FATSO™ Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

FATSO Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

$299.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$299.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

FATSO™ Jr./Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Overall Rating

421-440 of 466 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

T. Trochimczuk

June 29, 2011

Oustanding. Tracks after FATSO are warm, fat and glue with other better in the mix.

R. Romano

June 22, 2011

fatso jr is great. Often use it on kick drum and bass and also on the master if dosed properly. Everything sounds more analog.

A. Norris

June 21, 2011

Studer A80 and the SONY APR5003 are two analogue recorders I've used for mastering since the mid 1990's. My beloved APR is now in the garage - couldn't quite bring myself to sell it - ever since the FATSO arrived!

As an integral stage of mastering prior to final limiting or as the final stage of my recording chain the FATSO has given me the same sonic results as I was achieving on tape - without all the alignment, cleaning and tape cost. Add to that immediate recall of favoured settings and it's difficult to imagine returning to tape.

The "Senior" parameters remind me of the Distressors from EL and I must admit it was the added control offered by the model of Dave Derr's own modifications that eventually sold me. I was intending to purchase the UBK FATSO modified by Gregory Scott in NY until my research brought me to the digital arm of Universal Audio.

Cost was also an issue and although I still use analogue hardware in my studio the ability to have 4 simultaneous instances of the UAD FATSO Snr as opposed to a single stereo unit was a significant factor.

The LPF elements of the "Warmth" circuit are wonderful, allowing dynamic roll off of overt top end frequencies that can often be "brittle" and "cold," whilst the ability to independently control the Low Frequency Saturation is an aspect I never had with tape. The FATSO is the first reason I invested in the UAD system - now I have expanded my selection of modelled devices it is clear it shall not to be the last.

Thank you Universal Audio for a beautiful tool in shaping my precious audio.

J. Rio

June 19, 2011

I just love it!
I do mostly rock/metal productions and the Fatso is the best tool to get a heavy/punchy guitar sound!
Amazing!

M. Slater

June 19, 2011

I love this thing. It will add presence to your sound and bring a sound buried into mix up front and in your face. Sounds Brilliant. Legacy - http://soundcloud.com/the-legacy-1

G. Smagorinsky

June 19, 2011

Color, saturation, fatness, more color... This is what my drums had missed until I put FATSO on my bus channel. There is no other such quick and quality possibilities in the digital world today to get this warm analog sound.

J. Vawter

June 18, 2011

I've lived with this plugin for about 2 years now, and I well remember the buzz it generated before its release. Since I was unfamiliar with the hardware, my expectations were not quite as high as some others. The name says "tape simulator", but to my ears it sounds much more like a high-quality analog channel, and when I tried it out I flashed back to when I first went all-digital... "Yay! More control! Less noise! But why is it so darned hard to make tracks sit right??" With the Fatso (and this will sound like marketing hype) it is simply easier to MIX. There I said it. Tracks blend better, yet retain their own space. The 1176-style compressor is awesome. The Tranny rocks, and the Warmth control has saved many harsh tracks. With the release of the Studer, some of the things I use the Fatso for have been superceded, but using them together makes for interesting effects. It's a bit heavy on DSP, that's my only quibble.

S. Overton

June 17, 2011

I don't have an actual Fatso to compare to the plugin version, but if I had a piece of
hardware that sounded as good as this I'd be happy. You can squash with it
or just add a touch for a reel to reel vibe. Very nice indeed.

D. Matkarimov

June 17, 2011

I use a drum group is not always difficult tak.Nemnogo plugin;). If it were possible, I would have changed this plugin. For example Studer ili Moog Filter .

D. Matkarimov

June 17, 2011

I use a drum group. A little complicated plugin;).

J. Milliet

June 17, 2011

Just like the real one, and you'll never have to send it to maintenance!

S. Buchenauer

June 17, 2011

It´s a very strong tool with lots of possibilities to shape your sound. My favourite choice for fatten things up and make them sound aggresive.

P. Shaber

June 17, 2011

This is a great processor for almost anything. Its results often seem very subtle until they are heard "in the mix." After using it on my tracks I can't imagine how lifeless my music used to sound. Tranny and warmth controls give a real essence to guitars, bass, drum overheads and vocals that are difficult to come by unless you are tracking with tape.

W. Clark

June 17, 2011

This is a tricky little monster! The first time I demoed this I didn't know what I was looking for, didn't read the manual and just glossed over the plug, because I was demoing a bunch of plugs at once. It didn't impress me. But as I got towards the end of my production I realized that a couple of tracks (one a hip hop thing, and the other kind of new age) could really use some warmth since they were produced entirely in the digital realm. So I came back to the Fatso, and this time read the manual.
I also watched a video and saw how many different functions are available here. The compression it gives is very musical to my ears. (Don't know how they manage to compress so well without it sounding warped and squashed, but I know its a Very complicated piece of circuitry.) The LEDs that let you know how far your going with processing are extremely helpful.
Its also very versatile on the master buss. It wasn't a very dense mix, so I was able to saturate just the instruments that needed it and it completely removed the digital harshness.
I put it on the master of a ballad and the whole track came to life. It has a very subtle and enriching quality. If you know what you want and what to listen for this might be the most versatile tool you can use.
Makes me want to go out and buy the hardware too!

K. Versteeg

June 17, 2011

Every now and then this plug is my "hero of the day". Especially the warmth function helps out with piercing guitars , cymbals and voices. Compressing and warming up at the same time. Love it!

M. Gray

June 17, 2011

Amazing buss compressor - period. Also great on vocals. Just an amazing piece of software. Probably my favorite plugin.

A. Maskens

June 17, 2011

Well what to say about this plugin? Never used the hardware but I've read lots of peoples reviews that say they cannot tell the difference, and I've seen people say that they got into the UAD system specifically for this emulation! What can I say? It's THAT good! Tons of character, unique, a must have IMHO

M. Alici

June 17, 2011

Would not want to do without this plug-in! Maybe not exactly like the hardware but incredibly handy and makes a huge difference on our mixes. Even use it on the Master:)

C. Mcclymont

June 17, 2011

This is one of my favorite plug-ins, it's so easy to overuse though, I find it most useful on drums.

C. Mccann

June 17, 2011

An excellent plug in that can really thicken and warm the sounds of drums. A little heavy on resources but obviously that's what it takes to emulate the hardware so well. A fair bit cheaper than the real thing with the added bonus of more control!
Cavan McCann Perth Australia

421-440 of 466 Results