FATSO™ Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

FATSO Jr. / Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$119.00

You'll Save 60%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$119.00

You'll Save 60%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

FATSO™ Jr./Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Overall Rating

421-440 of 461 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

G. Smagorinsky

June 19, 2011

Color, saturation, fatness, more color... This is what my drums had missed until I put FATSO on my bus channel. There is no other such quick and quality possibilities in the digital world today to get this warm analog sound.

J. Vawter

June 18, 2011

I've lived with this plugin for about 2 years now, and I well remember the buzz it generated before its release. Since I was unfamiliar with the hardware, my expectations were not quite as high as some others. The name says "tape simulator", but to my ears it sounds much more like a high-quality analog channel, and when I tried it out I flashed back to when I first went all-digital... "Yay! More control! Less noise! But why is it so darned hard to make tracks sit right??" With the Fatso (and this will sound like marketing hype) it is simply easier to MIX. There I said it. Tracks blend better, yet retain their own space. The 1176-style compressor is awesome. The Tranny rocks, and the Warmth control has saved many harsh tracks. With the release of the Studer, some of the things I use the Fatso for have been superceded, but using them together makes for interesting effects. It's a bit heavy on DSP, that's my only quibble.

S. Overton

June 17, 2011

I don't have an actual Fatso to compare to the plugin version, but if I had a piece of
hardware that sounded as good as this I'd be happy. You can squash with it
or just add a touch for a reel to reel vibe. Very nice indeed.

D. Matkarimov

June 17, 2011

I use a drum group is not always difficult tak.Nemnogo plugin;). If it were possible, I would have changed this plugin. For example Studer ili Moog Filter .

D. Matkarimov

June 17, 2011

I use a drum group. A little complicated plugin;).

J. Milliet

June 17, 2011

Just like the real one, and you'll never have to send it to maintenance!

S. Buchenauer

June 17, 2011

It´s a very strong tool with lots of possibilities to shape your sound. My favourite choice for fatten things up and make them sound aggresive.

P. Shaber

June 17, 2011

This is a great processor for almost anything. Its results often seem very subtle until they are heard "in the mix." After using it on my tracks I can't imagine how lifeless my music used to sound. Tranny and warmth controls give a real essence to guitars, bass, drum overheads and vocals that are difficult to come by unless you are tracking with tape.

W. Clark

June 17, 2011

This is a tricky little monster! The first time I demoed this I didn't know what I was looking for, didn't read the manual and just glossed over the plug, because I was demoing a bunch of plugs at once. It didn't impress me. But as I got towards the end of my production I realized that a couple of tracks (one a hip hop thing, and the other kind of new age) could really use some warmth since they were produced entirely in the digital realm. So I came back to the Fatso, and this time read the manual.
I also watched a video and saw how many different functions are available here. The compression it gives is very musical to my ears. (Don't know how they manage to compress so well without it sounding warped and squashed, but I know its a Very complicated piece of circuitry.) The LEDs that let you know how far your going with processing are extremely helpful.
Its also very versatile on the master buss. It wasn't a very dense mix, so I was able to saturate just the instruments that needed it and it completely removed the digital harshness.
I put it on the master of a ballad and the whole track came to life. It has a very subtle and enriching quality. If you know what you want and what to listen for this might be the most versatile tool you can use.
Makes me want to go out and buy the hardware too!

K. Versteeg

June 17, 2011

Every now and then this plug is my "hero of the day". Especially the warmth function helps out with piercing guitars , cymbals and voices. Compressing and warming up at the same time. Love it!

M. Gray

June 17, 2011

Amazing buss compressor - period. Also great on vocals. Just an amazing piece of software. Probably my favorite plugin.

A. Maskens

June 17, 2011

Well what to say about this plugin? Never used the hardware but I've read lots of peoples reviews that say they cannot tell the difference, and I've seen people say that they got into the UAD system specifically for this emulation! What can I say? It's THAT good! Tons of character, unique, a must have IMHO

M. Alici

June 17, 2011

Would not want to do without this plug-in! Maybe not exactly like the hardware but incredibly handy and makes a huge difference on our mixes. Even use it on the Master:)

C. Mcclymont

June 17, 2011

This is one of my favorite plug-ins, it's so easy to overuse though, I find it most useful on drums.

C. Mccann

June 17, 2011

An excellent plug in that can really thicken and warm the sounds of drums. A little heavy on resources but obviously that's what it takes to emulate the hardware so well. A fair bit cheaper than the real thing with the added bonus of more control!
Cavan McCann Perth Australia

C. Papastephanou

June 17, 2011

It sounds so like a real piece of hardware. We can fell the 'analog' thing here, that's amazing. The Fatso is great to beef up bass or drums and I use it all the time.

D. Pratt

June 17, 2011

I run all my vocals through this plugin. I have to render each vocal as it is a hungry plugin but that is quick and easy in Reaper. The result is vocals that sit really well together. I also run parallel comp for bass and drums through this plugin. I smash it till it sounds really unnatural and then just blend it in. It makes drums and bass sit really well together and gives a real depth to the mix.

V. Komarek

June 16, 2011

the best for analog harmonic distortion that realy works.

A. Gosden

June 16, 2011

The Fatso JNR is my go to plugin on the drum buss... Strapped across the drums, it not only controls their dynamics in an incredibly musical way, it just makes the drum kit sound much better overall - bigger & more harmonically complex & rich. I love starting with the "Fat Trans Tape" preset, & then adjust the input & output gains to suit the texture & volume needed for the track. When I need to provide a faux master of a client's track, I love using the Fatso Sr to add some warmth & density to the finished track. The added high pass side chain filter feature is great for getting a track compressed just right without undesireable "pumping" artifacts. The Fatso was the first plugin I purchased when I got my UAD2 card, & I have never regretted it for one second... I use it on every mix I do.

P. Didier

June 16, 2011

Pas évident de s'en servir au premier abord, ça colore beaucoup (comme les vrais), mention spéciale pour le générateur d'harmoniques artificielles !

421-440 of 461 Results