UAD-2 PCIe DSP Accelerator Cards

UAD-2 PCIe DSP Accelerator Cards

Customer Reviews

UAD-2 PCIe Cards

Overall Rating

561-580 of 620 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Mijnders

June 17, 2011

I fel in love with the UAD Cambridge EQ and the UAD LA2A Compressor while I was working at another music studio. After starting my own studio I knew I had to buy and UAD card. I bought an brand new Mac Pro and ordered an UAD-2 Duo. After properly installing the card I quickly ran into the 32-bit / 64-bit problem. The card was not working...
After contacting UAD about this problem it became clear that the card would only run on an 32-bit operating system. My new Mac Pro booted in 64-bit mode by default... After a few months UAD was kind enough to release a software update that enables the UAD-card to run in a 64-bit operating system. But I soon found out that the plugins were still 32-bit and they still are today.
This means that I alway have to boot my sequencer (Logic) in 32-bit mode. Or boot it in 64-bit mode and use an 32-bit bridge. THE drawback of all of this is that I cannot access all my memory which I so desperately need when working on big projects..

Besides all the trouble I have with the UAD-card I really love it! The plugins do a wonderful job making your sound much richer and easily editable. Thanks to the UAD card my production level has massively increased!

J. Hohmann

June 17, 2011

I use the UAD Quad every day. I am happy, that I did not choose a "Solo" or "Duo" card.

F. Anklam

June 17, 2011

As with all hardware, there is a slight learning curve. Given the complexity and quality of the product, the time needed for installation and first use was appropriate. I encountered no problems. Only in the first two months i had about 2 to 3 times the message "no UAD hardware found" (or something like that). After a restart of my computer everything was okay.

The concept of getting all plugins, but most of them as test versions was new to me. In DAWs (in my case Ableton) which list all plugins, even the unregistered, this is a little confusing. Maybe it is possible to put unregistered plugins into a subfolder, e.g. named "unregistered"?

Latency is a problem. Recording through a DAW with activated UAD plugins in realtime is not possible with sufficiently low latency. Otherwise, latency will always be a problem when recording to already complex arrangements with some plugins in use.

The sound quality is very good. As always, it would be nice to have more plugins running per card.

I would not like to use a DAW without the UAD-2 anymore. But deciding to use UAD-2 is a real turning point. One has to change the workflow and maybe even get new computer hardware. Also it easily becomes very expensive, when using bigger and more cards. A considerable discount when buying additional cards would be a great thing. A possibility to upgrade to a UAD-2 card with more DSPs would be another great thing.

Regards
Finn Anklam

J. Micansky

June 17, 2011

Generally: the plugins are the best I have worked with. Tried pretty much all the native plugs out there.

1. Cambridge Eq: would be great if it would get a update with analyser and an improoved algorythmn

2. I would love a faster card than the current quad. I won't buy another card before something faster is out as the quad is out for nearly 3.5 years now.

G. Petho

June 17, 2011

The best sounding DSP i ever heard! Lot of option, plugins, very very usable hardware.
The plugins sound fantastic, and brings life to dead tracks if used.

Thank You Universal Audio!

I. Ingber

June 17, 2011

Simply put, audio dreams are realized, and mortgage payments are made, in no small part because of my vast array of UAD plug-ins.
The studio I now have is one that I could not have envisioned 10 years ago. I can't afford or have the space for a Neve V Series console, but with the Neve channel strip the sound of that venerable board is now coming through my speakers. An engineer friend who owned one in the day, shook his head in disbelief when I ran the channel strip through its paces. His quote, "It "doesn't sound like the Neve, it IS the Neve."

I have had experience of working with a "real" Trident A Range board on more than one occasion. When I got the UAD version, I expected something that might resemble the hardware version, but like my experience with the Neve, I got at least 95% of the real deal with that plug. There are, however two major differences:
1. The plug-in works every time without resorting to banging on it.
2. It doesn't leak oil like most everything English.

After reading the Geoff Emerick book, "All You Need Is Love," I cranked up the Fairchild on overhead drums, and voila, I was able to duplicate his take on the drum sound that is still very much with us 40+ years after the fact. And I still had a bunch more for guitars and vocals. Try that, Geoff!

Thank you guys for your hard work, dedication to detail, and imagination!

T. Darnois

June 17, 2011

Vraiment très, très bien, les explications pour la mise en place de la carte sont très bien faite. Le fonctionnement est très stable. Les plugins sont de très très bonne qualité.
Dommage que les plugins supplémentaire restent cher. Ceci étant la qualité est là, et cette qualité se paye!

L. Coeverden

June 17, 2011

This DSP card works great and I never have problems or bugs with it.
This is a stable platform !!

O. Nielsen

June 17, 2011

It gives me access to all the -"expensive boutique sounds" - at an unbelivable price!

T. Wessely

June 17, 2011

The Pricing for this Package is unbelievable. The Pultec EQ bundled with the Card is top notch! If you buy the EQ as a Plugin somewhere else it costs nearly as much as the whole UAD-2 Solo Bundle.

P. Bouley

June 17, 2011

Les meilleurs plugins vintage sans conteste, grande puissance je peux ouvrir environ une soixantaine de plugins simultanément.

D. Chuvelev

June 17, 2011

Use plugins are almost the only plugins I'm using. Great plugs, indeed! Thanks for that! What I would do for the Studer plugins, is making an option to turn the noise off by defalt for all the presets. Sometimes you don't need this noise, turn it off, then try another preset after a while and forget to turn it off. And it takes some time to find the noisy plugin if you have multiple in your project.
Thanks!

J. Stefan

June 17, 2011

I own a UAD 2 Solo and am very satisfied with this product. I especially like the analog sound.

M. Brustia

June 17, 2011

Super stable card! never a problem, even in the plug-in busiest project!

S. Griepentrog

June 17, 2011

Great stabile and powerfull.. at a great price.. works wery well with Pro Tools, Omly thing is that the plugins could be organaised a bit better... Maybee that will come in the future

V. Besley

June 16, 2011

It's all i need, no need racks filling my studio just a single slot pci to make all complete from mixing to mastering

G. Leong

June 16, 2011

Love the UAD-2 system and especially the plug-ins. The plug-ins have exceptional sound quality and are easy to use. Hope to put aside more budget to purchase more UAD plug-ins!

B. Filipetti

June 16, 2011

Dear UAD Team
i'm a long time Fan
i'm using for my work every day : ITV edit
the fairchild very easy and clear result
emt 240 reverb discret
spl transient designer very effective
trident A -Range direct to the point
sometimes :
the pultec and the neve 1081

for fun with old gear as moog prophet dx and others in combination with real analog FX :
the cooper cube
ep 34 echo

i did not regret the plugs i bought but since your released the Manley the studer and now the lexicon 480, for me these plugs are too expensive.... maybe with a 50% coupon ?
anyway
to the all team have a nice
bernard filipetti from paris france weather will be today very nice here

P. Coutin

June 16, 2011

Good gear.
But please, give usefull names to your presets. Presets are supposed to help us, cause we lack time. The preset list on the Tape echo are not usable.

G. Rubias

June 16, 2011

Hello.
The UAD-2 is fantastic. Plug-ins Its very intuitive and easy to use. The sound is very good.
The problem I see is the format. I think they should do a format UAD2 19 "and connected by Thunderbolt. I bought a laptop and I would like to study and have all my peripherals together with a single cable.
thanks

561-580 of 620 Results