Get $299 in UAD plug-ins and instruments FREE through 2/29! Learn more ›

Save $300 on UAD Accelerators through 12/31! Find a dealer ›

Get up to 70% savings on UAD plug-ins storewide! Shop 12 Days of UAD ›

Hello world 4!

Hello world 5!

The UAD HolidAI Sale — save up to 75% storewide. Shop Now ›

Shop Holiday Deals on UAD Spark. See My Offers ›

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin X

Overall Rating

721-740 of 908 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Hughen

June 5, 2020

New To UAD

This has got to be the best audio interface i have owned.
The plug-ins that came with sound amazing - 0 latency when playing Guitar too!
Doesn't come with a thunderbolt 3 lead & some of the plug-ins are way too expensive which is a shame.
(Dont be like Apple ) :)

S. McGoogan

June 4, 2020

Twin-X Not ready for Windows

I bought the Twin-X to work with the most powerful laptop ever built, the Alienware 51-m. 32GB ram, i9900k. In a laptop. Thunderbolt 3 compatible, top of the line, best cables, everything up to date. Can't even listen to music or watch tutorials at 44.1 Khz without getting drops, crackling sound and glitching within 3 seconds, and and I'm not exagerating.

Before you buy, check out the reviews and the tons of problems people are having under Windows. I ignored them, thinking I was better than them because I have been tech support before, I work in IT and never in my life there's been a problem I cannot solve. But this, this is something else.

Their Windows driver is horrendous and has been like this for years. It's ok for some users, and not ok for some. If you want to use this in a Windows laptop, wait a couple years. Don't count on support. My ticket has been open for close to two months now. They can take 14 days to reply to your problem with a message like "did you update to the latest driver?".

I really wanted to recomment the product, but until they fix their windows issues (I've been told it's on thunderbolt but also USB), I cannot give this more than 2 stars, and tell you.... TRY BEFORE YOU BUY. And try it quick when you get it. Try all buffer sizes, all sample rates, because you may very well have to return it.

Using it in asio is not as bad as in WDM, but you still get glitching unless you disable wifi, networking, overclocking. So, what's the point in having 1500$ in plugins and DSP, converters, if you are going crazy asking yourself if the glitch is in your sound or in the card output?

Months. Months with this.
Save yourself time. Get something else.

UAD should really understand that you should not release a disfuntional product that only works for some people with Macs or specific Windows configurations, and then let them wait for support until the return date runs out so they get stuck with it.

With a lot of work, you can make the glitching and crackling better, but it's never gone, and it will make you insane. 7 weeks of this is way more than I expected and it's still going on.

UAD. Get better, or get out of the Windows market.
We will spread the word.

k. preka

June 4, 2020

nice product but come without cables

it comes without cables makes me very unhappy when you buy something must come completely not parts that's so crazy

k. preka

June 4, 2020

nice product but come without cables

it comes without cables makes me very unhappy when you buy something must come completely not parts that's so crazy

C. Banet

June 2, 2020

Clean interface

This thing works great and is a step up from my Digi 002 I used for the past decade haha. The inputs sound very clean and solid. Its such a plus having the extra DSP which is basically like having 2 computers. Probably the biggest plus for me has to be no-latency. The UA plugins are some of the best quality I've experienced and there's plenty of exceptional ones included. All of these little things add up to help make produce better music more often.

O. Taveras

May 31, 2020

GREAT INVESTMENT!!

This is a great investment for the long run, if you invest in this Audio Interface make you understand that you cannot record or use without learning how to use, the UA software.

All of the plugins that are included will not work unless, you use their UA software simultaneously. I actually thought it was hard but once you get used to it, it will be super awesome. The free plugins are amazing & highest quality, just like major studios use.

Definitely worth the investment!

R. Jones

May 31, 2020

Disappointed in lack of compatibility and support

The Apollo Twin X works as expected and does it very well, up until plugging it into my Mac via Thunderbolt 3 and then it goes downhill.

When using Thunderbolt 3, I get a high pitched electrical whine through the monitor out, which I am pretty certain is caused from additional Thunderbolt 3 peripherals that provide PD power back to the Mac: in my case a Razer eGPU which I use for my multi-monitor setup. When contacting UA support, instead of them trying to help with the problem, or even show a slight interest in preventing this from happening to others in the future, I was simply told, "Unfortunately it seems that this configuration will not be possible. Using an eGPU is untested and unsupported". Unsupported is definitely right!

When used without Thunderbolt 3, or if I unplug the eGPU from my Mac, the Apollo Twin X work brilliantly, but in a world where eGPU's and PD over Thunderbolt exists "untested and unsupported" from a support case, is simply not good enough. At a minimum, it would have been nice to know there could be compatibility issues before making the purchase.

R. Montero

May 30, 2020

Wow Amazing sounds!!!!!!

Just can said is amazing sounds, 5***** plugins!!!

J. Bru

May 27, 2020

Gran interface

Llevaba mucho tiempo trabajando con otras interfaces y siempre he tenido el problema de la latencia y decidí dar el salto a la Apollo Twin Quad para tener más libertad a la hora de agregar plugins de UAD, llevo tres semanas con ella y estoy encantado. Por cierto, no noto latencia.

J. Garrett

May 26, 2020

Great sounding plugins, but crashes

This this crashes and I have never had this problem on this iMac. Before anything 2017 iMac quadcore i7 3.6ghz 32gb ram Thunderbolt 3.... so it’s good enough to run audio programs. It’s never, ever, not once, not even once crashed. Now Logic X just updated on the exact weekend that I installed the Twin X Duo, so that could be the issue.... but UA software installation is strange, having to override permissions in OSX, it’s unnerving. If UA plans to stay atop the interface/plugin mountain for long they’ll need to go ahead and pay Apple the licensing fee to have their installation software run on OSX without the security override. That’s just second rate really.

Sounds great, but let’s be honest there are several manufacturers in this space that all sound great with excellent AD/DA conversion, near zero latency, and plenty of features.

Unison preamps sound good. Really good. But not like a real Neve, or a real Manley. The Avalon is closer to the real thing, but the Avalon is one of the least colored preamps to begin with.

In summary it’s 2020. Products that crash because of outdated drivers were a thing of the past... I thought. But here we are trying to weigh the trade offs of a really good sounding interface with the reality that crashes don’t work in any workflow or any professional application.

I’ve actually produced less in the two weeks since I received and installed this because it just isn’t inspiring to be singing a great sounding vocal, and have the thing crash.

C. Schneble

May 25, 2020

Apollo Twin X Duo

Tested and used different Interfaces in the last years and the Apollo is by far the best.

- Hardware (Knobs, Buttons, Plugs) are rock-solid and sound is awesome.
- Software -> great Plugins + and on the first look Luna is great too
Very intuitive workflow and lots of things to discover

M. O'Connor

May 22, 2020

Sounds amazing!

It sounds amazing and using plugins like this has allowed me to get rid of a stack of gear! My room is much neater and my terrible songs sound so much better

F. Ruiz

May 20, 2020

Apollo Twin X

Years I have spent in and out of studios and have tried to build my own home studio, but after having used the Twin X I am so convinced about the hardware that I've decided to get the Apollo 4X as well to enhance my home studio and mobile applications.

N. Bowers-Broadbent

May 20, 2020

Apollo Twin X Duo

What a piece of gear! I had done a lot of research about my next audio interface as I needed it to have a pro spec, I needed to be able to record guitar and bass well and it needed to record killer vocals. It does all of this and more. Yes it is expensive, but you get what you pay for. Great pre-amps (Unison), superb AD/DA converters and access to the full range of UAD Plugins (for a price - although they are quite generous with their discounts). The duo is enough for me at the moment, but I am looking to get a Satellite Thunderbolt 3 Octo Core once my plugin collection expands. I'm even considering moving from Logic Pro to Luna (I've been on Logic for more years than I can remember), simply because of the integration of the Apollo into the software and the quality of audio on offer. If they could create a plugin that reads EXS24 samples, I'd be completely sold. For the serious musician/composer/producer I can't recommend this product enough. Just ensure that you buy the unit that can deal with the processing capacity that you need. If you plan to put Neve preamps on all your tracks along with reverb, compressors and EQs, go for the Quad or consider a Satellite.

J. Bac

May 19, 2020

Top Shelf

I started with the Arrow and was impressed once I got through the learning curve. Well I started to really get into it by downloading all of the apollo line manuals, console sw, etc. and read them all. I learned a ton and began to wish I had the Apollo X Quad. Fortunately my retailer allowed me to exchange the arrow for the quad. Once I began working with the quad, I was (and still am) super impressed. All the plug-ins run on the onboard processors and the fidelity is incredible. Disconnect from the Mac and all is still functioning - which is cool. The I/O capability is flexible and powerful. I've been using it for playing with other musicians live on-line. I've also been recording tracks with it. Yes, it's expensive but this is a top shelf item and it performs like a top shelf item should. If you want to reach up that high, you won't be sorry. Nothing wrong with the Arrow - it's great. But the Quad has that "WOW" factor. The duo is the same machine for $500 less. If you don't jam up a ton of processor hungry plug-ins, you can save some dough.

G. Nuñez Oviedo

May 19, 2020

Big improvment!!

Upgrading from silverface Twin, like it a lot!

G. Dagnino

May 17, 2020

Excellent Interface

Great sound, and plugins. Very intuitive, works great with both PT and Luna

J. Cillo

May 17, 2020

Just Amazing!

The sound, build and technology are amazing. I still can’t believe my ears. Thank you for creating such amazing products.

M. D'Amico

May 17, 2020

It’s the one!

If music is your passion and what you want to do for the rest of your life this purchase is a no brainer! Get set with the industry standard top grade equipment for under 1k! I love my UAD! No problems, like ever, and very easy to connect and use!

T. Whibley

May 14, 2020

Don’t think buy it!!

I was introduced to Luna a couple of weeks ago,
Now have an Apollo Twin X Quad and Octo Sat..
The sound is incredible.
Thanks UA

721-740 of 908 Results