UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

Customer Reviews

Empirical Labs EL8 Distressor Compressor

Overall Rating

301-320 of 575 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

W. Shanks

March 11, 2020

Sounds like our golden unit!

A dedicated study by UA's algorithmic circuit model experts was held over the course of six months. Our chief scientist did a complete circuit trace and component study of Dave Derr's selected golden unit. Simultaneously, the team analyzed and measured our four specimen Distressors representing the lifetime of the product to ensure one of the tightest sonic and behavioral circuit models to date, well within our goal of analog unit to unit variation. By coincidence, the golden unit had the fastest attack among the four units.

UA reached out to many famous proponents of the EL Distressor to ensure every nuanced detail of the hardware that fans have come to know and love were faithfully captured, along with feedback on their favorite digital convenience features they wanted to see included. UA's plugin product manager and QA staff scrutinized every facet of the plugin against the analog counterpart at every step along the algorithmic development path, ensuring the emulated sonics and circuit behaviors raised the bar of the UAD platform and the Empirical Labs brand. Finally, our work was then made available to Dave Derr for his own sonic verification and ultimately blessing of authentication and release approval.

C. Rockaway

March 10, 2020

Wildly Useful

The first time I engaged the demo of this, I was actually mad, because I knew that I HAD to buy it. Indispensable for the fast-attack, sleek, modern vocal sound. Excellent for dreamy, 'verbed out, spacious electric guitar. We ALL know what this does for a drum set, obviously!

s. bosewicht

March 9, 2020

The Real thing In The Box

I can not distinguish this from my real unit. Now I can use this on all my guitar tracks and make changes without committing to audio tracks. This is the plugin I use the most by far. Even just using the 1 to 1 ratio just to get the magic of running through the device it ads a lot to the character of the source. It is relatively light on resources.

J. WOODS

March 5, 2020

Get it.

You can't go wrong with you UAD

P. Mata Rodriguez

February 18, 2020

it's a must!!!

it's a plugin we should all have, excellent sound and easy to use.

D. Pezzati

February 14, 2020

The compressor for experiment

I own a real Distressor and this is a very close model. I tend to experiment with this on everything, not just a compressor, this is a shaping tool!

C. Gutierrez

February 2, 2020

Nice but useless

Please add British mode!! Nowadays with all plugins emulations of opto, vca, varimu... and the powerful pro c2, the only reason to use a distressor is because it's the only one compressor which got 1176 4 buttons knee behavior with 30ms of attack and variable ratio. So please update to emulate el8x version with BRITISH MODE

J. meul

January 18, 2020

Thick in your face

Really love how it does something when tracking vocals a up front in your face sound! That and the new avalon in unison mode !

F. Ferrer

January 18, 2020

Happy New Year to me

I have never used the hardware, anyway it is irrelevant to me, this pluging works wonders.

B. DU

January 17, 2020

Best plugin ever

Almost identical to hardware.

P. Choudhury

January 17, 2020

You cannot go wrong with it

Distressor - Super Plugin!!!

D. Thompson

January 15, 2020

FAT

This compressor makes drums sound immense, but is generally a very useful plugin, combining the best of Optical and FET compression types.

V. Shageev

January 15, 2020

It is what I want!

Most aggressive compressor with versatile sound.

O. Dramaretskiy

January 14, 2020

yyyooooohhhuuuu!!!

Perfect!!!!!

UAD User

January 13, 2020

#1

The best compressor plugin ever!

UAD User

January 13, 2020

#1

The best compressor plugin ever!

C. Wieszczek

January 12, 2020

Keeper

Good results on vocals

T. Jukic

January 12, 2020

UAD Distressor

My go to compressor for vocals. Superb!

C. Cherry

January 9, 2020

Ridiculous!

This thing blows me away. It's got you covered from gentle transparent compression right through to audio destruction. So close to the original unit it's ridiculous, the real Swiss Army Knife of compressors.

T. Steinkuhle

January 9, 2020

The Weapon

Set whatever you want... it works. Great Tool

301-320 of 575 Results