Oxide Tape Recorder

Oxide Tape Recorder

$149.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$149.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Oxide Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

561-580 of 619 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

E. Burnett

February 11, 2016

Basically a poor man's Studer - and it's great!

I've worked with the Studer and Ampex plug-ins here and actually found them a little too feature packed - when I'm quickly looking for a nice tape effect the Oxide is a perfect place to start. And obviously the DSP hit is so much less than with the Studer/Ampex - great job UAD!

A. BOUCHER

February 7, 2016

Oxide a great low cost option

Now that I have had some time behind the promotional plug-ins that come standard w the Apollo 8p and Twin Duo hardware, I needed something to add more depth and texture to my mix. I was holding out for sales on the Studier and Ampex tape recorders when, BAM, here is Oxide. Subtle, easy to use plug. It really brings out vocals when patched on a single track and gives the whole mix a round, whole feeling of context. Thanks for the coupons and keep those sales coming!

a. terris

January 31, 2016

Awesome

Simply magic ! It's sound really great on my drums tracks !!! And affordable too ...;)
A must have.

E. Zimmermann

January 30, 2016

Great sounding plug

I've got some prior tape experience, and I feel like the compression and distortion that this plug offers is similar. Is it identical? I don't know or care. I do know that it adds a subtle, yet noticeable compression and smear (in a good way) that sounds perfect on some recent work I've done.

S. ÖZER

January 30, 2016

AMAZING

İts amazing and very easy to use :))

J. Philippi

January 29, 2016

Pleasure for my ears!!

I had my doubts! I have the Slate VTM and thought why another one? I wanted a warm distortion on a snare drum.. my TS808 didn't sound right.. thought about a saturator and somehow I thought tape saturation/compression might be it.. plugged in VTM... naaaa, not at all what I wanted. There's this new Oxide tape, I thought... Gave it a try and demoed it.. Plugged it in, turned up the input.. tried that thing on a bass guitar.. went straight to UAD and bought the plug in!! That's the tape sound I always wanted!!
Not much DSP is needed. That's really a great job you've done here... Thank you!

E. Burnett

January 28, 2016

Easy GUI, DSP friendly and sounds great!

Had the Studer and loved it but with just a Twin Duo couldn't afford the DSP to use it on every track. Oxide is the answer - for anyone using the more modest Apollo devices this gives you the Studer experience without the painful DSP usage. Incredible job UA!

I. Papagiannidis

January 28, 2016

One more fantastic plugin!

A great plugin for every application . it's so easy to use without wasting time even for beginners . it s perfect for compressing the sound and make every source more vivid and in your face. it glue things together perfect for bus channels too!

thanks again UAD team Great work!

John Jeff Touch
rock singer/producer/ vocal coach
www.webartag.com
www.johnjefftouch.net

I. Papagiannidis

January 28, 2016

One more fantastic plugin!

A great plugin for every application . it's so easy to use without wasting time even for beginners . it s perfect for compressing the sound and make every source more vivid and in your face. it glue things together perfect for bus channels too!

thanks again UAD team Great work!

John Jeff Touch
rock singer/producer/ vocal coach
www.webartag.com
www.johnjefftouch.net

P. Degen

January 28, 2016

Warmth

I really really had a doubt about buying this plugin. And even though there are many videoclips in which people explain what it does, most of the time it was so subtle, I didn't hear it.

I took the risk and now I finally understand (or rather hear/feel) what's going on. The sound I have always listened to in the 70's, was all recorded on tape. And that "feel" is now also in my own music.

When switched on over a drumsampler, it somehow makes it all more enjoyable to listen to. When switched off everything sounds somewhat harsh and digital.
So in the end, I'm a happy man. Thanks UAD

M. Gasmi

January 25, 2016

Superior tape emulation

For the longest time, I've always steered clear of tape emulation plugins because I never liked how it affected the bottom end (especially with mixes which significant sub 60hz energy). Because the plugin only really has two controls (tape inch mode & input knob), UA has very cleverly chosen to provide us with basically two ways to approach it : one rather transparent, where the bottom end remains nearly untouched but where the midrange benefits from compression & highly level-dependant harmonic distortion (the 15" mode - ideal for modern hip hop mixing), the other with a much stronger behaviour (the 7.5"). Note that it will always change your sound, so you'd better mix into it from the outset.

UAD User

January 23, 2016

Just amazing. Sold on UAD.

Sounds fantastic, at a better price than other tape plugins. Love my apollo twin, and my octo!

J. Barry

January 22, 2016

I have many tape emulators and this is my favorite

I have Slate VTM which is very, very subtle. I have j37 which is almost cartoonish but does serve a very real purpose. I love Oxide because it is realistic like slate but has a flavor like the J-37 without feeling "cartoonish". If you have UA's big brothers there's no need to get this but if you do not -- then this is a godsend. This will actually smooth up your tracks and make them just work together. I love it and it doesn't take much processing power. One of my goto plugins. Great job UA.

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Great F***ing Job!

You guys really understand tape and do it right, you really do!

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Great F***ing Job!

You guys really understand tape and do it right, you really do!

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Great F***ing Job!

You guys really understand tape and do it right, you really do!

E. Haliva

January 18, 2016

Love it! So warm and clear sound

the best plugin from UA i buy so musically sound

J. Harvey

January 16, 2016

Worth it.

I have the Ampex however to be honest stretching for the Studer also really seemed a far stretch. I was dubious at first as its not as flexible as the Studer however the simple fact is it sounds good and the price is good. I work in a place with old unused Studer machines in many of the Studios, modern digital remodelling although not quite so perfect to their emulations is so close its not worth, for the average person, shelling out. Just like 70mm film not everyone can do it as its so expensive, but a good movie on digital is still a good movie. This is a good tape emulation to enjoy using.

f. borbas

January 11, 2016

instant fatness

until recently the AMPEX has been my go-to tape plugin. since i purchased the Oxide tape i tend to use this one more often. it´s easier and to use and eats less DSP power. i must admit the roundness and fatness this tape emulation delivers is probably far off from what a real tape recorder would do. but who cares: this Oxide plugin thing gives me that instant fatness thing. one of my favourite UAD plug-ins.

UAD User

January 3, 2016

Exactly What I Needed

This is the pixie dust I was seeking.

561-580 of 619 Results