SSL® 4000 E Channel Strip Collection

SSL® 4000 E Channel Strip Collection

Unison Enabled

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

SSL 4000 E Channel Strip Collection

Overall Rating

1-20 of 397 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 20

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

F. BANOR

October 5, 2019

Best preamp and EQ hands down

Use the mic preamp w/ Unison and your mind will be blown. Exceptional EQ too.

R. Riccardo

September 30, 2019

Great plugin!

I've tried so many SSL style plugins, but this is absolutely the best! the compression is amazing on the rhythmic tracks. if you want to rock your mix you should have one of this!

J. Woo

September 24, 2019

Amazing for vocals

Tested all the pre amps and love this one for vocals. Havent used it for other recording yet. But the sound is so clean. I also have 1076 and Voxbox, which are both great, but this is so clean for vocals when putting them up front.

Just record completely dry or maybe slightest amount of 1176. Then a little EQ and Tube tec and vocals sound so good and can be anywhere you want in the mix. Thanks and love this pre amp!

t. taeksu

September 18, 2019

매우 융이한 플르그인중 하나여서 샀지만

세일을 크게 하는줄 모르고 페키지로 구매하였다 dsp 용량을 많이 먹는 안타까움이 있다. 중복도 많아서 비슷한것 체널 스트립은 이제 그만 사야겠다.

t. taeksu

September 18, 2019

매우 융이한 플르그인중 하나여서 샀지만

세일을 크게 하는줄 모르고 페키지로 구매하였다 dsp 용량을 많이 먹는 안타까움이 있다. 중복도 많아서 비슷한것 체널 스트립은 이제 그만 사야겠다.

E. Önbayraktar

September 1, 2019

SSL 4000 E

It becomes an addiction very quickly once you place SSL 4000 E on the top of your plugins and next time if you don't, you will really feel that there is something missing :)

J. Leone

August 25, 2019

Swiss army knife

Great tones and accessibility. Whenever my other heavy UAD plugins are too DSP intensive, this one comes in handy as a jack of all trades utility. But don't let that statement fool it because it sounds great on anything too

R. Whitney

August 21, 2019

Great for Recording Acoustic Country Blues Guitar (and other things)

I put the demo of this SSL 4000e emulation through its paces for two weeks against all of the other Unison channel strips and chose it for -- believe it or not -- what I thought to be the most organic, natural sounding to me for recording my Collings OM-2H in finger-style country blues type solo recordings with an AKG C414 XLS microphone into an Apollo Twin MKII. Who knew? I thought this SSL sound was supposed to be for ultra slick pop music!

The Neve 88RS and API Vision channels were close contenders, and the API especially seemed like it might provide a nice, somewhat "brighter" and slightly more "open" contrast to the very "up=front" SSL sound, but to have one overall vibe, the 4000E worked best for me.

I wasn't interested in having the older school Neve 1073, V76, etc sounds, and didn't like the functionality of some of those. I was looking for a more modern sound but I wish there were a Trident A Series Unison channel strip, as the Daking preamps have been my go-to for many years. Not having them available to me now, it might have been comforting to replace them with a plugin, if that's possible, but it's also nice to move on and try something new. I've never used an actual SSL board so I don't know how close this plugin comes to the real thing. Reviews say it does but how can you trust these reviews? (BTW, you can trust this one, for what it's worth, cuz I'm just an old hippie who likes to dabble).

The transformer option hasn't appealed to me yet (surprisingly, since I often prefer the sound of transformers in microphone press and microphones) as it messes with the clarity -- and I am a fiend for clarity -- but with vibe, not sterile ; the compressor is unobtrusive when used lightly -- which is the way I usually use it on input ; the EQ is smooth ; the metering fine. It's a processor hog, so I just use it on a single Unison input channel -- not for mixing or anything after the fact. It would be cool if it could be used after a Unison guitar or bass amp sim (I use the Friedman Buxom Betty and Eden 800 plugs), to add that sound going in, though I realize those emulations already have recording chain emulations built in and would need to be disable-able for that to work.

I've used Universal Audio compressors like the 1176LN and microphone pres like the 610 in the past and have liked them very much, and this software deal is admittedly pretty cool ; but the hardware limitations of those chips and the cost of each plugin is dissapointing for sure - but what to do? I'm lucky I can afford them. I like the ability to insert this in the input in their cool (gimmicky maybe?) Unison technology ; (I mean, is it really that much better than sticking a plugin into the track after the fact?) It's probably more a psychological thing for me because I'm used to getting "that sound" going in, so this gives me that sense of the analog recording process.

I've only been using this SSL 4000E channel strip for 3-4 weeks for my own little projects, but so far, so good.

p. dwyer

August 14, 2019

Great Channel Strip

great channel strip use it on nearly everything when tracking and mixing

D. Tetmyer

July 24, 2019

Nice strip

Amazing strip

B. Palmer

July 12, 2019

Wonderful

This is a great piece. I was not very familiar with SSL stuff outside of the comps. This thing is clean and robust, and unlike the other more colored unison plugs, I would use it for any type of music.

C. Wilson

July 12, 2019

Great

Awesome

A. Lizama

July 8, 2019

I just demoed it and...

My mind is blown

w. shenck

July 6, 2019

Great for mild adjustments

Found it best on drum tracks.

K. Kessler

June 22, 2019

Woow!

Big, punchy, amazing sounding. The drums sound soooo big with SSL EQ!

C. Mayr

June 18, 2019

One of the best Channelstrip

As I was looking for a Channelstrip from UAD, the SSL 4000 was my "Must To Have" ! And the SSL is really that I wanted, fat and amazing !!!

P. Drube

June 18, 2019

THE punchy sound!

Awesome channel strip, gives amazing EQ sound to whatever source...go and get one !

S. Rabaey

June 13, 2019

Plugin on a mission!

beautiful analog sounding preamp through the unison slot, mic'ed my cab with a E906 and it came alive after tweaking the eq section for a bit! i feel sorry for the local studio's because they won't see me again when it comes to tracking guitar lol. thnx UAD for the great 3+1plugin deal

K. UMEDA

June 10, 2019

Great!

Best for drums and percussion.

A. Daoutakis

May 15, 2019

wow

Just wow! now my mixes are really starting to sound like the real deal.

1-20 of 397 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 20