UAD-2 PCIe DSP Accelerator Cards

UAD-2 PCIe DSP Accelerator Cards

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

UAD-2 PCIe Cards

Overall Rating

541-560 of 626 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Wheelock

June 17, 2011

One of the main pieces of my studio. Really great sounding plugins powered by a powerfull card. I just wish could have more reverb emulations (AMS, L480 etc)

D. Dessers

June 17, 2011

IIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
LLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVEEEEE
YYYYYYOOOOOOOOOOUUUU
U A D

J. Luis

June 17, 2011

I have just bought me a Universal Audio 6176, have a sound card RME Fireface 400 and I would like to know which would be the way of connecting these 2 devices and the ideal configuration to record voices of rap (+-)
Thank you,
Jose Luis Ortega

A. Ziak

June 17, 2011

It's not possible to make anything musically without my UAD-2. This and my Mac is the heart of the studio. Very happy user so far!

J. Juste

June 17, 2011

For me, a "can't live without !". I use it in every production I do.I'm really satisfied of my uad's.

H. Robjohns

June 17, 2011

This is an immensely powerful DSP card, but the installation and authorisation process is almost trivially simple. I had mine installed, up and running within five minutes – and that included three minutes scrabbling around onthe floor taking the side of the computer and installing the card! The installations instructions are clear and easy to follow, and the online authorisation process is more or less automatic and completely hassle-free.

The plug-in collection supplied with the card provide a good starting point, and everything is very useful – there are no 'fillers' here – but the strength of the UAD system is in the depth of plug-ins available and their astonishing quality.

It is easy to be beguiled by the beautiful plug-in graphics which accurately mimic the original hardware, but the important issue is how the sonic character of the plug-ins compare and whether they do the job they are intended to do. The answer, from my experiences so far, is an emphatic YES. The Pultec EQ is sublime in the way is shapes and sculpts an instrument's tonality. I spent many years in a former career working daily with a Neve 33609 across my mix bus, and the plug-in behaves in precisely the same way – a real home from home experience! I've also found the EMT plate reverb to be remarkably accurate in the way it responds.

With most purchases there's always a niggle somewhere; something that doesn't quite work the way you'd like, or something that irritates or disappoints in some, usually trivial way, but which just downgrades the experience slightly. However, all my experiences of the UAD-2 Quad DSP and the various plug-ins I've tried so far have left me feeling extremely pleased and satisfied with the decision to go own this route. There have been no negatives whatsoever, just a very positive and hugely enjoyable experience.

I'm a thoroughly converted fan!

C. Till

June 17, 2011

The product is too new for me to report experiences. Why have I purchased this product ?
1. I know from many mixing/mastering engineers that they use your plugins successfully, particularly the 1176 and the Cambridge turn up very often
2. As I am a Power Core user I had the benefit to get 5 additional plugins FoC
So I could not resist this temptation and rate 5 stars in advance
Regards
Christian/Germany

D. Benabbi

June 17, 2011

UAD is cream of the crop period. you can't go wrong :)

T. Luraschi

June 17, 2011

top ! sweet ! musical plug and more more ...
very simple to use ...
it's the best !!!

J. Fernandez

June 17, 2011

We use several plugins and consoles but we can't mix without our UAD plugins, is the only way we can get that especial sound.

W. Maebe

June 17, 2011

This is my product review I wrote for Audio Pro International.



When Audio Pro International asked me to review the new UAD-2 from Universal Audio, I accepted with alacrity. I was already a fan of the UAD-1 card, having had the opportunity to use it when mixing and mastering the Juggernaut album for Zero Cipher, an alternative metal band from Farnham in Surrey. The album had been entirely digitally recorded, and the UAD card brought all the analog warmth to the recording we could have wished for, as you can hear when it’s released on Null/Void Records on March 30th this year.

I knew UAD-2 was on the way and it was worth the wait, exceeding even my most optimistic expectations.

The new DSP-based plugin effects processor is a massive leap forward from UAD-1 in terms of power, flexibility, ease of use and number of plugins. UAD-2 comes in single, duo or quad configurations, with the top of the range card, Nevana 128, able to run 128 channels of Neve 88RS console. The cards use Analogue Device’s newest SHARC 21369 floating-point processors, meaning the UAD-2 can have up to ten times the power of the UAD-1. UAD-2 also has a new live mode, making it possible to run the effects in a tracking situation, as well as mixing and mastering. If you’re an existing UAD-1 user, the good news is that you can use the new card side by side with the old on one system; in fact, you can use any configuration of up to four cards together.

The new card comes with a mind-boggling array of plugin options, enabling you to build your own virtual mixing console, mastering console, mix side-car or effects rack from your favourite analog components – it’s enough to make you drool: the Neve 1073 and 1081, the 88RS Channel Strip, the 33609 compressor/limiter, the Pultec EQP-1A, the Fairchild 670, the EMT 140 Plate and Universal Audio’s 1176 and LA-2A to name only a few of the treasures in here. The latest software update includes two newcomers – the Harrison 32C console eq and Little Labs 1BP phase alignment tool.

I’ve been trying out the new card on a variety of mixing and mastering projects over the last few weeks, and having used most of the original units on which the plugins are modelled, I can testify to the extremely high quality of the emulations. It is exactly what you would expect from Universal Audio, given its 50 years of revered analog design and its mission to create new recording tools that retain the spirit of vintage analog technology.

Using the plugins is remarkably close to the real-life experience. I found that activating the plugin ‘in the box’ added character straight away, even without tweaking the unit, just like switching the hardware in or out in a real outboard environment. This made my ‘in the box’ mixing feel a lot more realistic and allowed me to focus more on the content rather than the mouse.

Initially I had some problems with residual noise bursts within Logic when bouncing down mixes. This has now been resolved in software version 5.2.0, which brings us the additional glad tidings that UAD-2 is now RTAS-compatible.

You still can’t beat sitting behind a real desk in a real studio, but this new tool from Universal Audio is as close as you can get. The UAD-2 brings warm analog character to what can be a sterile and cold digital environment. It’s best summed up by one of my clients who said, after I mastered his album: “Now it sounds like a record."

H. Summers

June 17, 2011

I love my UAD plugs and use them in every mix. Loving the new lexicon 224 - would really like to see a plug in of an AMS NEVE delay/harmonizer - that would be great. In terms of bang for buck, UAD plugs are simply amazing. Keep up the good work guys! Oh - and how about incorporating side-chain processing into all of your compressors? That would be real handy!

V. Van

June 17, 2011

I'm realy glad to be user of your products, But I think UA should not just focalise on vintage hardware because the reputation of UA is already respected. But the future is not only just in the past. You can not only reproduce quality of earlier vintage product in a world who is in constant evolution. You are America, so in a customers vision around the world: "If you are also the future of sound, and not only the past..
You should look forward and check what does other inovative company do too...
To not loose the challenge to be there tomorow ( in the future ).
So of course, don't let the past, with all the vintage stuffs who are realy good for sound, but develope in paralel a line of intelligents and inovatifs product in the design but also in the way to show what we hear. Because of course, what we hear is the most important. But you are not working only for very experimented engineers any more..
Izotope understood it well...take advantage of your competence and knowledge of doing the things well...

(I Still proposing the idea of a good visual metering system)

precise metering for compression, phase metering with the reverb...

Kinds regards

J. García

June 17, 2011

Dear Sir or Madam at UA,

I think your plugin cards are simply the best digital-hardware devices for mixing/mastering with software oriented studio, but the price for some plugin licenses could be a little cheaper, or, just in case, when a reasonable amount of time has passed (one or two years), you can lower the price for some old plugins to offer the users nice hot deals. But IMHO, I think the overall quality of your products are superb.

I hope to find interesting UA products in the future.

N. Hopkins

June 17, 2011

My UAD-2 Quad Card is probably one of the best investments I've ever made.
The processing power and quality of plugins is unbelievable.
I have purchased some of the classic EQ plugins from UA and they have brought my tracks to life.
They sound as good as the hardware units they emulate.
Having had a UAD-1 Card in my PPC G5, I was amazed by how many plugins I could run on my new mac and I never seem to run out of processor power.
I can't think of a better way to enhance your DAW and music.
There has never been a better time to invest in a UAD-2 card with the broad range of powered plugins available. My only criticism is that I didn't buy one sooner.

C. Visser

June 17, 2011

The UAD-2 is a very nice sounding and flexible DSP system.
Installation is easier compared to the UAD-1. No more removing the card when one wishes to do a fresh OS install of the computer. Authorisations can be updated/imported using a built-in mechanism that directs to the UAudio website.

The UAD-2 system is very stable, it has never crashed on my system. Actually, I can't even remember having any problems at all with the UAD-2.

The plugins themselves are very good, I personally use them quite a lot. I really like the sound of them and the easy of use. But, three functions/options I would really like to see added to the platform are:
1. (True) Sidechaining.
2. Available/Used DSP resources shown in the menubar of OS X.
3. Ability to hide plugins that have not been authorized/bought.

E. Stewart

June 17, 2011

The UAD -2 Quad Card I am using every day, is a blessing.
I have used the original products that UAD have emulated over the last 45 years, and the UAD Emulations are as close as they need to be without the hassles of valves and caps going down, and wires strewn all over my studio racks ( which are looking empty these days !! )
Just keep improving the emulations guys, I don't need Hats, T shirts etc, just great UAD products like the Studer Tape Saturation plug in that sounds just great. Eric Stewart, 10cc.

W. Marshall-page

June 17, 2011

What can you say about something that gives the you power to run a whole bunch of UAD plugs? It does just that. I bought this after getting frustrated by the limits of my UAD2 Solo laptop card. And what do you know, I rag the quad card for power every time. The hunger of such bad boys as the Manley Massive Passive don't help! Love it though. Thank god the Mac Pro's got space for another few Quad's.

Only slight gripe, and I don't know if this is the Quad's fault, is that as I stack up my plug in count in ProTools 9 on a Quad core Mac Pro, I can be victim of digital stuttering, like the whole rig's straining under the load. Anyone else suffering from this?

L. Laurent

June 17, 2011

puissante et stable avec des plug de qualité ! what else ?

D. Capellán

June 17, 2011

My experience with the products of Universal Audio and more specifically with the UAD-2 DUO system is brutal, I parede system as stable and that the amazing plugins that work with this wonderful card, the best in the market without doubt.

I encourage all sound engineers and producers to have at least one in your hands!

To remain the number one Universal Audio!



Mi experiencia con los productos de Universal Audio y más concretamente con el sistema UAD-2 DUO es brutal, me parede un sistema de lo más estable y que decir de los increíbles plugins que que funcionan con esta maravillosa tarjeta, son los mejores del mercado sin lugar a dudas.

Animo a todos los ingenieros de sonido y productores a tener al menos una entre sus manos!!!

A seguir siendo los números uno Universal Audio!!

541-560 of 626 Results