UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor Compressor

Overall Rating

281-300 of 573 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

E. Szypulski

April 30, 2020

C.Gutierrez

Don’t like people, who gives multiple opinions, not even having the product (vide C.Gutierrez), trying to be a judge to even out the mark. Super product by the way!

E. Bergendorff

April 29, 2020

Stellar But Useless

Tried it out for various instruments - sounded quite good. Looks good too.
But because of the latency, can't use it.
UAD is great for hardware - the rest is for the most part, hype.

D. Ho

April 26, 2020

Perfect for everything

I've spent a lot of time with this compressor in different musical settings from acoustic duos to crushing rock mixes. I love how you can hit it so hard and it maintains the tone and integrity of the source. It is the best at bringing out bass, drawing attack out of drums, and getting vocals to sit perfectly in a mix without having to ride words. The filters are useful, the distortion provides nice tonal options, and I found the attack and release to be exceptionally useful in shaping sound. I was particularly amazed by how the release time controlled the brilliance of a snare drum. At 6+ it would shorten and warm the snares, at 4 or less, the compressor allowed the bottom mic to ring out after the attack adding more brilliance and sustain to the snares. If I could have only one compressor, this would be it!

M. Reeves

April 23, 2020

Had to have !

Demoed it and knew I had to buy it ! Love it.

G. Rios

April 20, 2020

SINGER, MUSIC PRODUCER

I have used the original for a long time and are identical, good work UA.

d. rogers

April 20, 2020

CLUTCH!!

this is thing is the secret sauce for drums and vocals!

L. Maggio

April 17, 2020

Amazing

Amazing sound with drum acoustic guitar

L. Hester

April 13, 2020

Instant Bliss!

I’ve owned the hardware for 20 years and recently transitioned to a mostly itb setup. Nothing does what a distressor does so I am thrilled to hear the sound I’ve grown to love in a plugin format. Now can we please get a Brit mod!!!!

V. Kotljarow

April 9, 2020

The Best compressor!

Super powerful compressor with many possibility !
I am very pleased ! One of the best UA compressor !!!

Super starken Kompressor mit vielen möglichkeiten !
Bin sehr zufrieden ! Einer der beste UA Kompressor !!!

Супер мощный компрессор с множественными возможностями !
Я очень доволен! Один из лучших UA компрессоров !!!
Супер Класс !

P. Duffy

March 25, 2020

Everyone needs one

I'd used various emulations of this and just decided to bite the bullet and get the UA version. Very glad that I did. A must have for drum mixing!

D. Guevara

March 21, 2020

Best digital compressor i have ever used!

This digital compressor has so many options and you can do so much with it, I am very satisfied with my purchase.

UAD User

March 20, 2020

Thinned voice

Excellent for the voices and guitares.

R. Attias

March 19, 2020

legendary

...and now I know why.

M. Robinson

March 19, 2020

Damn

I waited way too long to get this comp, one of the best of the entire UA folder

s. donat

March 19, 2020

good job

sound great and nasty

C. Gutierrez

March 11, 2020

British Mode

Sounds good, I like the demo, but I'll buy it when you add a british mode

C. Gutierrez

March 11, 2020

British Mode

Sounds good, I like the demo, but I'll buy it when you add a british mode

C. Gutierrez

March 11, 2020

British Mode

Add British mode please

W. Shanks

March 11, 2020

Sounds like our golden unit!

A dedicated study by UA's algorithmic circuit model experts was held over the course of six months. Our chief scientist did a complete circuit trace and component study of Dave Derr's selected golden unit. Simultaneously, the team analyzed and measured our four specimen Distressors representing the lifetime of the product to ensure one of the tightest sonic and behavioral circuit models to date, well within our goal of analog unit to unit variation. By coincidence, the golden unit had the fastest attack among the four units.

UA reached out to many famous proponents of the EL Distressor to ensure every nuanced detail of the hardware that fans have come to know and love were faithfully captured, along with feedback on their favorite digital convenience features they wanted to see included. UA's plugin product manager and QA staff scrutinized every facet of the plugin against the analog counterpart at every step along the algorithmic development path, ensuring the emulated sonics and circuit behaviors raised the bar of the UAD platform and the Empirical Labs brand. Finally, our work was then made available to Dave Derr for his own sonic verification and ultimately blessing of authentication and release approval.

C. Rockaway

March 10, 2020

Wildly Useful

The first time I engaged the demo of this, I was actually mad, because I knew that I HAD to buy it. Indispensable for the fast-attack, sleek, modern vocal sound. Excellent for dreamy, 'verbed out, spacious electric guitar. We ALL know what this does for a drum set, obviously!

281-300 of 573 Results