Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Empirical Labs® EL8 Distressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$179.00

You'll Save 40%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$179.00

You'll Save 40%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor Compressor

Overall Rating

1-20 of 110 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

T. Christmann

October 15, 2018

Distressor to go

I wanted to gig with a distressor using mainly for lead vocals in a live front-of-house situation; and in conjunction with an apollo twin it even fit's into your backpack.

D. Marais

October 12, 2018

Grit and cream to perfection

What a beautiful plugin, UA. Again, you provide us with the magic we need to weave beautiful spells with our sound. Thank you!!

K. Korolev

October 11, 2018

A real Distressor inside the box

I’m a big fan of the Distressor, this plug-in is mind blowing how it gives you the same sound as the hardware... as usual I have no words thank you UAD

J. North

October 6, 2018

Spot On

Ahh this thing sounds like the hardware. Don't tell anyone.

UAD User

October 4, 2018

Impressive

I love my analog Distressor, and once again UAD nails it with their digital version.

W. McMiller

October 1, 2018

In the pocket

I first experienced the Empirical Distressor Hardware at Prince's Paisley Park studios and immediately put this plugin in my wishlist. When I plugged this in on my lead vocals, the focus and warm was just like the studio! I threw all other compressors out! Even on my vocal buss, all the voices were in your face and I could still dial in the dynamics. Love it!

N. Sharif

September 9, 2018

Another great UAD plug in

Very nice plugin. Makes the instrument stand out

N. Sharif

September 9, 2018

UAD are the best! Period

I'm using it on drums and bass and made my mix a day and night difference ! Compared it to the real thing and it's very difficult to differentiate.
Thank you UAD team for this great plug in.

H. Ataka

September 8, 2018

Sharp sound!

Delicious distortion, sound that comes out earlier, this has both.

C. Howat

August 23, 2018

Better Than The Hardware

I never really loved the Distressor, I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s because I’m better at dialing in tones now, but with the wet/dry mix knob, I can dial in the exact tone I want. Great for drum close mics and vocals. No British mode but maybe in a future version.

C. Kaliampakas

August 2, 2018

One of the best!

Thats the comp i use most of the times. It works great on everything and it has an unbeatable "sound".

T. Hänel

July 26, 2018

Awesome Sound Machine!

Works with everything.. from vocals to guitars, synths, drums.. from subtle to extreme. Great compression and great distortion.

K. Gilroy

July 20, 2018

Will THE REAL DISTRESSOR PLEASE.....

I have been using the Slate version and after hearing the real difference at Conway, I bought it! Now after using it I notice an even bigger difference. It's a smoother warmer distortion. BEST PLUG OF THE YEAR! Thanks Again UAD! Note: This is how we made the kicks mixed with sinewaves sound so killer. The kids call 'em 808s and 909s. I bought my Roland 808 Drum Machine for 50 bucks at a pawn shop in the 80s. I sampled it to DAT and sold it in the LA RECYCLER for 1500. Still have the Tape. - Gilroy

C. Bell

July 15, 2018

Finally

The majority of my career has been on analog desks mixing with outboard gear. It's only been the last couple years I've been moving to a more hybrid mixing setup. The Distressor is one of my "go to" boxes for several pieces of the mix. I was really missing not having the distressor working "in the box". Finally I can use the same settings as the real box and have it translate into exactly what I get from the hardware. Thanks UA!

B. Krueger

July 15, 2018

Great comp for guitar

Works well with guitar, transparent to smashing the signal.

J. Nguyen

July 14, 2018

Modern day 1176

Beast!! Sounds great on almost anything. This hands down is a must have if you want you mix to stand out.

UAD User

July 9, 2018

A++

The best emulation of one of the best and most versatile compressors ever made. A must-have.

j. tretta

July 4, 2018

Incredible

It’s my new go to for snare and kick.

G. Venkataraman

July 3, 2018

Works like magic

Whether you are a novice or pro, you can’t go wrong with this! It’s an amazing compresser with a generous dose of distortion to tame even the most unruly tracks in your mix. I use it to fatten vocals, drums and to make guitar tones cut thru the mix!! It works like a charm and I will never let go of this anytime!

A. Kirakosyan

June 29, 2018

YES YES YES this is really the best plugin for me.

This plugin I use everywhere.On drums, on basses, on vocals etc.

1-20 of 110 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6