Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Overall Rating

221-240 of 257 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

W. Bolton

January 10, 2015

manley vari mu

sounds lovely across the mix bus, glues everything together nicely and sounds lush even without compression.

R. Patel

January 7, 2015

Audio Super Glue - Big, wide and open sound with a great midrange bite!

Having enjoyed using the amazing UAD Massive Passive EQ for the past few years, I was really looking forward to the Vari-Mu plugin, and UAD did a great job indeed. I own a nice selection of high end outboard gear which includes some mix bus compressors that I love using for that final analog stamp, especially on ITB mixes. Plugin compressors are getting better and better each year, and many of the popular ones available do a fine job with bus compression duties and provide a good amount of cohesion to a mix. However, most plugin compressors still seem to lack the punch, width and three dimensional quality of good old analog compressors. This UAD Manley Vari Mu sets the new bench mark for ITB compression!

P. Broman

January 6, 2015

Great Plugin!

It's transparent and "level forgiving" in a way I've never experienced before. It makes the mix sound expensive. I'm soooo pleased with this one!

S. Gilroy

January 3, 2015

Bout Time

I seriously hate compression. I guess the perfect mix would need no compression.
Most samples nowadays come mastered and rock and metal guitars need no compression. Other than channel strips, the only compressors I need are the neve 33609, fatso and this vari-mu (and precision series) I can't stand 1176, any story you have heard about how great this compressor is is false, their 1176's are completely modded to their specs. Same thing with the Fairchild and Pultecs. You will never get THE sound you want without spending$$$$. I trust Manley products and own their hardware. You won't be sorry. Vintage gear is well,vintage. Manley products are like the next generation, not exactly better but more refined.

S. Gallego

December 30, 2014

FEEL IT!!

The best I can say about the Vari Mu plug-in what I feel when I try the demo version, the same I feel when I try for the Vari Mu hardware years ago, a stupid smile in face. This plug-in is fantastic for the price I paid for it. 10/10.

L. Berrios

December 30, 2014

Without Character

Unfortunately one of the UAD plugins that I have to write a negative feedback. Universal need to do a better job with the next update and improve this one. Is missing the warm and character that made so popular the original Manley Variable MU..a shame.

D. Thum

December 29, 2014

Manley Variable Mu® Limiter Compressor Plug-In

Been using it on the 2bus for orchestral mixdowns and it is mostly transparent. In other words, it keeps your mix dynamics intact if dialed in carefully. The colorations are positive ones (to my ears a richness in the low mids). You can crank up the input for a saturated sound of course, but then I'd usually be reaching for my UBK-1.

Y. Harvey

December 28, 2014

very, very nice.

Very Nice. I demo'd and purchased same day - it's a must have for me. It's one of those plugs that makes you forget you are in the box. It has depth and breathes. Great plug. Love It.

R. Harris

December 27, 2014

Outstanding!

Just received my first UAD Octo card. This was one of my first purchased plug ins. Strapped it across my master buss and bang all the bottom end tightened up and turned the dial up to 11 on the quality of the overall sound of the mix. Easy to dial in too. Just love this plug in!!

B. Luyben

December 26, 2014

I can't compare it to the hardware but love it already big time

Like the m/s and wet/dry feature and overall glue and cohesionit delivers. No more New York compression thru extra busses with time consuming phase issues to solve or counterintuitive work arounds.
this mu will sit on most busses to glue or to compress NY style. 2 octo cards give me plenty of power to work with manley massive passives and mu's on al busses even channels when needed.

H. Zwarts

December 14, 2014

insane tube dynamic processor

Love the sound en the depth of this plug in.
It's not sounding over compressed and really giving you that depth you get from
real analog hardware.

G. Barlow

December 14, 2014

Manley

Over the used Ive owned most manley products,
Their quality is quite remarkable, build is robust and most of all they sound really superb

So as a mobile song writer I've been dying for some kind of virtual equivalent
Thank you uAD !
I need to add that this plug in is quite different from the hardware,
Having said that the smooth, wide colour and tone of Manley are all present !
Use it every day !!

x

S. Brown

December 12, 2014

soft subtle and essential

great for bus and master.. does exactly what I wanted it to do - perfect!

R. Jackson

December 11, 2014

Really Close To Real

I am fortunate enought to be able to work with the original VariMu on a daily basis. This plug is SCARY good. When you factor in the price, this is a no brainer. The settings react the same, the tonal signature is there...just really solid.

Y. Chistyakov

December 11, 2014

Manley Variable Mu

interesting version of Manly. Works very well. extensive customization options. including limiter and ballance between the effect and the direct sound. good at mastering too. I also enjoy. Thank you UA

K. Ishikawa

December 10, 2014

far from the oriiginal

this is way far from the original one. since I've using the hardware unit 8 years. and there are not the mix using vary mu. I was expecting this could be the good replacement. but it is nothing like the real one. i can not even use as the placement when i really need that sound.

B. Prosko

December 10, 2014

Great Job!

After doing a shoot out of all my Buss Compressors the Manley clearly had something different to offer that i didn't hear in the others. The smooth transparency of it made it a instant go to and is currently sitting on all my mixes. Thx for the great product once again!!

B. Berkovic

December 9, 2014

Great

Hi Uad Team,Big Thank You for such a great emulations.

M. T

December 8, 2014

Sounds Like it Looks "Flat"

The front of this plugin looks great:)

Unfortunately you can't see the sides, the top or the back
of the unit.... and that's exactly how it sounds:
"Flat"
It seems like they wanted to make sure this one was out in
time for the holidays..
Maybe they'll be an update after they make enough money?

D. Powell

December 7, 2014

great, like the hardware

I've used the hardware version on many projects.... the two heaviest engineers I know in Nashville have it on their mix buss all the time. The UAD version made me smile as I watched that needle do about 2-4 dB of compression and add the same kind of magic glue. One of my friends who has a real one in town has issues with one side not being as hot as the other..... which you can make work.... but with the software version of course you have flawlessness and the cream of the crop, and other options, like the sidechain and the m/s feature. It's just great.... if you want a buss compressor that isn't neutral but isn't overly dark or overly warm either, this is for you......

221-240 of 257 Results