Neve® 88RSTM Channel Strip Collection

Neve® 88RSTM Channel Strip Collection

Unison Enabled

$299.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

$299.00

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Neve 88RS Channel Strip Collection

Overall Rating

421-440 of 450 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

T. Stefiuk

May 18, 2015

Great plugin, almost as good as the real deal.

This is an excellent offering from UA. The filters in the new plugin are more like the real thing.I love how tech keeps getting better every year.The sound the plugin imparts is a bit more dimensional than the old plugin, the bottom is heaps better and the dynamics section is solid.
To all the fine people whinging about the price of the upgrade I say welcome to Capitalism.UA is here to make money & not give stuff away.The plug uses more DSP so you will need to buy the Octo.UA has planned this as an upgrade/ profit path for a few years now. Remember when the new plugs came out a few years ago at the same time as the Octo.They sounded better but DSP went up.I like what UA does but I'm sure they do not need DSP cards to do what they do today.

M. Benedetto

May 17, 2015

One of the best so far!

This plug-in is by far one of the best so far, I own most of the plugins and the UA platform is the best in the business hands down. The EQ on the 88RS are smooth and musical. The folks at UA nailed this one.

For those giving it a one and two start ratings, just because you buy something once does not mean you are entitled to free upgrades for life. You Mac or PC's are not free upgrades. UA needs to be profitable to continue to build the amazing hardware and the plugins. When you upgrade your software or when you purchase plugins do you completely remix all of your customer songs for free? Why not? Exactly why UA cannot give you the plugs for free!

M. Niemczyk

May 17, 2015

its a revelation

I needed a channel strip with good preamp and was thinking about the API. But than UAD come up with this new version of Nave and i gave it a try. Ohm man, this plug is a revelation. I find myself loading old recodirngs we made in a basement of house during the studies. They was made quite ok, but never sounded that way. Its phenomena to have a possibility to mix on a 1Mio $ Desk. Well ist certainly not cheap, but compared to the original its relative. Its certanly needs a lot of DSP, but if there will be a way to provide that sound with less than all the other plugs would have to explain them self and their needs. However, after getting Lexicon 244, the Struder and the Fairchild in the first run. This one and the Vertigo VSM-3 are next!

S. Laurendeau

May 17, 2015

Natural selection

This new plug-ins has Unison technology inside, the legacy version doesn't. For that alone, it worth it to me. To all of you guys who complain, go buy some Waves, they have a nice looking interface and they sell them for cheap (and still sound the same as 10 years ago). If you dont want to spend $149 for this plug-ins upgrade, there is other companies selling plug-ins, so go buy those. Of course,UA are getting more expensive because they are getting better. It's still a deal if you ever bought hardware and A/B with UAD plugs.

J. Lawrence

May 16, 2015

It really is a lot better

I too am really quite frustrated at having to pay $150 for an upgrade and do wish that UA was a bit more merciful with their customers regarding this.

But that said, the quality of this new plugin is incredible. I have been AB-ing it on a master channel with the old plugin using the exact settings and the difference really is night and day. The old Neve 88RS (now Legacy) really sounds flat, muddy and lifeless compared to the new one.

The new 88RS plug-in has a clarity to it that is outstanding. The EQ brings out a pristine quality to the sound and a presence that the old plug-in just can't match and I even detected a more pleasant dynamic range let through.

Note: the new plug now uses 12% of DSP resources on a UAD-2 quad.

D. Kayser

May 14, 2015

Golden

They really delivered on this one. Even though I have the legacy version after demo'ing this I purchased it right away. Sounds great!!

M. Penn

May 14, 2015

5 Stars!! The Best Channel Strip Period So Far!!

Universal Audio Deserves the Price for this Update and with Preamp.. You wouldn't be able to get this sound probably under a $1000 with the functionality. So $299-$149 is worth it and what i will do with yours and my mix..

Definitely Buying this shortly!!!

Thanks UA Please release the SSL Channel Strip NEXT !!

Thanks ;-)

a. morgan

May 14, 2015

Pricing:)

I have the legacy version but when I go to buy the new one it charges me full price... any ideas?
Kindly, Anton.

A. Smith

May 14, 2015

This is the truth!!!!

This plugin is superior!! The sound quality and new layout is perfect!! I've only used this on vocals so my opinion may be a bit shallow, but what this does and how easy it does it!!! PERFECT. I was initially disappointed with the price because I have the legacy version, but after hearing the two, the price is justified, and I didn't loose my other plugin! UAD Keep the plugins coming!!

M. Ballenger

May 14, 2015

Costly in $$$ and DSP

5 stars for sound quality, -3 stars for upgrade pricing and DSP usage. $150 is a steep upgrade considering I paid $300 for this channel strip originally. I might be able to stomach it by waiting for coupons and sales throughout the year, BUT considering I can run a max of 16 instances on an OCTO card makes this too costly on my UAD hardware as well. There should be a way of saving unison resources for those of us running PCI-E or thunderbolt satellite rigs without the Apollo pres. It's getting harder to justify the cost (both upgrade and additional hardware to be able to run enough instances to be useful) when other options are becoming more attractive all the time.

M. Mekonen

May 13, 2015

my thoughts exactly

i read almost all the bad or low star reviews, all of which say plug-in sounds great! but price suck...plug-in sounds great! price suck....etc.
Look, the review page is for how the plug-in sounds and fits into ur work flow. Does it sound like garbage, does it sound like neve gold... get it, got it Good. keep'em coming UA, awesome work. O yeah the neve 88 sounds great....Lol. No really it does. on Hip Hop VOX...A+

C. Frazier

May 13, 2015

I'm really sad about this.

all these plug ins are great, but you can only use them 1or 2 times. feels like I wasted money buying this hardware.

T. Hoogland

May 12, 2015

The best channel strip

After getting over multiple plugin instances and separate processes, I decided to try find a good overall channel strip to help simplify workflow. I was certain after tirelessly trying the API Vision, SSL, 88RS legacy and all the other big player channel strips (or things that combine to make one) the past couple of months that the API would be it and then this came along. In terms of overall quality, both sonically and features, this plugin kind of leaves everything I tried for dust. The bottom end doesn't loosen up when making excessive boosts, the mid range isn't harsh and the top end makes you feel like you're boosting off tape. The option to select line amp and mic is also something I dig quite a lot. Only bad thing is it's DSP heavy.

H. Petersson

May 12, 2015

A bit of balance

I am throwing in a five star rating here to balance things up a bit.
Some people think it's unfair of UA to charge halt the list price for an update. I think it's unfair to give this excellent plugin one star because of that.

If you bought the original version and thought it was worth the money then be happy with that purchase. The new version is a new plugin all together, rebuilt from ground up which I'm sure took a lot of effort. It's not a minor update. If you don't think it's worth the upgrade price (which is perfectly understandable) then you don't need to pay it. It's not as if your current version will stop functioning. Take one star off the review for high pricing, but to give it one star is just as unfair.

H. Petersson

May 12, 2015

A bit of balance

I am throwing in a five star rating here to balance things up a bit.
Some people think it's unfair of UA to charge halt the list price for an update. I think it's unfair to give this excellent plugin one star because of that.

If you bought the original version and thought it was worth the money then be happy with that purchase. The new version is a new plugin all together, rebuilt from ground up which I'm sure took a lot of effort. It's not a minor update. If you don't think it's worth the upgrade price (which is perfectly understandable) then you don't need to pay it. It's not as if your current version will stop functioning. Take one star off the review for high pricing, but to give it one star is just as unfair.

H. Petersson

May 12, 2015

Excellent plugin but high DSP usage

This is an excellent plugin. One of UAs best work to date. The input stage is clean, accurate and warm. Great sounding filters and EQ. Perfectly usable compressor and gate. All in all it sounds fantastic, and there is very little that can match it in terms of quality.

The only thing that takes away one star is the DSP consumption which is a bit too high to make this really usable as a mixing plugin unless you have at least two octos. It is twice the API Vision strip.
It would not have been a problem is DSP was cheaper, but this is beyond the budget of many users.
If there was a way to bypass the input stage to save some DSP it would make it a little bit more usable.

N. Wilkes

May 11, 2015

A stunning facelift - pure Neve goodness

Don't believe the hype on this one - grab it and hear it for yourself.
Of all thew Mk II versions released so far this one for me is the winner, and the 88RS now sounds like the board it is modelled from. I like the GUI redesign (signal flow is now more intuitive) and the tweaks done under the hood have really made this strip into something special and very usable on a lot of things - it sounds equally fantastic on Bass, Piano, Vocals & Guitars. My only gripe is the lack of an input meter (and you should be aware the output meter is post VCA but Pre-output dial). The compressor no longer seems to snatch at the audio in that SSL manner, and the EQ is so musical it's a joy.
An excellent upgrade & highly recommended to all Neve lovers

c. may

May 10, 2015

Simply ... Wow!!

I have never written a UAD review. AND The last thing I needed to do was buy another UAD plug – meaning, I have most of them. And considering I have the original and almost never used it, why again? Well, this plug beat nearly every plug-in in shoot-outs I staged with previous mixes – meaning, where I might have placed 2-3 plugs in concert, the 88RS – hands down – took the prize. This emulation is the very manifestation of the reason I invested in this platform in the beginning. This plug is the most amazing thing I have ever worked with. Kudos to the entire team behind it. The UAD 88RS is amazing! And if you are staiil standing in the wings

j. york

May 9, 2015

New 88r is too expensive and too dsp heavy...

The "legacy" neve 88rs plugin is my go to , most useful, plug in. I could mix an entire record with just that one plugin since it does it all- eq, comp, gate, gain. In fact, all of my mixes are based off this - then sometimes I add a specific comp- either an 1176 or a LA2A here and there for specific favor- maybe a pultec EQ if I need that flavor, but the foundation on track after track is the 88r. Now we've got this new version. It's supposed to be "better" - but the great thing about the "legacy" is that it uses little dsp yet sounds good. This new one uses 40%! You can't load that on every track in your mix - you're going to have to use it only here and there, and to my mind that's not what a bread and butter eq/ comp is for! Not buying!

I. Kiyashko

May 8, 2015

THE go-to plugin from now on

I tried every UAD channel strip, but this is by far the best. The sound you get from this resembles real analog so much more! I have been trying to get a decent plugin chain for my U47 voice recordings, previously stopped at using the Summit compressor. BUT when I put this one on - I was amazed. Neve has one of the best software compressors ever and an amazingly fat, but transparent & musical EQ. As far as ITB mixing goes, I think that for now this is as close as emulating analog goes. This will be used on every channel from now on. Hands down, it kills any other console channel strips with ease. Oh, and try doing some filtering / correction with Oxford EQ after this and you will be impressed ;-))

421-440 of 450 Results