FATSO™ Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

FATSO Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$179.00

You'll Save 40%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$179.00

You'll Save 40%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

FATSO™ Jr./Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Overall Rating

281-300 of 459 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

A. Shailer

April 15, 2014

I have to admit...

I have to admit, I am totally in love with UAD, certain plugins become instant essentials after you try them, for example I wouldn't write a bass line without using FATSO now. You can drive things into it so hard, and it seems to just continue to keep rumbling in the low end.

Got an 808 kick with a long decay? Smash it through FATSO for an instant dirty bass sound that makes you pull "that" face.

J. Lively

April 13, 2014

Amazing emulation!

Beautiful plugin! Sounds just like the hardware unit. Gorgeous saturation!
The only reason it's a 4 and not a 5 is that it's a bit of a resource hog. It takes more processing power than any of my UAD2 reverbs.

C. Gibbs

April 10, 2014

Loovvveee

As good as the hardware unit with more flexibility! Used on every session!!!

O. Canivet

April 9, 2014

Great glue & warmth, massive dsp drain

Used mainly on drum busses as glue and compression, dialling in tranny warmth and slight high pass filter also is rewarding. Only thing is id like to have more instances of fatso but it's a pretty serious dsp hog! Great plugin :)

J. Dzuris

March 26, 2014

Amazing Sounds!!

Love this thing. Works well on so many things in so many ways.

C. Huseyin

March 16, 2014

A Simulation of a Simulator

A multi purpose Software unit trying to simulate a Hardware unit that's trying to simulate Tape Saturation.

It doesn't feel analog.

Instead, it got some kind of strange enhancement that feels 'un-natural'. The tape simulation is kind of 'dense', the compressor is limited and the harmonic distortion also feels dense & rough.

The unit is trying to do too much and doesn't really excel in any of them.

It's a dense feeling unit. Try inserting on a bass drum to feel how dense the bottom end thud becomes. It feels like it would be good for Heavy Metal bass drums (when used very lightly) but other than that, it's not very versatile considering it's a 'multi-purpose' unit.

3 / 5

E. Mushi

March 16, 2014

Does what a FATSO is supposed to do.

Man I'm glad to hear that FATSO sound! Best software representation on the market. Thanks to the Apollo sound card I got to play with some of the many plugins offered and all I can think of is thank you for the creators and the UA team.

S. Tib

March 13, 2014

Best Tape / Compressor : it's my favorite UAD plugin !

I read so many great feedback about the fatso that I needed to try the demo.
For my electronic music project it's perfect, it's brings warmth, nice compression, punch and make my sound alive. I tried it on different part, it works perfectly except on a shitty recording or something that has distortion.
I tried also the Struder and the Ampex, I prefered to get the Fatso first for tracking, recording etc...
I am not sold yet on the struder, I prefer the Ampex that brings a nice polish finish to make your track tight and ready to be pressed.
The Fatso is one of my favorite UAD plugin !

M. Moire

March 7, 2014

FATSO IS FAT

Great hardware faithfully recreated. Highly useful for drum processing. Clever Warmth control. FATSO Sr. offers far more flexibility.

L. Gibbs

February 27, 2014

The Fatso is a warm cure for digital blues....

Heard a lot about the hardware unit and have always been intrigued by it's concept, tape emulation, transformers, compressor all in one. Sounded to good to be true. Well after using this plug-in version I'm a believer. Took a minute to fully understand it but now it's in everything I work on.
Gives my vocals a nice musical grit (analogness). Drum buss no brainer, also stereo bus. Could go on and on. It's just the right vibe.
Really helps pull things out in a mix....

L. Gibbs

February 27, 2014

The Fatso is a warm cure for digital blues....

Heard a lot about the hardware unit and have always been intrigued by it's concept, tape emulation, transformers, compressor all in one. Sounded to good to be true. Well after using this plug-in version I'm a believer. Took a minute to fully understand it but now it's in everything I work on.
Gives my vocals a nice musical grit (analogness). Drum buss no brainer, also stereo bus. Could go on and on. It's just the right vibe.
Really helps pull things out in a mix....

K. Hawkins

February 14, 2014

Amazing

Just put it on your drum bus and listen to the magic.

F. Maliseno

February 3, 2014

W.O.W.

incredible.... same sound analog of the real plug version - great dude!!!

S. Drasin

January 17, 2014

desert islands plugin!!

This is my most used plugin, I run everything thru it. Vocals, Drums, soft synths and on my mix bus. It really brings the warmth. There is a lot under the hood with this beast.

P. Bright

January 13, 2014

Nice sound.

Just like all of the UA plugins I have, the Fatso Jr. has real character & has allowed me to make better sounding mixes than I have ever been able to achieve in 10 years recording. I really like the Fatso on the drum bus but also use it on bass & some guitars. Spent 7 years with a PT HD system that was a hugely overpriced & a big disappointment. I use the Apollo and the UAD plugins with PT native & it sounds WAY better! Not one of the UAD plugins have been a disappointment.

A. Pir

January 12, 2014

Warmth

Personally don't like it's compressor but amazing when your track sound harsh or thin. it really make it FAT!!

B. Emerson

January 4, 2014

Fatso

Easily the best and most usful product i have in my ever expanding plugins from UAD,
as a mix glue it just works !, on a drum buss is outstanding and exactly how i have always wanted to hear my drums , the only downside and this is a big one..................... is that i can't use more than 3 or 4 of them in a mix session so this is a bit frustrating !
but it does sound great !!!! :)

J. Sayadian

January 1, 2014

Stunning

Stunning standard of work!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Unimaginable brilliance!!!!!!!!!!

B. Marin

December 31, 2013

Like the real one!!!

When I used it for thr first time, I got the same feeling than the hardware.
I can compress a lot and it still sounds great to my ears.
That's why I bought that plug straight away after my demo time.

Z. Huang

December 30, 2013

Amazing!

It's my best choice on Snare and Bass,I can easily get my dream tone from it.Though it's an analog tape simulator, I used it as my first compressor all the time!

281-300 of 459 Results