Townsend Labs Sphere™

Townsend Labs Sphere

$199.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$199.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Townsend Labs Sphere

Overall Rating

121-139 of 139 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Kirk

March 12, 2018

Near instant gratification!

First thing, I recorded my own vocals with the C-12 model - instantly loved the mid presence and high-freq shimmer (w/o the cheap harshness of low priced mics) - it'll definitely be my go-to mic model until I fine the time to audition other models and settings. Next, used the Sphere 180 for a stereo B3/Leslie track, with the U67 model. My reaction was Wow.. and.. Done! To leave room for procrastination(!) while mixing, I've been recording two stereo tracks - one dry (except for the Unison pre, for which I've been happily using the UAD Neve 1073), plus one track with the mic model printed. So far so good - I've had no big desire (and little time) to revisit the dry tracks and try new settings, though I'm looking forward to giving the system a full shakedown. The best part: I find the Sphere helps quicken the recording process - being able to choose mic models based on what my ears tell me.. and so far have had very little second guessing.

A. Melville

March 6, 2018

Is this the beginning of a totally new concept in Microphone Technology & Modelling ???

I honestly think so . Having played around with the Sphere L22 and software for nearly a week now all my doubts have vanished into thin air :-) This is undoubtedly a game changer. A very BIG Thank you to Townsend Labs for producing such an awesome Mic that captures the smallest acoustic details. This with the Mic modelling software and the UAD plugins & Unison technology I finally have a setup that really does produce awesome results.

J. Norman

February 20, 2018

Astounding for vocals and VOs

The L22 system is amazing, both for singing and VOs. Beautiful models of classic mics. But for me, the best features are things like being able to combine two mics into a unique sound. I also love being able to work with polar patterns not always available on the original versions of the mics to sculpt the sound. Oh, and did I mention all of that can be done while you track OR afterward? Amazing. When you're budget permits, get this system. It'll be a foundational addition to your studio.

T. Ajiteru

February 20, 2018

Just what the doctor ordered!!!

Had been contemplating buying the Sphere or the Slade VMS for awhile and finally took the plunge and got the Sphere because of the twin capsule. What an incredible buy! This mic renders my small collection of mics obsolete. Believe me, the flexibility this mic offers with its plugin is astounding.

R. Bradish

February 18, 2018

DREAM MIC

This mic system is Awesome and highly recommended. Love the Coles 4038 on overheads.

S. Bredereck

February 17, 2018

Game changer

We record tons of vocals every day and used to use a competitors virtual microphone system for more then a year. After getting the Sphere mic up and running and using the Unison technology and realtime UAD plugins in the console, we were floored by the sound, the quality and the close to zero latency. It sounds great, it just works, it is truly a game changer!!!

J. Peters

January 4, 2018

Hardware Geek's Heaven

I've been a voiceover guy and hardware geek since 1982. Long have I dreamt of a mic closet loaded with high-end morsels of audio goodness, and long have I deferred to the realities of "real life's" costs. When the Sphere L22 was launched, I pre-ordered based solely on its promise. Today (January) I finally got everything set up, with the L22 running through an apollo twin duo (even though I've had the mic since July). Holy soundwaves, Batman! I sat for hours evaluating combinations of mic models and "go to" rack chains, courtesy of UAD plugins. I finally settled on the LD-47K model with some favorite old-school eq and compression gear--at least for my baseline narration setup. Other work will provide more opportunities to play, so I probably need to refocus on my time management skills... Townsend's hit a huge homer with the Sphere L22. My primary hardware is now just the Sphere, the twin duo, and a Macbook Pro--and I can carry the equivalent of hundreds of thousands of dollars of gear in a backpack. But I'll probably never let it leave the studio!

K. Gorski

December 11, 2017

A new beginning

The sheer idea of doing what that mic does was worth a medal. The fact that this actually works is just amazing. The idea of being able to choose the mic model its polar characteristics and a few other parameters AFTER the recording is mind boggling. I love using it. Great sound palette and an absolutely amazing educational tool too.

Y. Kim

November 29, 2017

Really brilliant and flexible to edit after recording!

It is amazing when I hear the sound first, and surprised again with flexibility.
You can make any kind of sound you imagine or prefer with it. Even, great support for the customer; CEO Chris Townsend sent a reply by him self for my simple stupid question. Awesome and highly recommended.

UAD User

November 17, 2017

My Favorite Microphone

I've been using this mic for the past 8 months on vocals, cello, percussion, ukuleles, guitar, choirs, and more. It can do it all.

The microphones I already have in my collection are the Blue Kiwi, Blue Baby Bottle, AEA R84 Ribbon Mic, Cloud 44-A Ribbon Mic, & AT4080 amongst a few others and I constantly pick this microphone from Townsend as my first choice.

It's so easy for me to just have this set up and change from mic to mic with just a click. It sounds great, has a low noise floor, and if I record direct into my DAW and put on the plugin later, I have an insane amount of flexibility in post.

I'm consistently blown away by the quality of this mic.

Get it, because it really is that good.

also, it lights up which is kind of fun

S. Hermansen

October 17, 2017

Worth it

As Pro Tools Expert said, "this might be the last mic I ever own" (so yeah, I got the mic, not just the software, haha)

Great product, can't wait for what's to come!

B. Prosko

September 26, 2017

The No Brainer Microphone

I've had this mic and the UAD Sphere plugin as my main vocal and guitar chain for the past few weeks and it's become indispensable. To have the ability to flip through mic models after the it's been recorded to find a mic character/tone that sits best in the mix has instantly reduced the amount of EQ'ing I have needed to do in the past. Not to mention has literally saved me thousands of dollars trying to obtain a variety of mics to suit all recording situations. Erik and Chris have been very responsive/accommodating with my questions as well. Great product and great service makes for a happy customer....it's that easy.

ヒ. ナカムラ

September 16, 2017

I thank this manufacturer!

When it's used in setting with Mike, it's the latest microphone set which shows its considerable power.
The experience for which the microphone which isn't arranged in order can be used by the stereo specification is happy easily by hardware.
The tone of C12 specification is gorgeous, is also abundant in a low voice and is a favorite personally.

W. Zweers

July 19, 2017

This is an incredible piece of software!

This is an incredible piece of software! Both the Sphere and Sphere180.
I haven’t got the Townsend microphone yet but I though let’s give it a try.
The software without the mic doesn’t give you all the benefits it does with the mic like proximity as but most features seems to work more or less on a stereo channel or bus.
The LD-47 and the LD-49 brings some smooth tube sound to the mix while the LD-12 and even more the LD-251 brings shine and smooth highs to the table like the originals.
The LD-67 and LD087 are more in between the two. The LD-800, a unknown mic from Sony to me, brings clarity.
I tried Townsend Sphere software on vocals, guitar and drums. It only works on stereo channels because the Sphere22 has two XLR output it uses for obvious reasons.
First I tried vocals which I recorded with 2 identical DPA Microphone which have a fairly flat response. I also doubled a mono track of vocals recorded with a high quality tube condenser. If you want to preserve your panning on a stereo track than use Sphere180. Sphere will reset to mono but might give you really nice upfront results. Especially on vocals Townsend will shine. Using Sphere180 on acoustic guitar and the drumbus or overheads (who has 2 M49 for overheads? (-; ) will give a nice flavor to both instruments. Really nice!
I’m not done testing yet but sure this is software to keep. I am convinced I will use Townsend Sphere a lot from now on. Well done Townsend labs!

W. Zweers

July 19, 2017

This is an incredible piece of software!

This is an incredible piece of software! Both the Sphere and Sphere180.
I haven’t got the Townsend microphone yet but I though let’s give it a try.
The software without the mic doesn’t give you all the benefits it does with the mic like proximity as but most features seems to work more or less on a stereo channel or bus.
The LD-47 and the LD-49 brings some smooth tube sound to the mix while the LD-12 and even more the LD-251 brings shine and smooth highs to the table like the originals.
The LD-67 and LD087 are more in between the two. The LD-800, a unknown mic from Sony to me, brings clarity.
I tried Townsend Sphere software on vocals, guitar and drums. It only works on stereo channels because the Sphere22 has two XLR output it uses for obvious reasons.
First I tried vocals which I recorded with 2 identical DPA Microphone which have a fairly flat response. I also doubled a mono track of vocals recorded with a high quality tube condenser. If you want to preserve your panning on a stereo track than use Sphere180. Sphere will reset to mono but might give you really nice upfront results. Especially on vocals Townsend will shine. Using Sphere180 on acoustic guitar and the drumbus or overheads (who has 2 M49 for overheads? (-; ) will give a nice flavor to both instruments. Really nice!
I’m not done testing yet but sure this is software to keep. I am convinced I will use Townsend Sphere a lot from now on. Well done Townsend labs!

R. Stoev

June 30, 2017

SPHERE IS AMAZING

I got my Sphere L22 аnd I really like it very much ! I Use the LD - 800 Emulation, just unbelievable :)

S. Chahley

June 22, 2017

Incredible

This mic/plugin completely exceeded my expectations. Wasn't particularly interested when Slate introduced VMS, cool idea but just didn't excite me. When this was announced, and I saw what could be done with polar patterns/rejection and tonal shaping....along with the UAD compatibility, I had to try it out. Well, it's even better than I had hoped! Mic models sound great, the tweakability is fantastic, and the mic is incredibly well built and packaged. Couple that with Townsend Labs' solid customer service, and I'm a happy guy. My clients love singing into this mic. They also love being able to come into the control room after recording and help choose their mic and vocal sound. If you're skeptical about mic modelling, you need to give this thing a try....that's coming from a former skeptic!!!

k. mcdowell

May 26, 2017

"One mic to rule them all"

Exceeds all expectations for my one high end boutique large condenser vocal mic!
As an engineer i want the very best sound quality as well as versatility but have had to maintain a large expensive collection of various mic's to pull that off. It was always a compromise. And never really having the money for that one " boutique" vocal mic! Enter the Sphere. The quality is uncompromised (sounds exactly like the mic's icould never afford) while being versatile ! And paying clients want a mic with gravitas and bling. Sphere has both!

J. Schwab

May 15, 2017

my new mic-locker

together with the sphere L22 it opens up a whole new world of recording: now I can experiment with different mics and even positioning after the recording has been done. And the mic by itself already sounds wonderful!

121-139 of 139 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7