UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

Customer Reviews

Apollo x8

Overall Rating

81-100 of 265 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Verblakt

November 29, 2020

Stunning interface

The sound quality of the pre-amps as well as the DA circuits is superb. It's clarity and open an tight low -end impresses. Came over from other brand which I used for 10+ yrs but the sound difference is stunning. I did some vocal recordings with unison pre-amps enabled and it blows my old interface away. The unit is build to last long (I hope). Thumbs up.

E. Bunnik

November 27, 2020

Finaly one that does all good

It was time for an A quality sound device. The Apollo x8 sounds perfect and working with it feels effortless. I'm waiting for my satellite and then I'm done for a while. I have everything I need to record myself and any band. Oh wait still have to choose the plugins that suit my style.
UAD thx for great gear
Edwin

J. Foxall

November 26, 2020

These converters are amazing

I have used Apollo silverfaces for years and just updated to an x8. I was using a Dangerous dbox for my converters with my silver 16 but the converters on the x8 sound so much better! I wish the volume knob was more substantial (like that of the dbox) and that the headphone amps had a bit more oomph, but otherwise this is a fantastic interface.

R. Amador Lopez

November 25, 2020

I love my apollo x8

I have been with Universal Audio for 7 years, very satisfied with all its products and finally I wanted to update my Apollo 8 interface to x8 the difference in sound speed of the AD conversion process is incredible, if you are looking for a pro sound you must make an effort and listen to one apollo x

S. Camilleri

November 25, 2020

Apollo x8 beautifull

Very high quality device as were the previous Apollo FireWire Duo and Apollo Twin mkII that I owned until recently. All great devices but the apollo x8 is a superior shoulder both in terms of preamps and converters. The best apollo among those owned so far. Congratulations always to UNIVERSAL AUDIO.

D. Parker

November 19, 2020

Great Interface

Upgraded from an Apollo 8 to an X8 - overall a nice upgrade. Sounds a bit cleaner/nicer than the 8 and the added DSP is a bonus. I hope they will eventually improve the optical covers on the ADAT inputs. I have broken two of them in the past few years which makes the ADAT inputs hard to use without tape. Messy.

M. Link

November 19, 2020

Apollo x8

Great piece of kit - have been UAD user for many years. Bit miffed there was no increase in DSP between x6 and x8 i.e just 6 HEXA chips. Yes there is in increase in physical preamps in the x8 but happy to have got the UAD deal of a HEXA statlite with the x8 which gave me more DSP.

C. Sztrakati

November 17, 2020

Perfect Upgrade

It matches perfectly with my Apollo quad. I use 8 unison preamps now and i love it. 10/10

H. Sanchez

November 15, 2020

Just the upgrade I needed

Amazing converters and plugins

m. cyr

November 6, 2020

Apollo x8

Le son des professionnels 11/10

UAD User

November 3, 2020

Perfection

It’s giving recording a new life.

C. Lewis

October 24, 2020

Love Love Love It

Apollo X8 was the best investment I made. Really looking to grab another x6 or x8p to accompany my new unit.

K. Hudson

October 8, 2020

Mixed emotions

Decided to convert to thunderbolt and x8 was the choice. Powerful unit but feeling like I could have gone with the competitors for cheaper. The plug-ins are the same I own from another plugin company and can only be used if the interface is connected leaving me restricted when on the road. Over all a powerful unit that serves it purpose as thunderbolt unit and still leavening its capabilities.

M. Jørgensen

September 7, 2020

Good as I hoped

Until now, I’m very satisfied with this thing.

S. Riel

September 3, 2020

New Interface, old plugins, no support.

Bought my 3rd UA Interface, this time Apollo X8..had to choose from Plugins I already bought a long time ago...no feedback from support for 3 days. Lesson learned.

R. Fluri

August 30, 2020

Sound, Utility, Plugins... unmatched!

There's so much to love about this interface, but the most noticeable thing for me is the sound, it sounds so wonderfully tight! Love the pre's, love the plugins, love the sound, love the look & just the right amount of in's and out's for me, super satisfied!

A. Freidin-Goss

August 6, 2020

The best got better.

I have been lucky enough to own every generation of the Apollo interface and the X8 is by far the most versatile yet. It has all the processing power that I need "in the box" to run a small studio without necessarily having to rely on satellites. I cannot recommend this unit enough. The integration with Luna (as with all the other interfaces) is fantastic and has me considering ditching the DAW I have been using for years.

M. Lanbach

July 13, 2020

WoW!

Just like UA promotes it. It really feels like an analog studio during the performance. No noticeable latency whilst having the best sound AND less CPU usage on the host computer of the DAW - Love it!

M. Lanbach

July 13, 2020

WoW!

Just like UA promotes it. It really feels like an analog studio during the performance. No noticeable latency whilst having the best sound AND less CPU usage on the host computer of the DAW - Love it!

D. Varga

July 10, 2020

It's just perfect!

I've been using a silver face Apollo (FW updated with TB 2 option card) for a decade now so you may say I'm a little committed. But look, there is nothing similar on the market that would come even close to this equipment (and the company as a whole).
We started to stream worship evenings with my band over FB during the quarantine and the Apollo FW become a little tight in terms of channel count and DSP as the band was growing. Now, the Apollo FW with TB 2 option card and the x8 work perfectly together. It took only like secods to daisychain the two brother (I'm using an iMac and TB3 connection). The system has a lot of DSP power. Basically, I'm using SSL E channel strip on each channel (percussion, acoustic and electric guitar, keyboard and vocals), some extra compression where it is needed and the EMT250 as a reverberator for this live situation. The sound is amazingly detailed and crystalclear even on the FB. Playing with in-ear monitors (4 different cue mixes with the two Apollos!) using this system is also inspirational for me and the other band members: you can hear such details that are nearly unheard with naked ears. The music is literally breathing.
Customer service and special offers are great at the UA. Big thanks for you guys! I become a huge fun of UA! Just in case (and because I like heavy hardware) I also own an LA-610 Mk II and a Twin Finity hooked up to the Apollo line in basically for tracking vocals and guitars. Digital heaven of sound!

81-100 of 265 Results