Oxide Tape Recorder

Oxide Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $149.00

$99.00

You'll Save 33%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $149.00

$99.00

You'll Save 33%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Oxide Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

61-80 of 410 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Schultz

March 26, 2018

Quality

I was second guessing the purchase almost immediately. I love Softube’s Tape and was wondering why I thought I might need another. Fortunately, the more I use Oxide, the more I’m coming to appreciate its strengths. It’s a little more forgiving with gain staging and excels at adding weight while Tape works exceptionally well at the top end. Not redundant at all. I applied both to a vocal bus this past weekend, and they complement each other quite nicely.

J. Sillanpää

March 24, 2018

Subtle & simple

Oxide is a simple way to add tape saturation to tracks. There isn't a wholelotta options, but the sounds you get are well worth the price of admission.

P. Radivojevic

March 23, 2018

Simple but powerful tape magic for vocals

I love the sound and simplicity of Oxide Tape Recorder plugin. It sits on my vocals bus as last plugin in chain and all the magic happens.
Beautiful saturation, warmth, and opens vocals wonderfully. There is also some lovely width I can't describe, but the minute I bypass Oxide it sounds flat.
I don't know what magic UA put behind it and I don't care :) Oxide Tape Recorder is a must have for me.

B. Stallings

March 19, 2018

I’m In Love!

I’ve been looking for a good quality tape emulation plug-in for a good 2 years or so! So, after I purchased my new UA Apollo Twin, and read some reviews on the Oxide Tape, I decided to purchase it with my promo code(s). I got Oxide at no cost (thanks, UA!), but after using it in my mixes on vocals, piano, strings, etc. I Absolutely Love what it brings to my tracks!! It does exactly what it’s supposed to do, and you really can hear the difference it makes; it’s authentic, polished (or grimy if you really want to push it up!), and so Amazingly easy to use and dial in your saturation amount. It’s really inspirational to work with, and you truly get the feeling that you’re working with an Amazing, Historic analog 2 inch tape hardware reel. Knowing what I know now, I’d have paid considerably more than the current price. If you’re curious, or even dubious, give it a try - you will not regret it for a second! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

F. Coloma Quiles

March 19, 2018

Nice but not definitiv...

Nice sounding plug with low dsp usage. I would use it in not demanding situations where not many parameters should be tweaked. I find it often too harsh sounding in comparison to my beloved ATR-102. I miss a WET/DRY knob for parallel processing (like many other UAD plugs). GUI is not scalable as well. For the price range there are many better options out there. If you are a demanding guy go for the ATR-102 and never look back.

K. Spratt

March 16, 2018

Rich & Fat! Easy to understand and operate!

The Oxide adds another priceless tool to my selection of UA Tape plugins which I now use in just about every mix session. This one really shines on Kicks and Bass elements and brings a powerful and rich fatness to the sound. Amazing!

j. pyle

March 16, 2018

easy as can be.

Great tape tone in seconds. easy peasy.

L. Kasprzyk

March 15, 2018

oxid tape

not exactly "recorder" but works as expected. and dsp-wise too!

J. Pettersson

March 15, 2018

Warmth

Like it on drums. Adds a nice warmth. Especially to kicks. Both in an out!

T. Ellis

March 15, 2018

Wonderful Color

I really like the compression and tonal smoothing of Oxide. I've tried other tape emulation plugins and this is first that had a tone, not just an effect. Easy on the DSP too! I've already demo'd the Studer and Ampex emulations and they are next on my wish list.

A. Arce Torres

March 15, 2018

Couleur

Très bonne simulation de tape machine, très chaleureux et très versatile, merci UAD.

C. Taylor

March 8, 2018

Very light on dsp power

I have the twin quad and placed it on 14 tracks and still had power left over for other plugins. I use it like the setup in a real studio.

A. Philipp

March 4, 2018

Simple but Good!

Really like simplicity of interface with really good result.

P. Radivojevic

March 1, 2018

Magic on vocals

I love the sound and simplicity of Oxide Tape Recorder plugin. It sits on my vocals bus as last plugin in chain and all the magic happens.
Beautiful saturation, warmth, and opens vocals wonderfully. There is also some lovely width I can't describe, but the minute I bypass Oxide it sounds flat.
I don't know what magic UA put behind it and I don't care :) Oxide Tape Recorder is a must have for me.

H. Zunkel

February 26, 2018

Überzeugende Tape Simulation

War gleich von Anfang an begeistert vom Sound. Schiebt schön im unteren Bereich und oben britzelt es. Wunderbar für alles vor allem für Drums aber auch Bass, Gitarren und Gesang werden schön verdichtet. Eine automatische Angleichung der Lautstärke bei gedrückter Shift oder Strg Taste beim Input zum Outputregler wär schön gewesen. Aber ansonsten ein tolles Tape Plugin, welches bei mir in jedem Projekt zum Einsatz kommt.

P. LaRose

February 20, 2018

WOW!

I haven't had too much time to put this plugin through the paces. However I did experiment with an existing mix by replacing all of the instances of another well known tape emulator with the Oxide and it made a huge difference.

C. Mayr

February 13, 2018

A "Must Have"

I was surprised when I've heard this plug for the first time how the signal get more "thickness"! Whatever you need, OH's on Drums, A-Guitars, Vocals ect. Only a light breeze and you hear the difference, do it !

F. Batiste III

February 9, 2018

Dark & Lovely

This Tape emulation is definitely better on some sounds than others. For me it's just wonderful on bass, sub bass, and drums. If you want to knock excess brightness or harshness off of a sound this could work too. I'm glad I bought it.

l. aversano

February 5, 2018

oxide

in a word EXCEPTIONAL

S. Ramsay

January 27, 2018

Absolutely Excellent

First, let me say that I am on the UAD platform basically because of the Studer and Ampex tape sims. They are just breathtaking. I really couldn't believe it when UAD came out with another one.

Now having spent some time with it, I think I can say something useful about it.

It's simpler to use than either the Studer or the Ampex, and while it's obviously meant to sound like some kind of two-inch model, it's non specific. I think that's actually good, because it allowed them to get at what is good about tape generally, and focus on those areas: the non-linear (and subtle) eq, the head bump, and of course, the saturation.

So, easier to use, but not "Studer/Ampex Lite" in terms of sound. It's very, very high quality, despite being less processing intensive than the others. In general -- and this is the main thing to know about it -- it's darker than its older brothers, and probably darker than most tape sims out there. Completely stunning on bass and percussion, though I've been using it on all channels and loving the sound.

Really, really great stuff. Wonder if UAD will do another? An Otari? An EMI? An MCI? One can dream . . .

61-80 of 410 Results