Teletronix® LA-2A Classic Leveler Collection

Teletronix® LA-2A Classic Leveler Collection

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Teletronix® LA-2A Leveler Collection

Overall Rating

861-880 of 881 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

C. Soulos

February 25, 2013

Fat and Friendly

The is something going on at UAD that makes me a very happy little Vegemite.
I've always been envious what the hardware did to the sound that was falling short in the original digital LA2A plug in that these new releases reconciled without a glitch.
Thank you UAD
Cheers
Christopher

S. Belgrave

February 24, 2013

It just is!

So close to the hardware and at a fraction of the cost, makes this a complete no brainer. Unlike the 'Oxford EQ', it is what it is. Here's hoping the Neve plugs get the same quality love.

J. Moreland

February 23, 2013

Yowzah !!

Now that's a fine piece of vintage analog gear! Had a sax player send me a solo he'd played into a clip on mic plugged in to his mbox (well played, just very little fidelity or dimensionality). Then I downloaded the UAD2 v6.5 software and started that LA-2A collection demo. Wow, what a difference 10 years makes. With that "Silver" version pushed hard, I swear I can hear the output transformer, tubes and maybe even the faint crackle of a bad patch cable. In that (formerly) lifeless track I can hear the bell of the sax. A tight bottom end that wasn't there before. This LA-2A has a slightly aggressive edge, a bite that makes tracks not just sit in a mix, but sit up straight and pay attention! Don't get me started on what it does for vocals.

B. Jester

February 23, 2013

The bar was set high.

I've used the silver and grey LA2A many times. I've never had the LA2 to use ever, but I do have to say that having the CLASSIC LA sound with different time constants in eras s more then any eng or live sound man can ask for. The sound of these is AMAZING!!!! I love the response and color that they have independent of each other. UA that was a great call on the re-emulation of these I'd like to have LA3,4,5 in a collection. You have an option for any style and flavor of music with these.

J. Ferraro

February 23, 2013

Simply amazing

I love these to pieces, awesome for weird gainstaging, vox, all sorts of program material. The different version is a slam dunk, just like the 1176s. Great work UA!

A. Zaharchenko

February 23, 2013

Fantastic!!!

Great plugins!!! It's like original LA-2A's inside my Mac Pro!:-) Absolutely wonderful for vocals, strings, bass and many other instruments! In pair with the 1176 Classic Limiter Collection, provide really "sounds like analog" for my Pro Tools rig. Thank's for a great plugins, guys!!!

P.S. Now, I wait for updated UAD LA-3A!:-)))

B. Joseph

February 23, 2013

The original la2a plug

I've used the hardware version, the original uad1 la2a and several newer third party emulation plugs. The fact that so many people speak so highly of the original plug in makes me question the amount of deaf "engineers" out there... The original LA2A plug is so bad and nowhere close to the real thing. I pray this revision sees some drastic improvement. The upgrade should be free for users who already have the originals.

W. Buck

February 23, 2013

Simply Stellar!

I have been a big fan of the orignal UAD LA-2A and was hoping that a MKII version would come to fruition. Like the 1176 Collection, the LA-2A Collection does not disappoint and with three fantastic flavors of the LA family for a reasonable upgrade fee getting these is a no brainer. No self respecting UAD user should be without these babies. Vocals, bass, guitar most anything can be effectively used with one of these as each unit has varying amount of compression levels to suit the task at hand.
With the LA-2 providing the slowest response, the Grey medium/average and the Silver the fastest of them all, you pretty much have all your bases covered when it comes to using LA style compression on a variety of sources. Bravo UA!

M. Halle

February 21, 2013

FINALLY HOME

Now we talk about emulations not only being a desperate alternative to the hardware but finally, its mate. THANK YOU UA!!!

D. Zore

February 17, 2013

d.zore

This compressor is extremely easy to make a beautiful sound.

K. Sheikh

February 17, 2013

Now Even Better!

I was always a fan of the original LA-2A plugin and for more transparent or generic uses it still has its place (unlike the original 1176 plugs that don't seem to get a look-in these days).

On vocals, the LA-2A Silver was better for limiting as, to my ears, it was a bit too grabby, but the other two versions were really nice on the same material. The emphasis control also allows you to dial in quite a wide range of top-end compression and backing it off a bit really opens up the mid-range of the sound. On snares, the silver brought out a nice "thunk", whereas the LA-2 let the sound breathe a bit more.

All these updates can add some really nice crunch to the source material and are terrific additions to the existing, cleaner LA-2A plug-in.

D. Coleman

February 17, 2013

Feels Like Home

Shockingly dead on to the hardware ! Warm , Friendly, and feels like home ! Can't get over how accurate it is based on years of using the hardware.

V. Van

February 16, 2013

uad did it again!!

I just can't get that smile of my face. Today I demo'd the LA2A collection. And it's really amazing!! All 3 compressors are the bomb. I'm in love;-)

Thanks again uad. For making my mixes so much better!!!

D. Deryabin

February 16, 2013

Teletronix® LA-2A Classic Leveler Collection

Very good feeling from working plugins. especially liked the bottom plugin on the picture, which is made in a vintage style,
soft sound. I think to buy :)

D. Deryabin

February 16, 2013

Teletronix® LA-2A Classic Leveler Collection

Very good feeling from working plugins. especially liked the bottom plugin on the picture, which is made in a vintage style,
soft sound. I think to buy :)

B. Jefferson

February 15, 2013

They have that elusive "magic".

The LA-2A Collection really does sound good to me. First impressions after spending several hours with it has me thinking it's as good as the 1176 Collection. I'm loving the "silver" on the rhythmic pop vocals in a mix I'm working on and really like the LA-2 on the electric bass. This is just my opinion, of course. I haven't spent as much time with the "gray", though I plan to. It's a definite buy for me regardless since I was able to get a great sound that I liked and even "the sound" that I was familiar with fairly quickly with these. They're pretty "DSP thirsty" plug-ins though, so the now "retro" LA-2A plug-ins will probably still get used… alternatively those from other brands, if you have them and are so inclined. Amazing job, UA.

C. King

February 15, 2013

Oh yeah...

Considering UA's track record of quality emulations of hardware this plugin only makes me wish I had deep pockets to buy the real hardware! However, that not being the case I am very pleased at having the next best thing and that is this plugin!

It's just plain sweet. Nuf said.

D. Ralph

February 15, 2013

Very excellent

With these new versions i just jumped straight in and tried them at 96khz against my new UA hardware.
Thoughts.
Grayface
Closest to the hardware as far as attack and release goes, attack still a little sharp compared to hardware. Tone is beautiful, although it does tend to go a little thin at heavy compression.
Silver
More hifi, slower attack also i feel, not too keen TBH.
Original
attack is closest to my hardware, release is dog slow, tone is muted but warm.
UA HW reissue.
I have to compare it to this purely because it is a real la2a, IMO these plugs are great but i prefer my HW for tone and compression character, it doesn't suck life when hit hard like the plugs can, im not talking huge but its noticeable.
would get if didnt have HW
5/5

P. Brezina

February 15, 2013

Big dissapointment

After 1176 revisions, I hope LA2A will be the same quality. But as I testing it against some other emulations, I found that there is not big difference and some compressors (for example Cakewalks PC2A) acts better even in extreme gain reduction settings. Emphasis screw works almost same as one on Cakewalks emulation. This is for sure not worth 149 dollars. I wish UA make revision MKIII as soon as possible. There is also not big difference between LA2, LA2A gery and silver. sounds almost same. there is only difference in gain staging so you can think it is different for the first time zou try it. Really shame UA, I know you can do much better...

C. Knox

February 15, 2013

Sex on a Stick? Sugar in a Plug?

Hmm well - UA is making me spend all my pocket money on their latest goodies...
Having just purchased the Legacy 1176 's and enjoying using them I demoed the La-2A tonight - threw them on all the vox I'm doing in a project and loved them.
There are some nice subtle differences here...GR8 job UA but we all need bigger vouchers to buy everything...
These really feel authentic down to the labels on the cases - you can hear the difference - yes they are simple devices....interms of adjustments tweaking but...
Maybe they are not so simple-I mean these sound so good!!
Well done UA to all the project teams and people involved
I'm celebrating v6.5 cause its delivered everything I needed and more...
But then with UA we always want more...don't we???

861-880 of 881 Results