Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Exclusively for UAD and LUNA Recording System

Regular Price: $349.00

$174.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$174.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

461-480 of 580 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Talbot

February 15, 2013

Great

Great one for giving some analog warmth to any tracks.
I find it especially useful on VST instruments.

Only annoying this is that on most presets, the noise is on, and I think that this is pushing the analog emulation a little too far IMHO. For those who want to add noise, fine, but this should be off by default.

H. Varvoglis

February 14, 2013

Is the sound you were hopping to have, but with computer, you never succeed

If you missed the sound of tape, as I did, Is the only way to approach it again.
Amazing fat low end, you can feel the "air" of the base drum, nice gentle hi-end, everything has a reach volume, and the reverbs works better and sound more fat, as they have more frequencies to work with, harmonics ets.
Everything in the mix getting to their position, is like everything getting alive.
In a few words, Is the sound you were hopping to have, but with computer, you never succeed. Is a must have plugin!
That's the pros, the cons is just one for me,
Is little bit heavy plugin, it uses about 3% of a quadcore UAD @ 48khz ,
Imagine 20 channels x 3% = 60% of process power and you haven't begin your mix yet..

C. Zeileissen

February 13, 2013

your best plug in so far!

thanx for your studer a800 emulation!
i´m really happy with the results.
since i´m using the real thing as well,
it´s easy for me to compare the two of them.
i must say the plug in is worth every dime...

thanx a lot!
constantin

T. Van

February 12, 2013

a tape recorder?

I did'nt know a tape recorder could do such things to a sound.
I though,in thos early days,t it just recorded the 24 track stereo mix in good dynamic quality.

M. Bolton

February 8, 2013

Saturation at Its Finest

I was skeptical of anything to do with tape.
I demoed it, comparing it to the Ampex emulation. The Ampex was blown out of the water.
With this, you can adjust how much analog hiss you add to the signal... it's nice to do be able to do that.
It's almost like EQ by adjusting the high freq on it.
Try it out; you'll fall in love with its distortion properties and warm sound. Once you add it to your signal path, you simply cannot take it off. Happens to me, every time.

T. Stockwell

February 2, 2013

Studer is Essential

This has become an essential component of my sound. It sits on the first plugin slot on each of my Pro Tools HD Native slots. Sounds Amazing.

I must confess that Slate VTM got me started on this path, but it just consumed my PT HD Native Host processor. I bought an Octo with the sole intent on using the Studer and Ampex tape plugs and I'm ecstatic I did.

The sound is fantastic.

One Suggestion: The Slate VTM "Group" option is a much nicer way of dealing with multiple machine settings. Love to see a "Machine" assignment setting incorporated into a future update of the Studer and Ampeg.

M. Gervasi

January 28, 2013

Studer Glue

This plugin is really one of those that when you turn it on it's not so transparent you have to check the "bypass" to see if it's on (Manley). However WHAT it does isn't so strong it overwhelms the overall sound. Put on every track it seems to make it so that everything stitches together nicely. Then on the master it rounds out the sound so that it sounds "finished".
Audio glue is the best way I can describe it and worth every penny.

T. Anton

January 28, 2013

A must on every mix!!

This is not a plug-in. This is sublime! The quality of the sound and the endless ways to play with it, that special feeling that is adding to a mix are way beyond words, it glues everything just like the original machine or it give tones of personality on each bus...it is extraordinary!!

K. Haavik

January 25, 2013

Fantastic

:-)....................Fantastic plugin, takes me back to the good old dayZ

T. Reis

January 17, 2013

Adds that something extra to your mix.

It gets put across as many busses and tracks as I have Dsp available for, dial in that flavour to your mix.

A. Booty

January 16, 2013

Greatest plugins I ever use.

I've always dreaming for a plugins like this. Even though It's not the real deal, but its help to glue everything together. Like the real open reel should do. Great job UA team!

L. Tupý

January 13, 2013

Great Machine

I am very surprised by the quality of the simulation and all the setup options as on an actual device.
How can one try, so without it you will not want to work

P. Hamilton

January 7, 2013

Love it!

I have been recording on a 1" 16 track tape machine for years. I never really wanted to go digital, but once I saw THIS plug-in I knew it was time to make the jump. Being a total tape snob I really have to say that UA really blew my mind with the Studer plug-in. I can even make my track sound like a blown out, old hissy reel. I can't wait to get the Ampex next.

C. Cummings

January 3, 2013

Very Nice!

I have barely scratched the surface of this plug-in yet i am really impressed with what i am hearing so far. It just brings everything to life. As soon as you put it on a track you notice that everything seems to just "open up". I am happy with this purchase.

R. Squires

December 29, 2012

Studer Guys !

There are hidden wonderments built into this plug in that I can't imagine. It has kept people who have even BIGGER EARS than I do so satisfied that I wanted to write to tell the folks here about it. More later but YOU GUYS ARE INCREDIBLE. I'm impressed and I'll be hunting more tasty gadgetry from you before the new year is rolled in.
best! R. Squires

M. Vanacoro

December 29, 2012

An amazing plugin / "Set it and forget it!"

I love this plugin. I use it on individual tracks and on the whole mix. I'm sure, that with enough hours and hours of work you could re-create what it does with a bunch of really precise EQ plugs but it's just astounding how easy it is to slap this plug on and get warmth and 'fatness'. It's my new favorite.

S. Laporte

December 27, 2012

A little sprinkle of magic

This Studer A800 plugin brings back memories. Used judiciously, it definitely has an audio comfort food vibe. A luxurious glue that helps bring back cohesiveness to the finished mix. What i didn't remember was the very interesting side-effects it does to imaging, It widens the stereo field, but very naturally and clarifies the musical parts. For what it does, and it does it really well, it's a great plugin. Highly recommended.

D. Bose

December 19, 2012

Studer Sound

I'm a novice using this but slowly I'm learning what this is all about. I have already used it on a huge mix and I really did start to hear "the glue" and the low end round-ness coming from this thing.

totally worth every penny

C. (buck)

December 14, 2012

It's everywhere

I will be buyin another card so I can use this puppy all the way through my mixes. I purchased the duo to try things out and maxed it out on my second mix! I had it on everything in the mix, the tonal changes are like chunkin the puter out the door. I am an ol guy and have been around these machines all my life,, I am a believer!!! I had a tape simulator that I got from another company, since I got a hold of this one I have not even opened the other one up. The controls on this Studer give you the power to saturate to just the right amount. No Bull!! open the lid and play with it is all I gotta say.

R. Rodriguez

December 13, 2012

Studer for some freshness

I know that I will never be able to afford or operate properly a physical version of this machine. I love the ability to just have it right there, a mouse click away and in multiple instances of this great tool.

Throw it on your track and swim through the many great presets, read the manual, and I guarantee you will be able to find that analog sweetness you desire.

Well worth the cost of admission!

461-480 of 580 Results