SSL® 4000 G Bus Compressor Collection

SSL® 4000 G Bus Compressor Collection

Regular Price: $299.00


You'll Save 16%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00


You'll Save 16%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

SSL 4000 G Bus Compressor Collection

Overall Rating

21-40 of 127 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

s. Ha

January 14, 2018


Sweet, classy sound

J. Lewis

January 14, 2018

One of my go-to's...but not 5-star for one tiny niggly reason

If, like me, you are running a lot of UAD plugins on a relatively ordinary computer, you will at some point feel the CPU strain. The legacy versions will help a lot.

The SSL full version on the mix bus is my go-to. I adore its sound, its warmth, the way it breathes. I really love the SSL sound. The full version feature set and sound are in a league of magic.

The full version is absolutely 5-star.

**And the sound and features of the legacy are fine. 5-star. Very important.**

The 4-star review is for a small and silly reason, but easily fixed!

I would just like to ask UAudio to not cut the corner too far on the way the legacy SSL looks! To me it just looks a little like it is lacking in pixel resolution. It could just do with a smoother color finish, not the kind of grainy finish it has. Nothing more major than that. It kind of lowers the fun of using it just a touch too much. Check out the Pultec legacy, or the 1176 legacies. They look fantastic, and sound majestic too. That same little bump of "joy" when you open it up would be welcome from the SSL legacy, which is a go-to for me in terms of sound.

E. Halterman

January 13, 2018

I always have this one on my mix bus!

This is just stellar, my mix bus cannot live without it!

UAD User

January 12, 2018

Just works great

I had the legacy version, but this version just has that sound and is a swiss army knife... A little off the top in regards to compression and it was perfect. Tight punchy and smooth as well

N. Davidge

January 11, 2018

Old Faithful

It's my first plugin in every session, it's as dependable as anything I've ever come to depend on.

G. Baert

January 11, 2018

Un compresseur de bus seduisant

j'ai choisi d'utiliser ce compresseur car sur un bus "master" chaque élément du mix semble se discerner plus distinctement ( c est peut etre cela l'effet "glue" ? )
Maybe we could dream of a combo plugin with both this comp and the ssl Eq so that
we could use a ST/ mid-side tool on the master bus.

C. Modog

January 11, 2018


Hello there,
This plugin its so cool and great for Mix Bus, I have it in demo mode and its great, really great. Compare with Wave in this case UA its on top but very expansion compare with Wave. UA - $299 Wave - $ 99, because of this just because of this I will buy Wave SSL 4000 G, really sorry UA !!!

R. Cambrin

January 11, 2018

Even better than the legacy

This version was an instant winner for me when I tried it at the time of its release.
I used the legacy version of all the tracks I mixed for the cd I my band released and everyone has commented on the sound as to how good the CD sounds.
As good as the legacy isthis plugin immediately impressed me as to its sound and the perception of its real ness.
It just felt like I was using a real piece of gear. It's a subtle differance and yet that differance just does the job.
The only problem would be is that it is probably more DSP hungry but I am not mixing right now so I will deal with that then.
No complaints here.

s. Ha

January 2, 2018


SSl series .. it's simply magic

F. Jordan

December 12, 2017

Pulls in the punch

I have a small production studio. I recently purchased the SSL 4000 Channel Strip and thought I had the perfect sound. I did not understand what was so special about the SSL Compressor until I got the demo and tried it out on my mixes. My mixes went from night to bright sunlight. This plugin is really the glue that pulls the sound together.
Got it at the sale price but it is truly worth the money. Highly recommended!!!

UAD User

November 30, 2017


Expensive but good

I. Kiyashko

November 26, 2017

Ultimate mix-bus plugin

For years I kept trying different ITB compressors for the mix-bus duties - no plugins ever made me like them. Acustica Audio, other UAD plugins, Sonoris, you name it. BUT! This is the one that actually glues the sound nicely, transparently, beefs it up, doesn't sound like other 2D-sounding software. Basically quest completed, very happy... Finally!

N. Dettenbach

November 24, 2017

punch for pop and modern music

These beast is my go to bus comp for most pop and modern music styles with a medium to high dynamic. It has a very typical high class compressor sound and works for most modern program material.

This thing works well on drums in parallel processing and as the 2nd dynamic stage. At the bus it is very nice to tame 1-2db while (for higher dynamic material) another compressor before is evening out levels a bit before (i.e. Neve 33xxxxx) - this "couple" allows to control the amount of "SSL sound" of the product (using serial compressors is a bit tricky in finding timings - you have to know what you do). The new version is a huge (!) step compared to the former UAD emulation. This emulation is just much more SSL, much more open and detailed.

D. Russell

November 17, 2017

ssl g buss compressor

I bought this on impulse when it was on special without checking the demo version first. I had expected great results, but to be honest given the hype, but I was quite disappointed. I have fab filter pro limiter last up in the mastering chain and the Neve VR88 master buss before the pro L. I think the Neve 88 is way more powerful and useful. perhaps the Fab filter pro Limiter does much of the job, but adding the SSL comp before the Pro L did very little to the final mix output sound. not enough wow to warrant the $250 in my opinion. I guess I should demo everything before purchasing anything. a bit disappointed I was......

B. Vladimir

November 16, 2017

Stick it to the man

The most transparent glue compressor out there. Period.

H. Zwarts

November 16, 2017

Love the glue

the real SSL sound.. it has that lovely glue effect on drums and mixes... love it!

M. Buzniak

November 13, 2017


This is exactly what I hoped it will sound like but I thought it's not possible. I have experience with SSL hardware rack unit, Duality built in unit, c1 and a couple of clones I got to use in a different studios. I was also a big fan of Waves SSL plugin. The new UAD version it just incredible. I couldn't believe the amount of midrange it is pushing. It almost has too much punch. I really don't miss hardware. Thanks UAD.

E. Vee

November 6, 2017


Lives on my Ableton master template

V. Larbre

October 17, 2017

Magnificent glue

One of my favorite compressor, it brings light and cohesion in the sound. I know well the hardware version and this plugin is the best emulation ever made !

M. Browne

October 9, 2017

A Superb SSL G-Series Buss Comp Emulation!

...and the new side-chain controls are excellent additions too. Great work UAD!

21-40 of 127 Results