Townsend Labs Sphere™

Townsend Labs Sphere

$199.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$199.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Townsend Labs Sphere

Overall Rating

21-40 of 75 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

K. Bustetter

April 24, 2019

WOW

This is an amazing system. It is the future for sure. I now have all of the classic mic sounds I wanted in one system for a fraction of what I would spent on just the 2 mics I was looking at. Customer service has been top notch as I learn all that this amazing microphone can do. I am anxious to dig deeper as I have only scratched the surface of what this thing can is capable of. Don't wait buy it now and enjoy it with confidence. Thanks Chris for an amazing accomplishment.

J. Gerard

April 2, 2019

BEST $1500 YOU WILL EVER SPEND!

I can’t recommend the Townsend Labs Sphere L22 enough! I own 3 of them and It has been a total game changer for us at Gurari Studios. It integrates perfectly into the UA system with its low latency monitoring and the ability to commit or not. I own or have used many of the microphones modeled and they are spot on! I’m particularly fond of the Bill Putnam collection. My studio specializes in critical/high end classical recordings and we have been using the L22 since it first came out back in August of 2017 on everything from narrations on documentaries to opera singers, strings, piano, etc. Every client has been BLOWN away by the results! The ability to choose a microphone, polar pattern, adjust axis, and off axis correction after it has been recorded is a total game changer. With Opera singers, every note counts…No more wasting time setting up multiple microphones and having them repeat phrases to find the right mic. Just audition all the models after the fact and pick the mic and polar pattern that suits your needs. When recording opera singers, I tend to use a modified M/S array. I put one L22 in stereo handling the sides and the other L22 in mono typically with a figure 8 pattern handling the middle. I tend to make the sides ultra-wide (using the provided software) and then fill in the center with the mono mic. This gives me incredible depth and “air” to the sounds which is very desirable in classical music. Also, because the SPL can be so high at times (especially from coloratura and dramatic sopranos) that it can cause distortion at the diaphragm, but with the ability to turn the mic in stereo with the diaphragms pointed to the sides, it rarely ever distorts. The ability to automate and rotate the axis also helps create more “air” in the sound when they hit those ear shattering high notes. The L22 is one of the most important pieces of gear we own and we own A LOT of gear.

a. fields

April 1, 2019

The best decision this year

This is the best decision I have made this year for my studio the sound brings a new level to my work I am very please with the outcome of me decision thanks sphere and uad I will be back for more gear and I’m looking forward to more mics I can’t wait ,these gear is really unbelievable that’s the truth

D. Favero

March 16, 2019

Amazing!

I take sphere22 mic and UAD plugin to be faster to recording voices... it’s perfect. Take it!

A. Vax

February 10, 2019

Good alternative to Slate VMS

Native vst is free btw ))
Townsend Sphere is easy to use plugin. Just add it in insert after your microphone record (microphone should be linear).
VMS is very different and is very good algorithm. Townsend plugin algo is primitive - it changes frequency response, phase and always adds the same type of harmonics.
So when I don't happy with VMS I use Sphere.

D. Whitaker

February 7, 2019

Brings a 100k mic locker to your home studio!

Townsend labs is the first and only mic emulation system (and yes I own a VMS also) that truly captured the essence of the real thing IMO. I am fortunate to have a friend that owns a 100k mic locker and my dream was to have my own means to produce vocals and instruments as warm and shiny as his did. The Sphere exceeded all my expectations and gave me the ability to bring a level of professionalism that was previously unavailable to the home hobbyist. Additionally, the ability to automatically compensate for the artist’s proximity to the mic is a huge differentiator and major game changer. Congrats on a phenomenal product! UAD, please let us add this prior to the Unison slot so we can benefit from the full uncolored emulation so we can still take advantage of great unison plugins like your Manley VoxBox!

D. Richer

January 13, 2019

Wow!!!!

This is an awesome plugin and is included with the Townsend Labs Sphere. Such an amazing systen. Super happy!

D. Richer

January 13, 2019

Wow!!!!

This is an awesome plugin and is included with the Townsend Labs Sphere. Such an amazing systen. Super happy!

A. Green

January 4, 2019

Microphone modelling plugin.

I dnot own any of the microphones emulated in this plugin, so can’t really comprare to the microphones. I first tried it with a couple of my own microphones instead of the L22 to see what it was doing - to get a feel for the kind of sounds it was likely to produce. I was already impressed with it like this - and so decided to actually buy an L22 microphone. The microphone and plugin sounds great.

L. Webster

December 28, 2018

Mic locker on blast

Who said you need all the Microphones in the world? Why not have a select few handpicked by some people with a set of nice ears. This is the greatest investment or should I say the smartest investment I’ve ever made. If you don’t have a townsendlabs sphere L22 you are truly missing out. Not to mention having this awesome plug that complements this microphone so well. Then add in using the Apollo interface to seal the deal. Just get the mic, the plug and interface and say Thankyou... Enjoy!!!! Peace, love and music creating

K. Lima

December 21, 2018

i'm in love...

What to say...

K. Lima

December 21, 2018

i'm in love...

What to say...

K. Lima

December 21, 2018

i'm in love...

What to say...

K. Lima

December 21, 2018

i'm in love...

What to say...

K. Lima

December 21, 2018

i'm in love...

What to say...

K. Lima

December 21, 2018

i'm in love...

What to say...

E. Norton

December 13, 2018

Producer's Dream ...

The L22 has really changed the way we record ... everything. The mic modelling is best-in-class, certainly. Align the sound to your liking. But the stereo capability of the mic ... face-to-face harmonies creates this amazing depth of field. Vast vocal scapes. Watching 'Bohemian Rhapsody' last week and the whole time I am thinking, "What if Queen had access to these capabilities?!?!?"

F. Lundgren

December 11, 2018

Its thrue

I now have access to the best microfons in the world.

P. Nortey

November 29, 2018

I Have Been dreaming of this

I have dreamed about having the best Microphone in the world since 1982 when I started doing music. Now I have the best microphones in the world

H. Way

October 27, 2018

This Collection has all bases covered!

This collection is outstanding. It has a Mic model for every recording situation. The Mic models are really good and since it first cam out they have added about 9 more Mics to the collection. The other good thing is if you have a Townsend Mic you can get a coupon to get this collection for free. Another plus is this collection comes free with with the other collections. The Mic models here are really amazingly. My favorites are the C12, C800g, U67Nos and the modded U87.

21-40 of 75 Results