UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

Customer Reviews

Golden Reverberator

Overall Rating

18 Item(s)

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

F. Heinen

August 28, 2022

Sounds fantastic, but...

I bought this pedal because I consider UA's reverbs in particular to be ingenious. Unfortunately, my absolute favorite algorithm is not (yet) on board: the EMT-250, if UA could still implement it, it would be my absolute dream pedal. But instead of this, the Plate 140 actually does a really good job too (I like it even better than the plugin).
From the sound, you will not find anything that sounds more authentic than this pedal, as far as all the algorithms built in so far. It just sounds absolutely fantastic!
Unfortunately, the number of presets you can save is limited to 2, which makes the pedal less flexible than necessary. In addition, the Bluetooth connection to the mobile app is also anything but reliable, so this also does not remedy the situation here.
But the sound...yes, this sound it somehow makes up for everything, I haven't had so much fun listening to the reverb of my guitar decaying in a long time. And that's exactly why I still give 5 stars.

D. Thum

July 7, 2022

Can do modulated ambient tones as well

Echoing the other reviewers here, the algos are best in class. To get a classic Vangelis sound crank up the bass knob to taste on the 224 hall setting, as the bass and treble controls aren't eq's on the original 224. The eq knobs control the lengths of the high and low frequency decays, as well as the main decay knob. Play around with these, then turn up the mod knob and you too can replicant.

C. Jones

June 15, 2022

Gorgeous

Best at what it does. This pedal doesn't do extreme reverbs like some of the expensive Strymon pedals, but it smokes all other digital delays at emulating spring, plate, and hall verbs.

C. Bailey

April 27, 2022

A Fine Sounding Reverb Pedal

You can't go wrong with the Golden. Each reverb type in any setting sounds wonderful. It would be nice if UA released even more reverbs and also if the phone app/Bluetooth capabilities were further developed. Capabilities such as being able to save settings on your phone app and then load them to the pedal via Bluetooth would be great. Phase reversal options, for when hooking the pedal up to two amplifiers for stereo use, etc. All in all, it's one of the best sounding reverb pedals out there.

N. Bryce

April 17, 2022

Brilliant in every way

Lush on vocals and acoustic guitar! Routing thru the radial J 48 to your Apollo and it’s a whole other world of lush with this pedal

u. giegler

March 26, 2022

great pedal with huge sound but lack of decay

one of the best reverb pedals, detailed and great sounding reverbs. i miss longer decays of the plate types, an updated version would be amazing with up to 30s decay i often use. also looking ffw to the next algorithm (my wishes are quantec room simulator, lexicon 480L and AKG BX20)

B. Vavra

January 23, 2022

Best Sounding Reverb I've Ever Heard

I am not a MIDI user, so I did not include that functionality in my review. The sounds this pedal makes are impeccable. Seriously, it is unrivaled by some of the biggest names in the pedal market today. The versatility is there, you can shape the sound you want, but the controls are not overwhelming. They really hit it on the end with the sounds in this one.

n. kemp

January 18, 2022

Superb pedal

I've always been a fan of UAD plugins, so was interested to hear this new pedal and especially how it would stand up against other reverb pedals I have. I'm absolutely delighted to report that sonically it blows everything else away and is easy to use. Its also really well built and will remain part of my live rig.

S. Goffen

January 7, 2022

Great reverb, needs midi

Wonderful reverb. Amazing sounds for vintage and traditional verbs. But, needs midi. Having only one preset is just not good enough in this day and age with so many other amazing reverbs out there.

A. Crenshaw

December 24, 2021

Pretty close to perfect.

I'm very particular about reverb and have yet to find a reverb pedal that is on par with some of the plugins, Logic Pro X stock or 3rd party. UA Golden is easily the best reverb pedal I've ever used. I did however trade mine for a Strymon Flint simply because I missed having harmonic tremolo and don't have the pedal board space, power requirements and money to have a dedicated tremolo pedal at the moment. The Strymon reverb is fantastic but not quite as good as the UA Golden, if only by a hair.

Only cons I can think of is it uses an insane amount of power. If I didn't own the CIOKS/Eventide power supply made for high mA digital pedals I'm not sure what I'd do. I noticed when I using all the outputs on my power supply I'd get these strange metallic, floating tones every so often when using the preset. Honestly this is a fairly big issue in my opinion. I don't use MIDI so the lack of isn't a big deal but for $400 you'd think they'd include that. Always thought that was strange. Also not a fan of how close the jacks to each other. You're not gonna be able to use pancake patch cables with it. I had to buy new cables just for the Golden.

The profile of the pedal is nice and I like how it looks quite a bit. One of the most aesthetically pleasing pedals I've seen. Sound quality wise I think it's the best on the market but price wise you could probably get more value for the dollar elsewhere. All in all I would recommend this pedal to others but I'm not sure what good that would do because convincing someone to buy a pedal with only 3 reverb modes and no MIDI priced at $400 is a hard sell. If it was a matter of sound quality alone I'd give it a 6/5 stars. When I'm more financially stable I'll probably buy another but guitar comes second to producing for me so that'll be a while. Besides whenever I record guitar it's usually dry and I just add reverb in the DAW, usually Logic space designer or a UA reverb plugin ironically enough.

P. FOULK

December 7, 2021

Fantastic sounds but incomplete

The Golden is a hugely powerful pedal which sounds incredible. I'm not usually a reverb user as I often find that it can sound cheesy and gets in the way, but the Golden sounds so authentic and is so adjustable, it sits so well in the guitar tone. Even for chunky rhythm stuff, it adds body and fatness rather than mush!
The pedal form factor and architecture is great but I believe it is currently underutilised. Like a hot-rod stuck in 3rd gear.

MIDI is a must for this pedal. I cannot believe that UA will not introduce it in future firmware updates. It would be incredibly powerful with midi. I would also buy the Starlight if MIDI were introduced, as I'm sure many would. Without it though, nah, the Volante wins.

The other feature that's not being fully utilised is not being able to run the 2 engines together, ie running 2 different verbs in parallel.
I also hope in the future there are some more eccentric reverbs to download.

I have faith that UA are working on maximising the potential of this series and will implement the above If not, my review is only 3 stars (a great sounding pedal but a missed opportunity and limited for live use). If it had these features already it would be 6 stars and a total bargain at the price.

P. Chamberlain

November 14, 2021

Disappointed

Cannot register this product to my account, even contacted support no reply poor.

S. Alcorn Lobato

June 13, 2021

I so much want to like this, but . . .

This pedal has some really nice sounding reverbs, but I have two problems with it, one a possible deal breaker. The first thing I noticed was the controls. I have not yet downloaded the Lexicon plate, but I hear very little difference in decay. It would be nice if, like other plugins, the Lexicon 200, PCN and MPX series, we can control the decay independent of the one of the three chosen reverbs.

The second issue I'm having with it, and the probable deal breaker is that it changes the tone of my instrument (the pedal steel guitar). The sound loses much of its warmth when the pedal is in the signal chain (mine consisting of only the reverb and an analog delay). I give it two stars instead of one because the reverbs themselves are luscious .

D. Jackson

May 6, 2021

Top Reverb pedal

I have used many reverbs and owned some of the best..... This is the BEST!

B. Spinks

April 27, 2021

Brilliant!

Best reverb I’ve ever used. Sonically it’s perfect, really perfect. Lack of midi is a downside and I really don’t understand that omission, but regardless of that it’s a wonderful pedal.

C. Macarone

April 13, 2021

224 on the floor

Very happy with this purchase.
I always wished the UA 224 plug in could be a part of my live rig and now here it is, my own 224 on the floor!
I would’ve been happy with just one simple 224 hall choice but the plate reverb is just delicious. To have these two at my command is worth every penny. Well done UA!

G. Twydell

April 6, 2021

Simple, beautiful.

I have had mine for a week or so now and absolutely love it. Im not usually a reverb sorta guy when it comes to my live rig but this had me very interested straight away as the quality of what I heard was superb. No midi no problem, never cared for it. I like a more simple approach. With quality reverb like this you don't need a space station interface.
Cracking job chaps!

R. Lupi

March 23, 2021

Simply incredible.

Best reverb pedal i've used, hands down... it sounds AMAZING (the spring 65 is my favorite so far). Also, it's super intuitive and you can just tell UA went all out on this.

18 Item(s)