Free UAD Plug-ins with Every Apollo Purchase!

Save $300 on UAD Accelerators through 12/31! Find a dealer ›

Get up to 70% savings on UAD plug-ins storewide! Shop 12 Days of UAD ›

Hello world 4!

Hello world 5!

Shop huge storewide savings on UAD plug-ins. Extended through 7/22. Shop Now ›

Shop Holiday Deals on UAD Spark. See My Offers ›

Save $200 on Sphere modeling microphones through 7/31! Learn more ›

Customer Reviews

UA Sphere DLX Modeling Microphone

Overall Rating

11 Item(s)

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Fagnoul

July 10, 2024

Universal Audio

3 words : Mobile-Mic-Locker or Sounds-Really-GrrrRRrrrrreeAaat

D. Ho

July 4, 2024

The best microphone I’ve ever used

I’ve been recording with an excellent tube mic for decades. I was getting ready to change the tube (for the 4th time), but instead got the Sphere DLX. The versatility of this mic is unbelievable. In addition to the incredible mic selection, being able to adjust proximity (after the fact) is invaluable. Best of all, it is the quietest tube mic I’ve ever used!

A. Bose

May 16, 2024

One stop solution!

Wow!! Just what I was looking for! I've tried it on multiple instruments and vocals for various recording sessions, it's incredible and detailed! The software is really easy to use as well!

J. Metzger

November 14, 2023

The led

This mic is pretty cool , minus the light show and the fact that you have to place the mic 90 degrees from the actual source seems rather peculiar . I havnt tried every modeled mic as of yet , but notice that the sensitivity seems to be consistent between models . This mic is really quiet which is a plus and set up was a breeze . Sound quality is a solid 8 out of 10 , 9 if the light was removed and 10 if it could capture stereo without having to turn the mic away from the source .

M. Pardalos

October 19, 2023

Good but waiting on V2

UA have done a well job making the originally Townsend microphone, and Sphere GUI look sexy. At its core it is a good microphone. Personally I didn’t use it like a Swiss knife, I just found a sound profile I liked and stuck with it. Sadly the sound profiles don’t change the build of the microphone, so whatever Mic-sound I chose, it still had that Sphere artifact highs. Being able to change settings from the control room is very handy! (Pad, polar pattern, lowcut, profile)

If there ever is released a version 2 where the overall quality of the mic is raised, I can’t wait to jump back on it.

R. Miller II

September 27, 2023

neve

everything top notch I sild my 1084 rack after using the plugin

P. Singh

April 10, 2023

This Mic makes my decision simple.

Awesome Product! Sweet Stereo! I was in the market for a new vocal microphone and this one hit it out of the park! Find the model best suited and the color is there, simplest decision instead of grabbing different mics I can just click a new one and backup vox are separated instantaneously, recording an acoustic? Then just click which one fits the rest of the palate and your mix is clear just from the emulations alone. I’ll use this DLX for life! You can spend your money on the real microphones and I’ll have the audience not know the difference. SWEET DEAL!!!!!

E. Peterson

April 6, 2023

Unbelievable

I am an owner of the Townsend Labs L22 which is the same as the sphere DLx. It has been the most amazing and versatile mic I’ve ever used. The software is the stuff of science fiction and lets you use the right mic every time and fix it if you didn’t setup properly. I will get more in future and convert all my mics to the l22/ dlx. Thank you to UA for making the best products that help me make my best music.

J. Aponte

February 17, 2023

Incredible value for the money

I work as a professional musician and voice-over artist and for me, this mic kills it on everything! I've auditioned for tons of major VO jobs with it, many of which were for some of the biggest companies and projects out there, and I've not had any complaints. And what gigs I've booked with it, it's aced it. Having access to a number of the industry standard mics plus extra features to be able to optimize their sound is a big deal, especially at its price point.

By far, my current favorite VO pairing is doing a 50-50 blend of the TLM-103 emulation with the Brauner VM1 emulation. Absolutely fantastic, production-ready sound with very little need to do anything to it. Add onto that the UAD emulation of the Helios Type 69, and you've got a combo that works with just about every kind of VO imaginable.

And that's not even getting into the musical applications either; this has been my go-to mic for recording acoustic guitar and vocals and it aces both of those! Having a massive amount of choices means i can have mics for just about every single style of music. Its' flexibility cannot be overstated. This is a good mic to have in the arsenal.

L. van Laer

January 13, 2023

Outstanding

I’ve been using a Neumann U87 for vocals for several years. On first listen out of the box using a classic vocal preset, the transparency and presence on the DLX surpass the Neumann. Wow.

D. Marais

January 12, 2023

Still my go-to mic years later

I am an owner of one of the early Townsend L22 mics (essentially the rebranded UA LDX) and I am still blown away by the quality and sonic textures of these mic emulations. The UA software updates make it even better. Highly recommended!

11 Item(s)