classy high end sound. These mic models just sound and feel right. Purists will probably hate, and some will doubt. I for one am sold (literally). This is now a new era in mic technology and it is a joy to get to experience it!

UAD User

November 23, 2017

This has changed my view of what a microphone system can be

I was quite happy with the mic collection that came with my Sphere mic. They all sounded great and the notion that you could dial in the perfect tone during mix was quite an amazing experience. Well, I was at the end of a modern pop type mix and THIS additional 'pedigree' collection from Ocean Way came out. The mic that worked best for the record I was working on was the c800g and I was curious to hear a variation on the record. Holy cow....Uhmmm.....THIS collection is pure magic! There an additional degree of energy, presence and resolution that creates such a classy high end sound. These mic models just sound and feel right. Purists will probably hate, and some will doubt. I for one am sold (literally). This is now a new era in mic technology and it is a joy to get to experience it!

S. Chahley

November 21, 2017

An even bigger reason to love the Sphere system...

Even though some of the 'usual suspects' here have different emulations in the standard Sphere pack (U47, C-12, etc), these models taken from Allen Sides' collection are an incredible sounding collection of some of the rarest 'golden units'...all with a pedigree. I can't believe how great these sound - and with the flexibility of the Sphere system it makes this a no-brainer for those of us who love having classic tones at our fingertips. I can't say enough about the quality of these emulations - and love the fact that some lesser known classics that many of us may never have come across (KM-53, KU-3A) are included. CLASSY sounds, and an education in tone...in a plug in. If you own a Sphere mic, I don't recommend you demo this pack unless you have the cash to buy it. Trust me.....
My only complaint is that we need a 180 (stereo) version of this pack. PLEASE!!!

18 Item(s)