Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Exclusively for UAD and LUNA Recording System

Regular Price: $349.00

$174.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$174.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

341-360 of 580 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

U. Steve

December 18, 2014

Best Tape Emulation plugin in the industry

I have never seen or heard any plugin that nailed it like the UA Studer A800.

With UA's Plugin Technology and all the Hhigh Quality" Audio Interface/Converters out there, I still wonder if there's any need spending fortunes on Hardware Gears (Excluding Mic Preamps) these days.

S. Moniz

December 18, 2014

The glue

I automatically have been throwing this on my master fader to get that "glue". Very versatile plugin for type of music you are recording/mixing or on individual instruments. I have had my eye on this plugin for a while and wish I had gotten it sooner. Love it.

S. Zahle

December 15, 2014

A bit to Subtle for me

I use the studer on my bus'es. It's very subtle, and I think it only ads a little colour to my mixes. But overall, my mixes sounds better than before. More a fan of the Ampex ATR.

J. Holt

December 15, 2014

Glad I purchased this

Like the Ampex, it's best when used in the proper context, rather than a carte blanche application. Moderately applied, I like what it does for tracks that can benefit from a bit of warmth, although I don't use it as much as I imagined I would. Still, it's a great sounding plugin and a useful addition to ones sonic palette.

T. Velly

December 14, 2014

STUDER A800 review by TYVY/Totem Studio

Hi UAD team,
I finally bought Studer A800 which is quite instinctive and easy for me to use although I was not familiar at all with hardware version!!
It offers much finer quality (with many options to fine tune your desired sound) than the previous basic "Tape recorder" plugin I've been using and I will apply it to all my ongoing mixes immediately, mainly to boost my Acoustic Drums Group sound.
It seems also interesting for Mastering although I've had too limited experience to explore all its possibilities.
I rate it 4 and not 5 because it consumes quite big resources of my UAD2-Duo Card (8%) which limits the number of tracks on which I can use it, since I also use many other UAD plugins. A bit expensive but worth the cost!!

N. Dranov

December 5, 2014

Studer on everything

I took the chance (read: put down the not insignificant amount of cash) and bought the Studer/Ampex bundle because I dig the idea of tape saturation although I've never recorded to tape.

Now I've been using it on all tracks in my band's 10 song post-death metal project and I am very happy with it! It helps tie the tracks of each song together for a consistent expression. It gives the snare great fullness, rounds off the harsh edges of the higain guitars and makes the vocals sound just very pleasing. Bass and kick also gets a go, but I'm still learning to avoid adding too much lowend, it seems it adds up fast. Eats DSP but it's fun to do an all-Studer 'first mix' and then bounce the 'Studered' tracks, and go on to round two (eq, comp etc.)

D. Burattin

December 4, 2014

I can't live without it

To be honest? There are outside a lot of native alternatives of classic gear emulations, every day a new better than the others, and native means more portability/less problems, but this astounding plugin is the real reason why I still work with the UAD dsp system.
The real only alternative is a real Studer Tape recorder!
Period.

F. Barbaglia

November 19, 2014

the tape is not spinnin'

I don't know what's goin on,
since I bought it, the tape is not spinnin' anymore in the interface.
don't know if this effect the sound of the plug or not.

Q. Serrano

November 12, 2014

Tape!

Whenever I record Drums or Guitar's, especially acoustics this machine is a must.

I do a lot of "Cavaquinhos" and "Bandolins" recordings and there is nothing like the "Tape" to control the rough of a digital recording.

Y. Chistyakov

November 10, 2014

Studer® A800

Excellent simulation of the tape. Remember with pleasure to work with the original Studer. All very natural. Softness and density of the tape is always welcome. Plugin does it perfectly. Many settings. Ideal for the recording. Thank you.

Y. Chistyakov

November 10, 2014

Studer® A800

Excellent simulation of the tape. Remember with pleasure to work with the original Studer. All very natural. Softness and density of the tape is always welcome. Plugin does it perfectly. Many settings. Ideal for the recording. Thank you.

B. Maile

October 26, 2014

Fatness

Does an incredible job on drums and brass. Sounds musical and warm if needed.

R. Bouma

October 15, 2014

Studer A800 'the missing link'

No matter how great or big you're plug-in collection is it all comes to the effect of summing and colors. With pre-amps, eq's, compression etc the whole effect of mixing in the box only comes to a lack of colors that actually make the 'record' sound. Among other options the Studer is a basic tool I use either on individual tracks, busses, master output or both. It depends how you use it. The presets are handy if you haven't worked with the real machine but the magic is of course created by yourself because this entirely depends on what you put in en know how to use.

M. Ball

September 21, 2014

Incredible!

The Studer A-800 by UAD is one of my favourites.
I practically use it on everything.
This is a must buy!

S. Sohlberg

August 29, 2014

Very pleased with the Studer

I got my first Universal Audio Hardware about a month ago - the Twin Duo. Have mostly used the Studer. I love it. This is a new level up from the other plugins I´ve used. Working on a song for the moment, the Studer is used on nearly all tracks.

E. Halterman

August 27, 2014

Tape vibe to the max...

I recently bought the Neve 542 Tape Emulator hardware and I will say, that is perfection as far as tape sound goes, but this Studer A800 can get super close to the Neve and I was really amazed by it. I would say the Studer gets you about 85% of the way there and for those times I don't feel like tracking with the Neve, I can always add the Studer later and feel confident that I won't lose to much of what I would of had if I would have tracked with the Neve.

F. Cadela

August 26, 2014

Best plugin ever!

Best Plugin ever ... Nice and warm, i put on every channel ...

Y. Picard

July 25, 2014

Super !!!!

great job on this one. sounds great and works very well.

S. Samayoa

July 21, 2014

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder Plug-In

great sounding plugin. I use it on everything. very happy

S. Layton

July 20, 2014

G... L... U... E..

My first review... not because I've never loved a UAD plug in before, but because this one turned a GM midi mastering job into a 'record' ... also just the slightest touch of Telectronix and it was alive. Like jumping out of the speakers alive!!

341-360 of 580 Results