Thermionic Culture Vulture

Thermionic Culture Vulture

Regular Price: $299.00


You'll Save 16%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00


You'll Save 16%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Thermionic Culture Vulture

Overall Rating

81-100 of 120 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

UAD User

April 16, 2016

Must have for drums!

This makes drums sound so much better. Matter of fact, it makes drums sound top notch! World class. I can't even imagine not using it on drums from now on. I love it! And the filter cut off, 9Khz and 6Khz, is perfect for drums. Must have for drums if you ask me. It just sounds amazing!

Kind Regards

J. Guillen

April 12, 2016

I want it so bad!!

My demo just expired and i wish it was less expensive haha I live in Mexico and the dollar is super high.. I loved putting this plugin on almost every track.. not quite.. very little, some a bit more.. but wow.. makes such a huge difference! I really like it... The distortion all the way at the top is not the same but in the end i dont really ever use so much distortion, and i wasn´t expecting it to be the same so.. in the end who cares?

Amazing!! any more gems anyone recommends?

S. Smersh

March 15, 2016

I Love This Plugin!

A buddy of mine told me about this. I can't imagine a mix without it now. Simply amazing.
Only with it wasn't so processor draining. Can only run about three of them with other uad plugs before my twin and octo are maxed out. But won't be an issue when I get a second octo.

M. Vila Nova

February 27, 2016

Distort it!

I resisted for a while to valve distortion plugins. Some while ago I finally decided to try the SPL Twintube processor. I surrendered myself to the great results achieved. The Thermionic Culture Vulture is even more surprising: it is the ultimate machine! Amazing!

F. PdC

February 12, 2016

Great harmonics

I used it on my Moog Sub 37 to create this huge sound lead. Incredible.
The moog sounds really big, but with this plugin it's a really hardcore sound!

M. Maranghello

January 17, 2016

Warm it up!

This plugins works great in its subtleness. A little warmth or growling saturation will go a long way on any digital synth. I've used it with my Blofeld, which is a quite sharp sounding synth, and it warmed it up like a charm. A little pricey and DSP greedy, but is worth it.

S. Muscio

January 14, 2016

My new go-to distortion

I love this thing. Not only is the distortion super clean and fat, but it compresses in a way that nothing gets through. If you like the decapitator then you're going to love this. It lacks a tone knob but you can sculpt a bit with the filters and different distortion types. it does it's job very well.

S. Goodison

November 4, 2015

Very happy with this!

There seems to be a lot of negative reviews for this plugin and I don't know why. I love using it on bass and anything with super high end information like overheads. It really shines for parallel use. Kick, snare, vocals, guitars and bass all benefit from some of this added in to the path in parallel. Very happy with it, the only thing I don't like is how much CPU it takes up, but I tend to have it first in the chain on instruments so it's easy enough to print and then disable.

UAD User

November 3, 2015

Cherry on top

For subtle fatness on the st bus.. Deep vibes.. Nothing like it to add money to the mix

UAD User

June 23, 2015

How underrated !!!

Although I collect UAD-plugin after UAD-plugin with much satisfaction, nothing -- nothing !!! --
made me more smile with joy than the thermionic culture vulture plugin. This damned little thing seems
to awake alive even the very dead. For me it is a miracle what it can do, in particular when applied in tiny
homeopathic doses to, say two or three, relevant tracks of a mix. In the reviews this plugin is sometimes underrated.
If a signals goes in with - 4 dB, usually, to make it shine, I only apply 5-20 % of the distortion carefully
counterbalanced by the bias knob. Only for weaker signals or for "dirt effects" I go higher up.
Those who don't take care of this will be not pleased by this wonderful plugin.

H. Zwarts

June 20, 2015


Sounds just awesome and is not like all other distortion plug in.
You should only use a little of it to make it sound great.

UAD User

June 14, 2015

don´t get tape...

...get this! The perfect glue plugin. Soft saturation or a nice amount of dirt, here you go. I´m not into the heavy distortion setups - didn´t need them so far! Very warm. I love the mix knob! Needs a lot of processing power, but for good reason! I really like to hear it on lots of things, my favorite is drums. Even used it on synth strings. They got way warmer and more natural!

i. babayoff

June 12, 2015

Fixing my previous review. 6 stars.

I wrote in my previous review : "I love your plugs, they are 85-100% of my Mixes. But... this one have way to much DSP consumption. so its not a real option for me no matter how good it sounds. Sorry". gave it one star. u can find this review down the line.

after checking this plug out i decides to buy an octo to enhance my quad+duo.
amazing plugin. no other word to describe it.

O. Dawson

April 12, 2015

Culture Vulture review.

Love this unit. The distortion has a lot of character; and even at low gain, adds a lot of character and depth. Top end is not harsh, and doesn't mess with the low end either. Use it on bass, drums, guitar, vocals... whatever.

G. Piazza

March 29, 2015

Real tube dynamics

I spent a lot of time comparing it to Trash, Ozone Exciter, bx_saturator, Voxengo Varisaturator & Decapacitator. Each has its place, but only the CV has that dynamic tube response. On a mix with a few overload moments, only the CV (in Triode) smoothed them out instead of bringing them forward. True, the usable drive & bias ranges are kinda narrow for subtle applications, but the sweet spot has a 'hardware' sound that none of the others can achieve. Try the demo! This and the VSM blow away every other 'distortion' plugin I've worked with.

M. Penn

February 2, 2015

Soooo Awesome!!!

This is the Truth!! Very Happy with the New Culture Vulture, it definitely delivers that warmth/Grit/Distortion you need for bass, Drum , Guitars or Vocals etc.

Looking for a Distressor Next UA, "Hint" "Hint" ;-)

K. Schade

December 28, 2014

Great on synths

I never saw or used the original device but this is the first digital overdrive plugin I am happy to use in my mainly analog setup. Try this on a Moog bass, amazing.

M. Fair

December 14, 2014

Beast mode!

I love the Culture Vulture. Especially for producing EDM, it brings new life to synth sounds that were sounding a bit dull. Sometimes I'll pull up a preset and go through some synth patches with the CV enabled ... It feels like I just purchased a new synth when I do that. This thing is awesome. Yes, it's a bit power hungry, but worth every penny. I don't use it on every track, but I wish I could. LOL

P. Geiser

November 8, 2014


my absolute favorite plugin that i've gotten from Universal audio. super duper colorful and powerful. not a crazy amount of flexibility but still very useful and exciting

A. Booth

November 3, 2014

flexible and brilliant

Since getting this plug-in I've wanted to use it on pretty much everything (shame about the high DSP count). It's super flexible from really minimal distortion to massive amounts with great features on it like the mix and filter options. This has been sat on my master bus since I got in on all the projects I'm currently mixing and it's really important to the sound that I'm getting.

81-100 of 120 Results