Apollo Twin X

Apollo Twin X

Customer Reviews

Apollo Twin X

Overall Rating

1-20 of 60 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

s. avramov

January 21, 2020

The best in the market

This little creature changed my life for the better, easy to work and comfortable. And the sound .... The sound is just crazy, the most virtuous virtual tools and close to the analog tools I've ever heard. And the Unison is the best there is. Hi end product

A. O'Brien

January 18, 2020

I can't seem to get this to connect and I've had constant issues trying to get support

For some reason I have major issues connecting this to my new Mac, I've tried different cables, different ways of turning it on etc and it just constantly gives me grief. Might have to return this, which is unfortunate because I've heard it's an amazing piece of hardware

d. golding

January 14, 2020

Amazing

life changing piece of kit made my christmas

J. Johnson

January 13, 2020

Apollo Twin Quad X

This is the best bang for your buck. I thoroughly enjoy this piece of equipment. I don’t know why I did make the upgrade sooner and I am glad I did. I am so thankful for the team at Universal Audio this will change my mixing experience for sure!!

C. NUNEZ

January 13, 2020

Blown away with quality and ease of use

Just perfect for our studio, very practical and easy to use with a sturdy construction. We make use of every i/o including optical for max channel use. Really glad we took the step forward in the UA envirnment.

M. Garrido-Lecca

January 13, 2020

Apollo Twin X is fantastic!

Amazing depth, definition and character! Closest thing to analog I've ever heard!

D. Melnik

January 13, 2020

Awsome

I use my Apollo Twin X less more then a month and I'm very excited. Awesome sound. Amazing preamps.Stable work.

J. Hendrix

January 11, 2020

Blown away

I’ve spent a fair amount of time in recording studios over the years. I did not however, really put much into my home studio due to lack of need. When the need to be able to record from home recently came about, it was clear that my current setup was no longer... well... current. I reached out to some people to ask opinions on what to buy and the answers were all pretty unanimous. When my Apollo arrived, I wasted no time setting it up. I admit I’ve never really considered myself much of an engineer (I turn knobs until it sounds good) and the racks upon racks of gear in studios have always seemed to overwhelm me. However, the Apollo has changed that for me. It is so easy to use everything and the plugins are really as good as everyone says they are. UA has changed the game for not only home studios, but for the big boy studios as well.

If you’re trying to decide if it’s a worthwhile investment... I will tell you, it is.

G. Diaz

January 10, 2020

Audio Quality

I imagined that there will be a noticiable difference between this and my old apollo usb (silver), when the "X" was installed and running, sound quality in my playback was more clear, I could hear subtle differences in volume, panning and tone in sounds. When recording also a great change, Its hard to explain, it isn't brightness or compression, its like the vocals and instruments feel more alive, you can really listen the changes in volume even if they are minimal, theres also a richness in the LOW-MIDS that makes your captures (recording-takes) sound "with more information", a kind of warmth.

TIP: Recording with UNISON plugins is what makes the difference in this audio interfaces, so ALWAYS record using them!

Finally, really happy with the "X" it worth 100% the upgrade! Thanks UAD!

K. Bauman

January 4, 2020

Bonanza

Not only was the Twin X a great deal during the end of year promotion, it’s a great time for Pro Audio. Necessarily bad-sounding, “prosumer” digital recording is, for all intents and purposes, a thing of the past.

I came for the Arrow, stayed for the Twin. Coming from the newest Duet, the Twin X is a step up - the Arrow had more “vibe” and better AD than the Duet, but noticeably worse DA (i.e. hazy and less dynamic range in comparison). The pro versions of the plugin classics (1176 et. al) are obviously better, and the originals are still very useful. Ultimately, the Twin X is wonderfully neutral device to color how you like with UA’s great circuit modeling - the best I can imagine for ITB recording these days. The build quality of Twin also appears to be outstanding. It’s a brick, with nicely balanced wheel, and the connector hardware is burly.

The only complaints I have are a couple of realities that I’ve learned post-purchase: While you can mute the monitors via physical switch, you cannot mute the headphones without toggling them off in the Console software. For me, this sucks - if I forget to mute (or turn the headphones down) and they’re close to me, I’m mixing with that in room. The other issue is that there’s no option to bypass the preamps in line input mode. I don’t know how much those amps may color the sound, and I haven’t found any statement from UA about it. I can only speculate that the device is narrowly designed to replace external preamps. Still, it’d be nice to use my external pres - neither of which is modeled by UA - without wondering if I’m changing the sound of them. All that said, it’s sounding great, and that’s probably enough.

I love Console - cool routing options, recallable, and so far, rock solid.

I’m over the moon with the Apollo Twin X. Had I not bought during the promotion, I might consider other interfaces and native plugins (that have also come a long, long way...Acustica, Softube, and Slate come to mind though I think there are others). I’m glad that I didn’t have to though - the Twin really does feel like Christmas.

K. Bauman

January 4, 2020

Bonanaza

Not only was the Twin X a great deal during the end of year promotion, it’s a great time for Pro Audio. Necessarily bad-sounding, “prosumer” digital recording is, for all intents and purposes, a thing of the past.

I came for the Arrow, stayed for the Twin. Coming from the newest Duet, the Twin X is a step up - the Arrow had more “vibe” and better AD than the Duet, but noticeably worse DA (i.e. hazy and less dynamic range in comparison). The pro versions of the plugin classics (1176 et. al) are obviously better, and the originals are still very useful. Ultimately, the Twin X is wonderfully neutral device to color how you like with UA’s great circuit modeling - the best I can imagine for ITB recording these days. The build quality of Twin also appears to be outstanding. It’s a brick, with nicely balanced wheel, and the connector hardware is burly.

The only complaints I have are a couple of realities that I’ve learned post-purchase: While you can mute the monitors via physical switch, you cannot mute the headphones without toggling them off in the Console software. For me, this sucks - if I forget to mute (or turn the headphones down) and they’re close to me, I’m mixing with that in room. The other issue is that there’s no option to bypass the preamps in line input mode. I don’t know how much those amps may color the sound, and I haven’t found any statement from UA about it. I can only speculate that the device is narrowly designed to replace external preamps. Still, it’d be nice to use my external pres - neither of which is modeled by UA - without wondering if I’m changing the sound of them. All that said, it’s sounding great, and that’s probably enough.

I love Console - cool routing options, recallable, and so far, rock solid.

I’m over the moon with the Apollo Twin X. Had I not bought during the promotion, I might consider other interfaces and native plugins (that have also come a long, long way...Acustica, Softube, and Slate come to mind though I think there are others). I’m glad that I didn’t have to though - the Twin really does feel like Christmas.

D. Lowe

January 4, 2020

Superb Interface

I Love the styling of the unit. Smaller than expected but perfectly formed. Using it with the console software is a pleasure, well thought out and does exactly what I want. But the main thing is the unison preamps. This is my main reason for buying. On mic inputs, it just adds a nice character. But using a unison preamp with a guitar amp is so much fun.

W. Welmixpro

January 2, 2020

Amazing product from amazing company

Amazing product from amazing company The New convertors are nice And more open good Job UA Love You

P. Sviyazov

January 2, 2020

Great workhorse

Use it with macbook pro 2019. Very smooth and user friendly tandem. All I need is understand how the console works, and everything falls into place. Use it at home studio and at live performances - all great.

G. Jo

January 2, 2020

Simple Quick Perfect

It's clean and simple to create excellent quality
So Cooooooool!!

B. DU

January 1, 2020

I would give this a 0 star if I can

This is the worst audio interface I used ever. Playback is distorted when I play system sound and playback in pro tools.

L. Retes

January 1, 2020

AMAZING !

I upgraded from the Apollo twin USB Windows only To the Apollo twin X on Mac.
The Apollo twin X is a next level interface.
I’m totally blown away!

J. Diaz Romo

December 30, 2019

La mejor interface de audio formato escritorio

La mejor tarjeta de sonido en formato escrito. La calidad de previos y convertidores son impresionantes, y poder llevártela para grabar grupos o directos, pudiendo ademas cargar los plugins en el dsps de la tarjeta a tiempo real es increíble. Recomendada 100%

L. Vargas

December 29, 2019

Best

So i just had to get this. Have the apollo 16 in the studio but working towards a mobile setup to bring on travels and this is it!

J. Way

December 28, 2019

Underwhelmed

I’m a windows user and I found this to be underwhelming in every possible way. The Thunderbolt ASIO drivers are not universally detected by software that supports ASIO unlike every other device I have ever used. Voicemeeter is an example of such a program, but if you search the forums you’ll find similar complaints for other software. Oddly the USB and FireWire ASIO devices did show up everywhere - not that this is helpful. I’m also not sure why those are even installed since I don’t own an interface compatible with those drivers. The WDM drivers are buggy and laggy, so that left me with no options for software that wouldn’t detect the Thunderbolt ASIO.

The latency was underwhelming too. It barely outperforms the FireWire device I intended on replacing with this. In my tests I was able to get a very large/complex project that would only run cleanly at 1024 samples on my old FireWire interface down to 512 samples with the Twin X. Not nearly enough to justify the cost. The control panel software also seems clunky and unsophisticated.

For $200-$400 this would all have been potentially acceptable. For $900... I returned it one week after purchase.

1-20 of 60 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3