Free UAD Plug-ins with Every Apollo Purchase!

Save $300 on UAD Accelerators through 12/31! Find a dealer ›

Get up to 70% savings on UAD plug-ins storewide! Shop 12 Days of UAD ›

Hello world 4!

Hello world 5!

Shop huge storewide savings on UAD plug-ins. Ends 6/30. Shop Now ›

Shop Holiday Deals on UAD Spark. See My Offers ›

Customer Reviews

OX Amp Top Box

Overall Rating

1-20 of 190 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

N. Oku

June 1, 2024

I can make the sound I thought.

It's a wonderful equipment that can make the sound you think.

T. TzwSVsOw

May 8, 2024

Mr.

20

T. TzwSVsOw

May 8, 2024

Mr.

20

D. Cohn

April 28, 2024

Game Changing Gear

Believe the hype. OXBOX is is Swiss Army Knife of tone shaping tools. I've particularly enjoyed using it as in interface during rehearsals, allowing me to have some room tone while getting a perfectly recorded, pefectly isolated signal. Great piece of kit.

R. Duffield

April 7, 2024

Every Day Piece

Could not live with out it , need a second one actually !!! one thing its time for even just a small update to say we have not forgotten ... its time guys ..

H. Nuesink

March 15, 2024

Top Sounds With Top Gear

Expect a lot from the OX but this is really good. Usable FX and Easy to Use

F. Doria

March 15, 2024

great sounds but constant connection problems

great sounds but constant connection problems. Considering the cost it is a problem that needs to be solved.

M. Balanky

March 1, 2024

It's been disappointing. I hear crackling on the high end that isn't present in real life. Amps have less headroom in the OX than real life.

I'm still trying to work through the issues, but there is an artificial break-up distortion on the high end that seems to be input overload, even when my meters are all green. I've tried it with single-ended amps, so there is no chance of an issue from mismatched tubes that the support talks about.

It works to play quietly at night and I'm in the middle of using it to record an album, but the amps don't sound the same as they do in the room with the same mic and speaker as modeled on the OX. I bought a second one to verify and they both have it. I've heard it on other people's YouTube videos now that I'm aware of it. It is not a silver bullet.

Besides the artificial distortion I hear, the amps don't seem to have the same amount of headroom as they do in real life. This causes me to find new tones instead of using settings that make tones I like in real life. So, it is like relearning how to ride a bike, which is a drawback. I've troubleshot the thing to death - impedances are matched, tubes are good, tried a new spdif cable, power supply, new ox, verified metering, etc. I sent a sound file to UA, and the support person told me they didn't hear anything. My wife, not a musician, can hear the crackle. ...

M. Power

February 25, 2024

A Dino get's to keep his stuff.

I'm older, just turned 50, and I've been recording rock guitar since I was 15. I love tube amps and I always go for the 100W tube heads cause I'm a gear snob.

My Ox Amp Top Box's attenuator is as good as, or better than any attenuator I've owned and being a 100W Gear Snob, that was a few of them. It's sounds great and I forgot I was playing through it within 30 secs and strapping my guitar on.

The part that blew my mind was the recording capabilities!

I've really tried to like plugins, and some are pretty good...until I do something that requires rolling off my volume to clean up my sound (Not much of a channel switcher) The plugins just couldn't react well.

Now, I can run a maxed 2203 and record, with exceptional quality, using headphones at 3 AM.

PS: The cab emulation is fantastic. When I record, it doesn't even dawn on my that it's software.

No more words needed.

My Ox Box is now a permanent fixture in my studio space.

J. Morales

February 21, 2024

Great experience!

Perfect for record or practice. My full band practice in Luna with headphones. Make more easy for the drummer follow the guitar when track by headphones using a JCM 800. I love it!

M. Pointon

February 2, 2024

Just great

I've not used this as an attenuator so can't talk about that. I use this for recording and it's just amazing

R. Thurn

January 17, 2024

Ox Box - Perfekt für zuhause!

Endlich bin ich wieder bei echten Amps und habe die 100000fachen Versuche, dass der Kemper gut klingt, aufgegeben. Kabel rein und aufdrehen. Mit der Ox Box zuhause nicht nur kein Problem, sondern PERFEKT (!!!)

S. Saied

January 3, 2024

Connection Issues

I love the UA products and I love my ox box, but I really don’t understand the implementation of this Wi-Fi connectivity that you have to go through with the ox box. Why didn’t they implement a USB type connectivity to the computer or even thunderbolt because it was out when the aux came out. another concern as I dropped nearly $1500 on this ox box and there’s been no firmware updates for at least two years years now. Being a software developer and engineer, I know there’s hardware limitations with the Wi-Fi but there’s a USB port on the box, so why not develop software that can utilize that now that technology is moving on with Wi-Fi technology? Eventually you’re not gonna be able to connect your Ox box at all which means you won’t be able to alter any presets.

R. TARIEL

December 20, 2023

Mon meilleur achat

Je suis tout simplement bluffé par la qualité sonore exceptionnelle qu'il offre.
C'est sans aucun doute le meilleur achat que j'ai effectué depuis longtemps.
C'est le compagnon idéal pour tout guitariste cherchant à obtenir un son pro avec ses ampli.

A. Hathot

December 10, 2023

Perfection

The only downside is that will make you spend money on more analog amps :)

R. lamprecht

November 19, 2023

storing is boring

have now two of them, sound is great, but if I want to use them stereo, I have to do it twice, boring. Please invent copy presets, can be worth a nobel price.

T. Nourse

November 17, 2023

THE OX BOX is bliss

I started out using another brand. Sounded ok but the latency issue drove me nut. Tried to work through it but never right. So I bought the Ox Stomp and loves it. So much so I jumped all in for the OX Amp Top Box. Whether playing through my amp to enjoy the tone of driven tube through the speakers or with my apollo twin x, this unit is amazing. My recordings have come alive. All those who complain about the need for an upgrade. Honestly as long as UA keeps up with firmware and software improvements this unit should be good for a long time.

D. Taylor

October 26, 2023

you gotta update it.

It's great, it really is. However, time marches on and new competitors release new things, and, UA releases new things but don't seem to want to move the Ox. For example, UA just came out with the Lion '68 Super Lead Amp... why isn't that extended to our expensive Ox?

Also, the Ox needs to be on it's own WiFi when you're tweaking it, which is kinda weird because I'm using LUNA and LUNA wants to be on the internet to 'call home'. So, Luna quits while I'm working on the Ox, I get our of the Ox to restart LUNA, and the Ox quits.

UA, come dudes. You're smarter than this. Stop treating the Ox like it's an after thought. We paid a lot of money for it, we use your products, keep it updated and let it connect thought LUNA.

K. Murawski

October 19, 2023

Excelent!

I was hesitating for a long time if I should buy this marvellous device or not. It is really pricy (more expensive than my amp!). But since I was struggling for a long time with playing at low volumes at home with good tone I finally decided to order it (found a not so terrible price at one shop). Well - it's a great device, the sounds are great. The lowered speaker output sounds way better than the cheap harley benton I used before.
The only drawback for this device is not so stable wifi connectivity, and the connection process is not optimal.
Also - please support horizontal view on iPad. Most of people now have it connected to external keyboards or something and it would be so much more convenient to be able to use it horizontally.

G. Brown

October 15, 2023

Ox Box / Swart Atomic Space Tone Amp

I first and foremost purchased the Ox Box for attenuation.
For or my clean guitar tone I use a Swart Atomic Space Tone Amp, as it will not start breaking up until after 9 o'clock on the 12 point volume control and sounds sublime.
Before purchasing my Ox Box I used a Swart Nite Light for attenuation, although a great piece of kit it didn't offer me the correct level of attenuation I required.
The Ox Box does this and with the availability of the on-board amp / microphone modelling, opens up a whole new world of sound which I am only just discovering.

1-20 of 190 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 10