Free UAD Plug-ins with Every Apollo Purchase!

Save $300 on UAD Accelerators through 12/31! Find a dealer ›

Get up to 70% savings on UAD plug-ins storewide! Shop 12 Days of UAD ›

Hello world 4!

Hello world 5!

Shop huge storewide savings on UAD plug-ins. Ends 6/30. Shop Now ›

Shop Holiday Deals on UAD Spark. See My Offers ›

With Hemisphere Mic Modeling

Customer Reviews

SP-1 Standard Pencil Microphones

Overall Rating

11 Item(s)

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Fagnoul

April 8, 2024

Stereo pair ? ?

Yes Stereo pair and matched pair ? ? ?
That's All Folks . . .

O. Garrell Ferrando

March 18, 2024

Sound good, but too noisy

These mics sound great, they look really cool and if you are going to record loud sounds as drums, guitar amps, loud acoustics, orchestra, etc. they will work fine. In my case, I'm currently using them to record acoustic guitar picking, upright piano and other acoustic instruments. If you need to record very intimate performances, forget about these because the amount of noise they make will mess your recordings up, unless you are searching for this "hiss" effect.

Good microphones overall, they are just not made for quiet performances.

D. Frankhuizen

January 21, 2024

Good sounding mics, just need a little overhaul (noisy noisy noise)

I have to use extremely high quality cables (equal to the mic value) when working with these mics as they are so fussy and noisy. When they are working and the sound is clean, they are great.

J. Persson

October 5, 2023

Sp1, both faulty when delivered brand new

A disappointing first impression of these mics. The quality control isn’t what I expect from UA. I use several of their various units, digital and analogue, and am otherwise very happy with those. Regarding the mics, one was profoundly noisy and scratchy and on the other the XLR connection didn’t want to latch even under force, so these have gone back and it’s unlikely I’ll get another pair as I feel I don’t have much trust in their construction.

A. Holbert

June 1, 2023

These Mic's are incredible

You can find this quality of Pencil Mic's for This price! They sound amazing!

B. Sattler

February 15, 2023

For the price I love them

I'm changing my review to 5 star as my Sp-1s were faulty and replaced. I just got done testing them on several different acoustic guitars and they sounded great. Even using just 1 of these to mic an acoustic sounded brilliant. My ear isn't as trained as many here but what I hear I loved.

B. Sattler

February 14, 2023

Tentative 3 star

I just spent 1 hour with a new pair of these and they are picking up an extreme amount of noise even when the preamp is at 0%. The noise isn't similar as one of the pencil mics is picking up 3 times more than the other one. My studio is treated and these is nothing that a microphone can pick up. I've changed out the cables to several different brands and used two different apollos (the X8 and the MKII) and the issue is on both. I've even plugged in other highly sensitive condenser microphones which are working perfectly. I'll change my review once I hear back and if mine are just faulty.

P. Angulo

January 10, 2023

New overhead mics!

I just swapped my large condenser mics to the SP-1's and I'm so happy I did, normally I prefer large capsules but these sound amazing. Can't wait to try it on other instruments!

M. Frey

October 1, 2022

Clear, detailed, neutral sound.

Exactly what I want in an SDC—playback sounds like what I was hearing in the room!

f. znr

August 12, 2022

measurements

Unfortunately, there are no usable data sheets or diagrams on the frequency response or directionality of the microphones. Information that should be expected even in this price range.
UA should definitely provide a reasonable datasheet here as soon as possible.

N. MARTINI

July 20, 2022

cif yo

Better than Neumann Km184? How many kilotons? No Lab? wtf?

11 Item(s)