Townsend Labs Sphere™

Townsend Labs Sphere

$199.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$199.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Townsend Labs Sphere

Overall Rating

21-40 of 106 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Keohen

December 25, 2019

review redone

I recently reviewed the sphere and said that the customer service hold time was too long, but they did call me back, I meant to say the Universal Audio CS was too long, Townsend was great, this is a really nice microphone.. UA tech support (to be Fair) is excellent, but wait time is longer..

M. Keohen

December 20, 2019

Very nice, but learning curve

Sounds great so far, learning curve is dicey for me, but I'm no daw genius. where to put plug in, routing is still a work in progress for me, however the Sphere does sound very good so far. Customer service techs are very good, but the phone wait can be lengthy, but they do call you back. thxu

G. Buschle

December 19, 2019

Well...

I wanted to replace some of my Mics like the Mojave ma 200.
First of all I was pretty impressed. But after a while I decided to keep my MA 200 and send the Townsend back... Why?
To be honest: it was the sybillance. My Ma 200 handled this very well, also my MBHO 608 FETs. But the Townsend simulations did not do this very well. So I tried and demoed the Putnam Collection which was much better and could now compete with the Mojave. But a this point I was already so disappointed I did not want to spend another 150 bucks just to get the same results as with my MA 200, which I really underestimated over the years. Now I am sorry.
Maybe I will try the townsend again one day. But now I rather invest my money in something else.

k. vincent

December 16, 2019

Beautifull product

Very usefull in every situation

O. Lamas

November 20, 2019

This is Special

Never thought this would be so useful. I noe EQ less, compress less and enjoy the natural sound of the sources I record a whole lot more in their natural, less processed state. That is just the beginning with this monster of a system. Well worth it. It is spectacular.

M. Ivey

November 14, 2019

1 Mic - Endless Possibilities!!! 10++ stars

So sad that 5 stars are the limit here. There should be an option to go higher on ratings for some products.

Previous and current owner of a Shure 57 and a Neumann TLM 103 I was looking to purchase another mic because certain material simply didn't fit the tonal qualities or either of these mics.

I spent hours at my local Guitar Center and other shops doing comparisons on the different available mics in store. Needless to say it wasn't the most ideal way to find the perfect mic I needed and took more time than I could really afford.

Then I began reading all the posts in the UAD forum about this mic. I was just bit cynical at first but the more I read I realized I couldn't find even 1 negative comment which sparked the curiosity. That many people can't be wrong.... right?

After some research (I mean really really deep research) I committed to make the purchase with the understanding that I could return the mic if I felt it didn't meet my expectations.

I was initially impressed with the stylish and classy design of the case and mic. But after plugging it in and hearing what it did.... WOW!!! Totally was amazed at the many tonal qualities I could get out of if. Add to that the ability to deviate as much as I desired from the original models it provided by tweaking proximity, polarity and other parameter; being able to use 2 models in a stereo effect. What more can I say, this mic is beyond phenomenal and the ability to have so many models worth thousands of dollars at my immediate disposal gave me a very satisfying Return On my Investment. Put all those things in perspective and the price more than pays for itself many times over.

Also...... ended my trips to the local music store ;-)

Highly recommend this mic. I promise you won't regret the purchase

N. Zabic

October 30, 2019

Wow efect !!

I don’t espect enething else but somthing great from UA , and I must say that is more thsn that , it’s produce wow efect to me !!!

J. Moore

October 23, 2019

Sphere

It is good although I would like the expansions to be available as a bundle option when purchasing the microphone because it is like having a partial version that still needs to be fully unlocked

J. Moore

October 23, 2019

Sphere

It is good although I would like the expansions to be available as a bundle option when purchasing the microphone because it is like having a partial version that still needs to be fully unlocked

J. Moore

October 23, 2019

Sphere

It is good although I would like the expansions to be available as a bundle option when purchasing the microphone because it is like having a partial version that still needs to be fully unlocked

b. lugay

October 20, 2019

Wow

Wow

r. francessko

October 10, 2019

MUST HAVE!!!!!! impressed!

I'm an NYU Music Technology masters student so I get my hand on many vintage mics and the Sphere really impressed me! as long as TL continues to updated, improve and add more mics I highly recommend it to ANY musician that records music

P. Mues

October 1, 2019

Blown away!!!

I've been using the Sphere L22 in combination with the plugin on UAD platfom for a few weeks now and I couldn't be more happy about the results!! I play in an acoustic duo and my companion was really sceptical about using home studio recordings as promotion material to potential clients. I've sent my companion just 1 stereo track I've recorded with the Sphere 180 plugin and he was completely blown away. He wanted to add his vocal track right away. Before I had to hit him with a big stick to get him motivated :)
Ok... there will be better mics out there, but at this price the Sphere L22 and plugin cannot be beaten. The versatility is off the scale. There is clearly some voodoo or magic going on here. Wooow!

T. Ennis

September 18, 2019

What a Difference!

This is the bee's knees! So many options and the sound quality is exceptional. Very Pleased with the Townsend Sphere and UAD.

m. łuczak

September 10, 2019

Super sound

Super sound

S. Dross

September 5, 2019

Amazing Mic Modeler...Townsend Labs Is The Best

Since using this UAD Plugin with the Townsend Lab Sphere L22, my recordings have come out amazing. I'm able to go through an entire mic locker to tailor the mic to the voice talent, and that's before adding amazing UAD Plugins like the Neve Preamps. You will not regret this purchase! Never to be the same again!

e. Spectrum

August 30, 2019

..new game changer

I'm absolutely impressed by the product, the Sphere L22 with the plugins is amazing. i wonder why UAD didn't come up with the idea to integrate different preamps emulations into the Sphere plug-ins, or possibly to develop and offer "Spehre Preamps" as an additional plugin for them?
So that you can combine the emulated Legend Mics with the corresponding Preamps.
That would be Next Level! And a real box-office hit in terms of sales.

C. Hogan

August 14, 2019

10/10 Incredible Mic

The Sphere Mic package is literally the only expensive microphone worth owning at this point. The modeling is so advanced, so accurate, and so good sounding that there's no point in buying other microphones that cost more. The plugin itself is awesome, and gives the user plenty of flexibility to choose the perfect mic to match the take. You don't have to know what mic sound best on what, just flick through them and decide as you go what sounds good to your ears. Furthermore, the plugin allows you to make non-physical microphones, such as a ribbon microphone with a hyper cardoid pattern. I used this yesterday to record some vocals, and they sounded beautiful, and the mic had plenty of rejection so we got an extremely low noise floor. Would really recommend this to anyone who need a microphone over literally any other product.

N. Jensen Stilborg

July 25, 2019

Totally awesome

I really dig this. I own some of these mics and the emulation is killer. Highly recommended.

J. Smith

July 19, 2019

An excellent mic locker in one mic

I know that the Townsend Sphere will not appeal to those who wish to be tied down to Universal Audio equipment, but it is ultimately worth the price. I record in an office at home with little sound abatement. You would not know it. I can get better sound than a Neumann TLM 103. The mic is very sensitive, so if you have a snoring pug in the adjacent room, you'll need to close the door. Microphone placement is important. That said, the mic is very quiet (virtually no self noise). With the Townsend mic and software and a UAD Apollo or Arrow interface, you'll be very, very impressed.

21-40 of 106 Results