The Bill Putnam Mic Collection

The Bill Putnam Mic Collection

Regular Price: $249.00

$199.00

You'll Save 20%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $249.00

$199.00

You'll Save 20%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

The Bill Putnam Mic Collection

Overall Rating

1-20 of 23 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Pendlebury

June 4, 2019

Amazing

A stunning addition to the Sphere universe. Absolute vintage magic.

I. Andriotis

May 15, 2019

Excellent Vintage Sound

This collection adds a wonderful vintage sound to the Sphere family.

The 44 is just extraordinary. Especially on vocals and grand pianos for classical music recording. The 251s of the PT collections are by far my favorite - does not sound like the other 251 found in other collections. Both Small Diaphragm have a unique way to highlight transients/percussive materials that I haven't heard with other mics. Attacks are just there. Clear and nice without being louder necessarily and without overpowering other elements in the mix.

Each single mic in this collection worths every single penny.

智. 竹内

May 13, 2019

Better than the ocean way

I like the sound of the U47 in this plug-in over the Oceanway plug-in.

J. Albritton

April 1, 2019

Wow

Great tool to get a completely different sound... I love the flexibility

A. Heinzelmann

March 31, 2019

Great microphone collection

This is a perfect Collection of great sounding microphones for my sphere L22 microphone.
It´s very usefull to change the type of microphone after recording to get the best sound u can get.

R. Kirk

March 14, 2019

Best Sphere Models Yet

Both the original and Ocean Way models are excellent and highly versatile.. but to my ear the Bill Putnam collection goes a bit further. I can't speak to the exact authenticity but I know I love the new mic models I've tried, in particular the Putnam U67. It's a keeper.

J. Rachansky

February 14, 2019

Soooooo much sweetness!

I thought the ocean way was gonna be more than enough emulations but I am glad I picked this up. The demo shows just how much of a difference there is between some of the classic mics. Now i need to learn them all!

S. Sine

February 12, 2019

Best Townsend Mic Locker So Far!

I’m not sure if Townsend emulates better microphones lately or if they get better with time at capturing and emulating the essence of these famous microphones but everything sounds better with each new release. I have all three lockers (Townsend Factory Mic Collection, Ocean Way Mic Collection, Bill Putnam Mic Collection). I was excited with the Ocean Way locker but I just bought the Bill Putnam one and it sounds even more incredible.
The true star of this locker is the BP-47. It sounds unbelievably amazing. The Townsend LD-47 sounds muddy next to it, and The Ocean Way OW-47 sounds good but still not quite like the Bill Putnam one. As soon as I put the BP-47 on my lead vocals, everything magically opened up, it tamed the chest resonance and the slight nasality that the other two failed at as well as lifted up the high frequencies without harshness or sibilance. I switched back to the other two and suddenly it felt like “the picture was out of focus again”. Or “going from HD definition to VHS definition”. Also, the BP-47 sound is 3D-like compared to the other two.
I’m trying not to write a novel here, so I’ll be brief with the rest. The 67 was equal to the Townsend 67 NOS one, although slightly brighter. Between the three lockers, I found that the version of the famous C12 from Ocean Way sounded best. Keep in mind that I tried them only on vocals, so it might not apply for other instruments, and actually depending on the vocal characteristics as well. I liked both 251 from the BP Collection, the 251E being slightly warmer than the 251A, they are still both better than the Townsend 251 but not by a lot. The 37A sounds amazing as well. Nothing to compare there as this model is only in the newly released Bill Putnam Collection. If you can only afford one locker, I would recommend the Bill Putnam one.

K. Lima

December 21, 2018

amazing tones...

more, more and more....lol

R. Marant

December 14, 2018

Tecnología que cambia conceptos.

Es genial!!.
Es un placer disponer de este armario de micrófonos.

A. Rankin

December 1, 2018

Soft Silky Smooth and Exactly created for my voice

I have come from an artists perspective with the Sphere mic and these presets. For me it's what works best for my voice and these nailed it, My voice is resonant, harmonic and very wide range, these seemed to highlight and hold the delicate qualities within my spectrum while opening an airy space for them to flow. Also for flutes it was unbelievable with bansuri. wow a mix of the RB-77DX Umber and BP-44 all over complete bliss, no wind sound just yummyness

A. Rankin

December 1, 2018

Soft Silky Smooth and Exactly created for my voice

I have come from an artists perspective with the Sphere mic and these presets. For me it's what works best for my voice and these nailed it, My voice is resonant, harmonic and very wide range, these seemed to highlight and hold the delicate qualities within my spectrum while opening an airy space for them to flow. Also for flutes it was unbelievable with bansuri. wow a mix of the RB-77DX Umber and BP-44 all over complete bliss, no wind sound just yummyness

R. Jason

November 12, 2018

More.......is GOOD!!

OK, I can't be impartial. That's my daughter Hannah's voice on these Putnam mic "models."
Truth is, to have our name in any way associated with Bill Putnam is an honor. While in LA, I often worked at Capitol, and a couple other studios that owned Putnam originals. They sounded awesome. These models bring back lots of good memories. The mic collection that comes with the Sphere mic is terrific. Having more "flavors", especially when derived from mics treasured by so many, as is this Putnam "Collection" is the icing on the cake!

H. Way

October 17, 2018

It just keeps getting better!

I have all the Townsend Mic Collections and this one is my favorite. Its’s also nice that the original Mic Collection is included with this collection. I am so amazed at what you can accomplish with this Mic and plugin that cannot be done with a conventional Mic. This technology is definitely a game changer. I have unlimited tweets but getting back to the Mics from my experience and listening to the experience of others that have some of the Mic modeled here the emulations do sound like the Mic they mimic. If you have to choose only one locker I would recommend starting with this one first.

J. North

October 6, 2018

More of a good thing

This collection is fantastic for any studio owner - the RCA44 is absolutely insane. I definitely think it's worth the additional purchase and encourage people to scroll through while the singer is setting up and commit the sound, just as they would if they owned these mics.

j. hoard

September 19, 2018

Putnam / Hoard review

I love this collection. My favs are his 251, RCA ribbon and the shure predisessor to the sm57. They have so much character. Great work again UAD. KEEP EM COMING

P. Katz

September 16, 2018

Compare

I felt this collection was slightly more to my tastes than the sphere l22 180 software that came as a throw in offered - is it better than ocean way ? Is it different ?
In degrees yes / but we are seriously microscoping the details - it is not a real telefunkin but it’s a great sounding model to be sure so between the 250 on the software and the 1500 on the mic u get more than a 1700 sounding mics u get several mics probably worth around 1700
Always slightly worse than the real thing but 2000 in not 200000 and that’s what it would take to put an actual collection they are modeling from

c. morrison

September 15, 2018

Voice Over

I use this mainly for voice over. I have the other Townsend collections and this I think is my favorite...for VO anyways. The senny 405 and AKG sound superb for low male voice. Love it. Best pack yet IMHO.

T. Fabri

September 14, 2018

New Era

Everything changed in my workflow with the L22 - this Collection is going even further: Especially the BP U47 is so amazing on vocals! I 've got a quite nice collection of Mics - i don't want to sell them - but to be honest - I do not need them any longer ....

D. Marais

September 2, 2018

Gorgeous

I feel like I’m in the room with Nat and Frank - and they’re letting me use their mics for fun. Just gorgeous - we’ll done, UAD and Townsend Labs for the L22!!

1-20 of 23 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2