Sound Machine Wood Works®

Sound Machine Wood Works®

Regular Price: $299.00

$209.00

You'll Save 30%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$209.00

You'll Save 30%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Sound Machine Wood Works

Overall Rating

41-60 of 78 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

T. Koeroglu

December 27, 2015

For live Recordings Good Option.!...Why Not!

For the piezo guitar pickups works well, but piezo and mic combi 2way pickups I hear little bit Phase and Hollow in Sound..:( Maybe I hate piezo pickups!...Still good option for a live recordings!...Thanks UA....Happy New Year!....Peace:)

J. Grefsrud

December 27, 2015

For what it is, brilliant!

I see this product, not as a substitute for miking a guitar, but as a saviour of piezo-recordings. It is absolutely not as good as a proper microphone-recording.
But if you take this out of the equation, and your left with this or a piezo-recording, it's soooo much better. Add an IR-reverb of a lively room, and this thing saves your a**.

F. Schoffelen

December 25, 2015

Woodworks revisited.

Doing most recordings via a different venue (AURA) that process was sometimes too tedious for old tracks. When Woodworks came on sale I retried it and my first evaluation still holds BUT : i now mix the Woodworks sound together with the original and found a MAAG EQ setting that eliminates the harshness of most presets. I would LOVE an update with at least a bit of EQ . For many of the old tracks there are just too many RESONANCES inside the captured guitars. A way to do Effect-Mix would put this plugin back on many people's list imho. With a coupon and on sale I decided to give it another try. Oh and Ocean Way helps too ;-) I'll give it 4 stars when EFFECT mix ever gets integrated and one parametric for resonances.

M. Kraus

December 12, 2015

It is just awesome

A Friend of Mine came over with his drummer and we wanted to Record a Little piece of him as a Trio .. I gave it a Shot miked his Voice and a crappy sm57 for the cajon and i Played Guitar through my di Input. Well the cajon and the Voice sounded good.. Well like i thought Guitar sounded like crap..therefore i wanted to find something whitch solves the Problem. I tried out the Demo of the Plugin .. The drummer asked me how did you achive that sound do you habe some Nsa invisible microphones whitch recorded as well... Long Story it Sounds just awesome and right afterwards i spent my Rent Money on that Plugin
.. By the way it Sounds awesome when you Record with 2 small condensors Stereo and mix it with the di woodworks plugin
:)

R. Butt

December 8, 2015

Sound Machine Wood Works

I like this plug in from a creative point of view. If you play through the presets listening in conjunction with your mix it will find a place to sit well in your mix. Listen to it all on its own.. not so impressive for me it is definitely a mix tool and I even put other string instruments through it like violins, cellos etc ... very unique and cool and there is no other plug in like it.

R. Richard

November 28, 2015

Better that some of these reviews

After reading the negative comments here, I was prepared to not like this. And at first I wasn't impressed either. Being lazy, I threw it at the first few acoustic guitar tracks I found lying round. Not good. I wonder if that's what some of the previous users did as well. Finally I tried it out the way it was meant to be used -- on a piezo pickup (an L.R. Baggs iBeam in a Larivee L-05) direct into my DAW. Very good! The same guitar also has an L.R. Baggs Element, which doesn't need this kind of help. Even so, I appreciate having 16 sounds to choose from. I do find that I usually want less of the effect and am mixing the plugin output with some of the the dry signal, which gives even more flexibility. In V2, olease add a wet/dry mix control.

D. Thompson

November 21, 2015

Was a little dubious at 1st... but

This plugin is worth the purchase, but as many others have said, it takes a little time to play around with the settings. It also does in fact sound pretty nice when you find the settings (which you save).

My only gripe is it takes a while to find the right setting, and the price, it is not worth that. I think UAD could come up with a much better solution.

But I'm giving this 4 stars as it actually works and does produce a nice sound for your acoustic guitar when DI'd

T. Schuster

October 15, 2015

This is a mix tool, not recording.

This is an amazing tool like most things UA produces. Take a recording of a acoustic guitar or really any wooden acoustic instrument. Buss it too an aux track with this plugin on the insert and mix it in. I usually have it about 6-8db lower than the dry track. It adds realism and attack. You might need to eq to fit your mix. It's not meant to record threw...and yea it does sound really bad when you throw it on the insert of the track. But the lack of wet/dry mix in the plugin should be a red flag that it needs to be auxed and mixed in.

T. Schuster

October 15, 2015

This is a mix tool, not recording.

This is an amazing tool like most things UA produces. Take a recording of a acoustic guitar or really any wooden acoustic instrument. Buss it too an aux track with this plugin on the insert and mix it in. I usually have it about 6-8db lower than the dry track. It adds realism and attack. You might need to eq to fit your mix. It's not meant to record threw...and yea it does sound really bad when you throw it on the insert of the track. But the lack of wet/dry mix in the plugin should be a red flag that it needs to be auxed and mixed in.

J. Wall

October 2, 2015

What a bargain

Wow! Only $300 to make your DI'd acoustic guitar sound even worse. The demo, as mentioned above sounds terrible and I'm pretty sure any of us out here could use stock plugins to do the job better than this "specialty" plug. Boo :( Putting out substandard software like this (at astronomical prices) tarnishes UA's reputation for quality.

D. Thompson

September 21, 2015

I don't like this at all....

So ...demo'd Ocean Way's, ended up buying that straight away. What a stupid mistake buying this plugin!

It was very hard to get a decent sound from it, it felt ok at the start,until I found myself constantly tweaking at the knobs. Maybe it's my acoustic guitar, who know's. But I don't like the sound this brings to my acoustic as much as re-mic with Ocean Ways which just instantly gives me what I want.

Maybe someone else finds good use of this but for me it's a no go and I wish there'd be a plugin give back policy for a time frame.

S. Foley

September 14, 2015

good to fix engineering mistakes, not great "go to" choice for tracking

I typically record the DI of an acoustic guitar "just in case" I need to get a little clarity or do something funky with the sound, but you can't beat the sound of microphones on an acoustic. This plugin may get you out of a jam if you are mixing something live, have a tracking scenario with a lot of bleed in acoustic mics, or someone (maybe you???) just screwed up in tracking.
It is not, however, an acceptable replacement for an acoustic guitar with a microphone on it's own. If you want to be able to make an acoustic album with only your DI out, you will be disappointed.

A. Han

July 9, 2015

Expectation failed

I felt relief to know that this plugin was not designed by Universal Audio.
I do trust everything that Universal Audio designs.
When i first saw the advertisement of this plugin, I thought "UA did something cool again!"
As I was demoing, It just didn't feel right. It just doesn't sound good.
Then I found out that this plugin was not designed by UA. It's a good thing. I still can trust UA.


UAD User

June 22, 2015

Wow....$250 on sale?!

Don't get me wrong, I love my UAD stuff! But holy crap, how could anyone actually pull the trigger on purchasing this when even the demo clips sound awful! I haven't even downloaded the demo version solely based on what I'm hearing in the demo clips. They sound exactly like what it is....plug in an acoustic direct, then "try" and add some mic mojo to the signal. It's so far off it's kind of comical.
You just can't emulate an acoustic guitar, recorded with good acoustic mics....just can't.

So based only on the sound clip demos.....1 star :(

I. Papagiannidis

May 24, 2015

great tool!

great tool for adding extra character to the acoustic gt. especially when its not so well recorded.

a must have plugin

www.johnjefftouch.net

S. Higgins

May 22, 2015

Does what it should

I have now used this plug on a number of piezo tracks. It needs a little work to get the correct sound, and some of options can sound down right horrid, but I always get a sound that I am happy with.

F. Schoffelen

May 10, 2015

Not as good as expected

Tested the plugin thoroughly with luthier steelstring guitars with fishmann pickups, German handmade classical guitars with Baggs pickups, Yahama APX 10 Classic with proprietary pickups ( body and saddle) and even an electric guitar with Piezo on ech bridge saddle ( Godin). I had high hopes for this plugin to "rescue" some recordings that had been done with stereo mikes and direct in setups. The R88 ( AEA) or AT4060 duo sometimes caught a bit of sneezing (Live) . For various reasons this did not work out. For the price it has very few models compared to for instance the Fishman Pedal ( AURA DI) and secondly they just sounded harsh compared to all other modelling attempts. I went with the AURA instead.

T. Liljegren

April 24, 2015

Turn your Martin D35 sound like a dull Dobro?

Yeah! That's what this plug-in does to my acoustic steel string.

I was sceptical when I read about it, but UA use to surprize me quite often so....

Demoed it - inserted it on an pietzo-recorded ac-guitar channel and it all got totally spoiled.

Didn't matter how the neck and body knobs were blended.

$300 for this one is throwing the bucks in an open fire.

This is the lousiest plugin released by UA of all time.

J. Cox

April 10, 2015

Strange resonances

Using it with my paul reed smith p22. I haven't tried it with any other guitars but with this one it's not great. I'm hoping I can get some use out of this plugin live. Using my studio monitors or headphones I can't get it to not sound odd.

Perhaps through a PA it will sound better.

B. Herle

April 9, 2015

Got some nastyness...

I can't imagine being able to achieve a good result by using this alone. It's got some nasty phasyness going on seemingly with every setting. That being said, blending it with the clean DI track I found it to be helpful in giving it some realism, but that was after spending a lot of time getting a somewhat usable sound out of the plugin first. Not sure if I'd pay much to have this plug in my collection...

41-60 of 78 Results