Get 3 months of UAD Spark for 99¢. Extended thru December 31st. Learn More ›

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

Customer Reviews

FATSO™ Jr./Sr. Tape Sim. & Compressor

Overall Rating

1-20 of 481 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 25

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

B. Busch

December 2, 2022

Great, but agree needs a refresh!

I've had a hardware FATSO since about a year after it came out and bought the UAD plug as soon as that came out. The hardware FATSO is sweeter and more squishy or compliant, while the plugin is a bit stiffer and a little smaller sounding. The plug does a decent job getting close, the "Sr" features are great, but it's old and needs a refresh version. I agree with some others that the UAD Distressor is much closer sounding to the hardware, and they could do the same for the FATSO + mix control, more DSP efficient, etc. That said, I still use the plug all the time, it's very good in its own right, and it does have a lot of the fun, vibe and problem solving that the real thing does. It could just be better, knowing how good stuff is sounding all this time after the UAD FATSO first came out.

F. San Filippo

October 14, 2022

Is it a compressor? A tape sim? Half-bird/half-lobster?

I don't know what it is, but I dig it.

A. Schwartz

September 18, 2022

Has A Special “Something”

I used to have a hardware fatso jr. I listened to acoustic guitar tracks I’d done with it, & bought the UAD version. Sounds great. Warm, fat, sweet compression that I haven’t gotten from anything else.

G. Fricke

September 9, 2022

G. Fricke

A must in the signal chain. It really improves vocals.

T. Basso

August 30, 2022

Great plugin

Congratulations for the excellent work

F. Maraschin

August 23, 2022

The best

Perfect plugin, sound amazing but needs a graphic update in order to enlarge the window

M. Hui

July 30, 2022

Great Plugin

Really adds a warmth.

A. Smith

July 28, 2022

Great on drums

Mainly bought this to add fatness to my drums, would recommend!

I. Kravchenko

July 14, 2022

Excellent!

I didn't realize I needed it. I use it whenever I want to fatten up any source or bus. I use it both to add saturation, and also as a compressor. Love it.

F. Guerrero Miranda

June 22, 2022

Fatso Excellent


A great complement to give a great color to the tracks.

J. Manness

June 14, 2022

Incredible tone!

I tried a real FATSO at NAMM and the tone it adds to any source or mix is incredible. I do hope UA updates the plugin like they did with the Distressor, but don't let that stop you from using this while tracking or throwing on an entire mix.

M. Sääf

April 27, 2022

Best crush plugin!

After seen Vance Powell and Scheps use this I finally got to try it out myself, now I can't stop using it!

M. J

April 18, 2022

Fat Indeed

Great on low end material. Appreciate software only addition. Essential

V. Baranov

February 17, 2022

SUPER FATSO

If you want to highlight vocals or drums, then FATSO is the best plugin!!! I recommend it!

e. tiberi

February 8, 2022

Sounds exactly how it should

Everything sounds better with a lil fatso on top

J. Morrison

January 13, 2022

Fat!

Does what it says on the tin, makes stuff fatter! Awesome!

D. Chin-Sang

December 27, 2021

FATSO

Not as close as the distressor is to the real thing but still pretty good. Can’t go wrong with Empirical Labs emulations from UAD.

J. Pevar

December 20, 2021

Review

Fat!!! Wahoo! Every time I get a new UAD plug it’s my current favorite! The hits just keep on coming!

J. Neves

December 17, 2021

Very DSP Hungry.....

...specially on stereo track but worth every penny nonetheless! What a great plugin this is, very unique sounding.

h. ilhan

December 11, 2021

fixer

a must have plugin for any amp simulater or harsh material

1-20 of 481 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 25