Apollo x8

Apollo x8

Customer Reviews

Apollo x8

Overall Rating

1-20 of 111 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Boucher

December 12, 2019

Excellent purchase!

I always like my Apollo Duo Firewire, but the Apollo x8 is a very nice upgrade!

L. Keller

December 10, 2019

Incredible piece of gear!

Amazing converters. Very "open" sounding. Amazing preamps, with the added bonus of modeling classic preamp designs using the Unison enabled plugins. Amazing plugins that are emulations of classic analog gear. It is all just... amazing. You can NOT go wrong with UAD.

C. Yang

December 9, 2019

Amazing gear!

So far, the Apollo for the first time while continues to use the devices rme.
I was surprised at the first medium low sound of tear gas wafted, but a clear when he heard the song, a sound.
Second, UAD Plugins.
The effective immediate response was stunning, especially at the delicateness of the Riverb plug-ins.
The third is the headphone amplifier. This equipment has a really good headphone output.
Overall, the great device must be a spotless.

s. matthews

December 7, 2019

If you’re interested in UAD gear. Don’t hesitate

This isn’t my first piece of uad hardware. I had a uad apollo 16 which I was using to route outboard hardware. I sold that and bought the Apollo x8 because I have absolutely no need to use hardware when I have access to uad plugins. I still have an Apollo Twin which I use as my monitor controller. Universal Audio was also offering a free uad-2 satellite with the purchase of an Apollo x8. The aftercare service with universal audio is also exemplary. Which is a very important part of any studio gear purchase. The plugins sold by uad are some of the best on the market. Plus they can be run on the units internally. Then there’s the unison preamps. The neve 1073 preamp outdo pretty much every hardware preamp clone. So if you’re reading this review in order to get a better picture of uad gear why are you still here? Shouldn’t you be down the store buying some uad gear. It’s a no brainier.

C. DaPonte

December 4, 2019

PC user

I have had the Apollo x8 running effortlessly on a windows pc for a couple months now. There was a Thunderbolt security setting that had to be changed in my PC's bios but aside from that, the Apollo basically set itself up. No glitches, no crashes, no dropouts. Using gigabyte Designare Z390 mobo and an intel chip running windows 10.

This interface changed the way I make music! Great sounds inspire great performances!

R. Glettler

December 2, 2019

Great gear but with downsides (using a Win PC)

once, you´ve got it up and running it´s a really great device. OK, in my opinion the DSP powered stuff is just an exaggerated copy protection that makes things unnecessary complex. But there are two really frustrating issues. First the initial setup of the device using a PC. You have to update the firmware, so that the current windows drivers can communicate with the device. But there is no way to do this update on a PC. You have to do it with a Mac. No info about that at all. UAD Support just advices to reinstall, restart and so on. So as PC/Windows user without a Mac no chance for you to get this device up and running. The next thing is the poor windows driver. There are so many problems with crashes of DAW, NIs and so on. If I check the errorlogs and traces, usually the rootcause is an UAD driver component. I´ve tried everything like full uninstall, reinstall and turning off everything else. So, yes it works but I have to live with crashes and sometimes strange behavior of the drivers. So I would say, this device is just not made to be used with a PC. Another, but not as crusial, thing is the missing feature to hide plugins which I do not own. I own about 50 plugins and it´s a pain to see always all the 200+ plugins and to find the ones I can use. Yes, there is the hack to move the not used plugins to a different folder. But come on, this is unprofessional and I have it to do this twice, for VST and AAX plugins and always after updating the UAD Software. So, yes it´s a really great Device if it´s up and running, the console application works really well, but connected to a PC it´s often a pain and you spend a lot of time fixing technical issues instead of making music.

A. EMIXPRO

November 28, 2019

Excellent product (once you get connected!)

First rate product. excellent bang for buck. Added a Octo card, Twin and Quad Satellite. Seamless and simple to use.

A. Adams

November 27, 2019

Excellent

Wasn't sure about jumping on the UAD bandwagon at first, but now I see what all the fuss is about. The Unison technology is excellent, the preamps really sound great, as do the amps and other emulations. The Apollo is really versatile and easy to use. Super happy with it.

Y. PARK

November 25, 2019

good

I changed it in the Prism Atlas, and I was surprised that the converter performed better than I expected. I will continue to use Apollo.

B. Smith

November 21, 2019

One of the best audio interfaces, Period.

Just upgraded from Apollo Twin MkII to the X8. I am beyond pleased in the quality of my production. Now I use my MkII as a monitor controller. I am very pleased

G. Creasor

November 21, 2019

Great Product

Added the X8 to my current Apollo Twin Quad... works great!
Couldn’t be happier.

D. Lütgenhorst

November 20, 2019

Perfect workhorse for fast and great sounding Mixes

I changed one year ago from my babyface pro to the twin mkII and now to the X8.
I do only commercial work for radios and TV‘s in Germany.
My VoiceOver Chain is a Neve Shelford Channel and a U87Ai.
The best part of the Twin is, i can take my loved Neve Sound everywere.
I compared the UA1073 to my Shelford and its shocking close!
But mixing on the X8 is again another level.
So clean, so detailed.
I also compared the x8 to the x4 and for me the X8 was better.

But comparing interfaces is not really easy.
In the end the fact of the better clock, and more DSP I kept the x8.
Together with my Twin i have now 8 chips, and can control all 3 monitors!
Only if you See that Point, that you safe money for another controller, cables and more, its worth every penny!



D. Lütgenhorst

November 20, 2019

Perfect workhorse for fast and great sounding Mixes

I changed one year ago from my babyface pro to the twin mkII and now to the X8.
I do only commercial work for radios and TV‘s in Germany.
My VoiceOver Chain is a Neve Shelford Channel and a U87Ai.
The best part of the Twin is, i can take my loved Neve Sound everywere.
I compared the UA1073 to my Shelford and its shocking close!
But mixing on the X8 is again another level.
So clean, so detailed.
I also compared the x8 to the x4 and for me the X8 was better.

But comparing interfaces is not really easy.
In the end the fact of the better clock, and more DSP I kept the x8.
Together with my Twin i have now 8 chips, and can control all 3 monitors!
Only if you See that Point, that you safe money for another controller, cables and more, its worth every penny!



s. lee

November 18, 2019

good

It's a great product. I am satisfied

r. starkey

November 17, 2019

Reverse Latency

Guitar amplifiers are black and white televisions.

N. Piantedosi

November 17, 2019

Love it

Got the x8 as my main piece and the Twin x as my desktop controller - great combo. The realtime tracking and amazing plugins are a game changer for my workflow. Very happy with my purchase.

J. Moore

November 16, 2019

Unreal!

I had the original Apollo Quad and was extremely happy with it. I decided to upgrade to the new and recent Apollo x8. Within seconds of listening, the difference was unreal! The lows were punchier/tighter and the stereo field seemed much wider and detailed. Apollo x8 is hands down one of the best units on the market. Long live UAD...Thank you for giving us the tools to be creative!!!

S. Sadre

November 14, 2019

From Orpheus to Apollo x8! Buy one!

Buy one! Mixing is a dream, beautiful converters, world class pre’s! I thought I would feel a difference going from prism sound as only used the UAD cards and Apollo twin ,The XP is a definitely a pro interface and as you probably know the plugins are second too none..

S. Sadre

November 14, 2019

From Orpheus to Apollo x8! Buy one!

Buy one! Mixing is a dream, beautiful converters, world class pre’s! I thought I would feel a difference going from prism sound as only used the UAD cards and Apollo twin ,The XP is a definitely a pro interface and as you probably know the plugins are second too none..

C. Pineiro

November 13, 2019

One word: PERFECTION!

Many years developing a project studio, many interfaces, computers, mixers combined with audio I/O. But nothing, nothing like this gear. Love it, hearing it is falling in love.
Further more, UAD made rethink my studio... now I'm letting go mixers and processors. Less is better. Excellent piece of technology. Analog sound, digital flexibility.

1-20 of 111 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6