Thermionic Culture Vulture

Thermionic Culture Vulture

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Thermionic Culture Vulture

Overall Rating

81-100 of 114 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. Muscio

January 14, 2016

My new go-to distortion

I love this thing. Not only is the distortion super clean and fat, but it compresses in a way that nothing gets through. If you like the decapitator then you're going to love this. It lacks a tone knob but you can sculpt a bit with the filters and different distortion types. it does it's job very well.

S. Goodison

November 4, 2015

Very happy with this!

There seems to be a lot of negative reviews for this plugin and I don't know why. I love using it on bass and anything with super high end information like overheads. It really shines for parallel use. Kick, snare, vocals, guitars and bass all benefit from some of this added in to the path in parallel. Very happy with it, the only thing I don't like is how much CPU it takes up, but I tend to have it first in the chain on instruments so it's easy enough to print and then disable.

UAD User

November 3, 2015

Cherry on top

For subtle fatness on the st bus.. Deep vibes.. Nothing like it to add money to the mix

UAD User

June 23, 2015

How underrated !!!

Although I collect UAD-plugin after UAD-plugin with much satisfaction, nothing -- nothing !!! --
made me more smile with joy than the thermionic culture vulture plugin. This damned little thing seems
to awake alive even the very dead. For me it is a miracle what it can do, in particular when applied in tiny
homeopathic doses to, say two or three, relevant tracks of a mix. In the reviews this plugin is sometimes underrated.
If a signals goes in with - 4 dB, usually, to make it shine, I only apply 5-20 % of the distortion carefully
counterbalanced by the bias knob. Only for weaker signals or for "dirt effects" I go higher up.
Those who don't take care of this will be not pleased by this wonderful plugin.

H. Zwarts

June 20, 2015

Awesome

Sounds just awesome and is not like all other distortion plug in.
You should only use a little of it to make it sound great.

UAD User

June 14, 2015

don´t get tape...

...get this! The perfect glue plugin. Soft saturation or a nice amount of dirt, here you go. I´m not into the heavy distortion setups - didn´t need them so far! Very warm. I love the mix knob! Needs a lot of processing power, but for good reason! I really like to hear it on lots of things, my favorite is drums. Even used it on synth strings. They got way warmer and more natural!

i. babayoff

June 12, 2015

Fixing my previous review. 6 stars.

I wrote in my previous review : "I love your plugs, they are 85-100% of my Mixes. But... this one have way to much DSP consumption. so its not a real option for me no matter how good it sounds. Sorry". gave it one star. u can find this review down the line.

well...
after checking this plug out i decides to buy an octo to enhance my quad+duo.
amazing plugin. no other word to describe it.

O. Dawson

April 12, 2015

Culture Vulture review.

Love this unit. The distortion has a lot of character; and even at low gain, adds a lot of character and depth. Top end is not harsh, and doesn't mess with the low end either. Use it on bass, drums, guitar, vocals... whatever.

G. Piazza

March 29, 2015

Real tube dynamics

I spent a lot of time comparing it to Trash, Ozone Exciter, bx_saturator, Voxengo Varisaturator & Decapacitator. Each has its place, but only the CV has that dynamic tube response. On a mix with a few overload moments, only the CV (in Triode) smoothed them out instead of bringing them forward. True, the usable drive & bias ranges are kinda narrow for subtle applications, but the sweet spot has a 'hardware' sound that none of the others can achieve. Try the demo! This and the VSM blow away every other 'distortion' plugin I've worked with.

M. Penn

February 2, 2015

Soooo Awesome!!!

This is the Truth!! Very Happy with the New Culture Vulture, it definitely delivers that warmth/Grit/Distortion you need for bass, Drum , Guitars or Vocals etc.

Looking for a Distressor Next UA, "Hint" "Hint" ;-)

K. Schade

December 28, 2014

Great on synths

I never saw or used the original device but this is the first digital overdrive plugin I am happy to use in my mainly analog setup. Try this on a Moog bass, amazing.

M. Fair

December 14, 2014

Beast mode!

I love the Culture Vulture. Especially for producing EDM, it brings new life to synth sounds that were sounding a bit dull. Sometimes I'll pull up a preset and go through some synth patches with the CV enabled ... It feels like I just purchased a new synth when I do that. This thing is awesome. Yes, it's a bit power hungry, but worth every penny. I don't use it on every track, but I wish I could. LOL

P. Geiser

November 8, 2014

AMAZING

my absolute favorite plugin that i've gotten from Universal audio. super duper colorful and powerful. not a crazy amount of flexibility but still very useful and exciting

A. Booth

November 3, 2014

flexible and brilliant

Since getting this plug-in I've wanted to use it on pretty much everything (shame about the high DSP count). It's super flexible from really minimal distortion to massive amounts with great features on it like the mix and filter options. This has been sat on my master bus since I got in on all the projects I'm currently mixing and it's really important to the sound that I'm getting.

J. Schmidt-hambrock

October 15, 2014

Very inspiring!

Lots of pleasant surprises in the Vulture.
Did not have to fight it at all. Lots of sounds that I had not imagined - but ended up using.
Very responsive for bass-playing (my use #1) and in the mix for all kinds of things (use #2).
I am suddenly tempted to take a computer to my gigs. Never did that before.
Jochen

T. Marrison

October 14, 2014

Warmth and weight

A superior alternative to Decapitator - more depth in the bass and generally feels more lively. One of my goto plugs for every session

D. Furrer

October 11, 2014

great tool and toy!!!

I see people writing reviews whether it comes close to the original or not.
I have never been in the position to use the original.
This Plug In is in my opinion an amazing tool and a great toy. It brings glue to my drums like nothing else I have seen or used. For me personally a must have.
There is only one thing I am really hoping for they would somehow update on this plug in. It should have a function that makes the volume go down automatically when you boost the drive knob so the outcoming volume would stay the same.
But (luckily) different people have different opinions so try it in demo mode for yourself ;)

M. Bradburn

September 16, 2014

What's not to like?

Another gem in my UAD arsenal, has become the go to tool for that certain special something. I can't really see any down side, I'm not sure what other reviewers were expecting of course - for me this is way better than I thought it would be, thoroughly enjoyable. Best dirty digital I've ever heard:)

D. Marcus

September 9, 2014

Amazing

So cool to have this beast as a plugin. I love the sounds you can get with..from subtle to full on raging. As always UA hits out of the park with their detailed emulation of classic hardware pieces.

A. Ali

September 8, 2014

Great sound

It has a great sound, not entirely useful on everything but for things like Bass and thickening up Vocals it really shines.

I've found that you can hit the sweet spot for sounds rather early on and it's quite easy to go overboard and use too much distortion; but when you hit that sweet spot you know that you couldn't have gotten that sound elsewhere.

To summarise I really like this plugin, less is more and it doesn't work for all applications but it has great character.

81-100 of 114 Results