UAD-2 Satellite

UAD-2 Satellite

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

UAD-2 Satellite

Overall Rating

541-559 of 559 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. Roberts

September 10, 2015

There Is No End

I love UAD plugs and DSP, but I want to react to a comment above from the guy who bought an Octo and said something to the effect of "I'll never have to worry about running out of DSP resources again".

I am here to warn you all, that the more you have, the more you use! I had a Quad Satellite and 2 SHARCs on my Apollo interface, but I needed more - so I bought an Octo card. And I thought I would never run out of DSP again.
That lasted about a year. I just purchased an Octo Satellite, but I no longer expect that I will never purchase another.
First, the plugins keep getting a) more powerful and b) more resource hungry. Second, the more you use, the more you want. I now refuse to mix a channel that does not have a Neve 88RS on it.

B. Olivier

September 6, 2015

Great

Simple, effective and potatif . it really is a must have product when customers ask us to be more and more flexible

C. Taylor

September 1, 2015

Apollo and UAD-2 Satellite do not work together

With this device, plugins in your DAW run on UAD-2 Satellite DSPs. An Apollo and the UAD-2 Satellite do not work together. The device handles plugin processing from the DAW OK so 3 stars. UA plugins are CPU intensive so the offload is welcome. A UAD-2 does not extend DSP capacity of an Apollo unit. A UAD-2 doesn't work in tandem with an Apollo. You cannot use this device to gain more DSP capacity for the UA console app. For the price this really doesn't amount to much. I previously loaded 24 tracks with all the plugins I needed on my early 2015 Macbook Pro i7. This was a waste of money. The UAD-2 Satellite has one trick which makes it worth far less than the asking price to me. A short TB cable won't destroy your margin

J. Valentovich

August 16, 2015

Plenty of DSP

I went from Apollo Duo & Quad satellite to The Apollo 8 & Octo satellite with thunderbolt ,can't beat it plenty of DSP for the Unison Technology to all the new plugins to use .Another great addition to UA ,also came with FREE plugins

W. McGraw

August 4, 2015

Octo Thunderbolt is smokin' !!!

I love the OCTO Thunderbolt. Running it with the Twin Duo. I'm able to daisy chain the 5K iMac, the LG 34inch 34UC97-S with Thunderbolt 2 with no lag. Everything sounds rich. It would be nice if the power was on the front though. I've got things tucked away nicely in a near cord-free appearance. I've gotta do some squeezin' to get the thing turned on and off. lol. First world problem... btw UA support is top notch !

W. Pikulthong

July 28, 2015

Great investment ever!!

This is a valuable piece of DSP chip ever invest.

I'm too scare that i just can't work without UAD chip.

Thanks UAD

B. Wood

July 7, 2015

Went laptop, no looking back

Until about 6 months ago I was using a MacPro 8-core system with PCIe UAD2 cards. I wanted to take my whole rig mobile so I took the plunge and bought a 4-core MacBook Pro. With the addition of the Octo Satellite I don't miss the MacPro in the least. This piece of gear make using a laptop for pro-level audio work possible.

UAD User

May 4, 2015

UAD-2 work good with MOTU DP

I have a UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Custom and so I have a lot of plug-ins. I like the way it work with Motu DP and I haven't tried it with Studio One. All My tracks Sound better.

d. merdeka

April 14, 2015

More power with Uad Satellite Quad.

very happy with my Quad,the plugins are just amazing...except can't use it tracking with my Apollo.

H. Sanders

April 3, 2015

Very impress

It changes the way I do my mixes now! Excellent product! I would like that more products were TB compatible but there will come the time for that!

C. Eickhoff

April 2, 2015

Quite pricey but definitely worth it!

The value of this piece of hardware apparently originates from the plugins it is able to run and needless to say that those are top notch! As for the hardware itself I am very pleased with the build quality and I really appreciate the fact that Universal Audio keeps listening to the feedback from its customer base in order to continue improving their products (e.g. enhancing the PSU connector). All in all a great platform, great hardware and great plugins although I occasionally feel that the premium pricing especially of certain plugins and the value they deliver is slightly unbalanced (I guess this may be due to royalties UA has to pay for 1:1 replication of the original vintage HW).

P. BREWSTER

March 28, 2015

Makes all other Plugins obsolete

Seriously the best sound plugs I have ever used. I have used many of the hardware devices in the past 20 years and I would have to say this beats them. Because you can have 20 610's or LA2. I just wish I would have bought the octo.

P. Boanton

January 28, 2015

A must have piece if you use UAD plugins

I have a lot of UAD plugins and before I got this piece I would run out of processing power pretty quickly. I'm using the API Vision and Neve plugs quite a bit as well as the Urei and Fairchild compressors.

I got the Satellite Octo and it's amazing. I've had up to 16 instances of Vision up and it didn't even hicup. Added a bunch of other things too, including a couple of Lexicon 224's and EMT 250 reverbs. It just handles it all.

If you're looking to do pro mixes this is a major upgrade to accompany the UAD platform.

R. Lara

January 25, 2015

On the road mixing!

Perfect unit for being on the road. Seamless install. Light.
Can't work without my Octo!

A. Agnew

January 20, 2015

Octo Satellite Thunderbolt

Unit looks great and performs excellently. Really frees me up from plug-in limitations so I can work with my ears and not worry about resources.

E. Mentzer

January 16, 2015

So far, so good!

I've only had it for a few weeks but the setup and installation process was super quick and easy. Glad it has two ports on the back so I can daisy chain it to my interface and hard drive. Excited to try more plugs!

M. Candura

January 16, 2015

COOL!

This new update to Thunderbolt is perfect to use many more plugins without latency.
Great DSP and great plugins. Put in comparison with other plugins and feel the difference!!

R. Kirk

January 13, 2015

LOVE this product!

I had a firewire Satellite and was very happy with it, so it's no real surprise that the Thunderbolt Quad lives up to and surpasses my expectations. While the instance count remains the same as it's firewire counterpart, the daisy chaining connectivity is a breeze and the latency is significantly reduced.

My Satellite is connected inline between my Apple Cinema display and thunderbolt HD. And.. this is all connected to a 2013 Macbook Air with my work files and OS all running on the *same* internal SSD - with no hiccups. Thunderbolt and SSDs are a powerful combination - and combined with the DSP workload being handled by Satellite - proves even a modestly powered laptop can do powerful work these days.

J. Annunziato

January 13, 2015

Key addition to my studio

Adds much needed plugin power to my rig with cool plugins and great expansion options. A little concerned about the cpu errors I keep getting when I load one of the UAD plugins, but otherwise I am very happy with this piece of gear.

541-559 of 559 Results