UAD Spark: Get 20+ of the best UAD plug-ins for a low monthly price. Learn More ›

Customer Reviews

Volt 2

Overall Rating

1-20 of 50 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

A. Marangoni

January 31, 2023

excellent price quality

Excellent product quality price, the best in its category. The inside vintage compressor is powerfull, great sound quality and sturdy case.

G. Thomas

January 15, 2023

This thing sounds great! (with a few complaints)

I needed a stereo interface and didn't have much money. I was just about to go for the Scarlet 2i2 until I discovered the Volt 2. I listened to a lot of comparisons between the two and the Volt was the clear winner. It's about $20 more, but well worth it!

I use it for tape and vinyl record transfers, and as a better playback DAC. The Volt 2 sounds great, and essentially flat to about 18,000 kHz. It's dead silent and has a very low noise floor and great decibel range. What else can I say except that everything sounds correct! Absolutely perfect for my needs. There's the Apollo class converters, but, why this little powerhouse isn't billed as professional is beyond me. It sounds like it. It has a wonderful analog sound.

My only problems with it is that the line out monitor gain is quite low, and, though I installed the AISO drivers, I can't seem to use them in my Windows 10 computer with any of my software or playback apps. And, I can't get it to record at anything higher than 44.1 no matter how many system settings I change. I can playback with anything, but the only program I can get to record with it is Sound Forge. It's a hassle to record everything in SF and import to iZotope RX, my preferred DAW. Also, the meters are useless.

I don't need the bundled software, and their implementation of the iLock system is aggravating. I don't really need the vintage modes, as I haven't found any use for it yet.

I have seen complaints about RF noise from a couple of people, but my unit is dead silent and tests as advertised on my gear.

But, the bottom line is that it sounds great and was money well-spent.

S. Vandekerckhove

January 13, 2023

Almost perfect, but some comments out of love

I'm an absolute novice, so the target audience for this device. It does look good, you can plug in instruments and use it for output. The vintage and instrument button change the guitar sound, which is nice. The small LED meters work just fine.

Still two things bother me and should be reconsidered:

1. The software is terrible: Ableton crashes often on a MBA M1, and there are too many VSTs included with a cumbersome installation process and taking up all your disk space - plus the user experience with those virtual knobs is terrible. I was simply looking for good piano samples, but no luck! Complicated synths and funky bass yes, but if you want clean sounds, it's not included or maybe I just don't find it between the junk.

2. I bought the Studio Pack at a discount, which was really good value. The mic and headphones included are perfect to get started. However: there is no information about their specs anywhere. Considering the resemblance to the 80 USD Mackie EM91C microphone and 30 USD MC100 heaphones, you basically pay the full price for unspecified extras you could have bought separately, and that should just have been spelled out.

If you have such a neat device, why trouble the experience by overdosing plugins, bad software and adding unbranded extras? A bit more Apple-logic, keeping it simple and clean, so that it "just works", would make the Volt 2 perfect.

A. Resuli

January 13, 2023

Not impressed- please read for details

First I want to say the UA name holds a lot of weight. Their Apollo line is the industry standard for a reason. And so for a lower entry interface, you would think the quality would stay consistent.

Let me break down the 3 things that just aren’t good.

1. Noise floor and meters. The noise floor at this price point is quite loud compared to lesser values models in the market. You can hear it, especially when you haven’t dialled in your meters right. The meters suck. The little led light is not enough to see your levels and combine the monitor colouring, it’s not great.

2. Price. It makes no sense. Again, the name- the hardware doesn’t stack well. You don’t get a hardware dsp in this model and the elusive specs don’t highlight this very well. Running UAD plugins will not work with this.

3. The software. The included software bundles you get are nice- but UA connect and its existence is total bloatware and annoying. It opens everytime you open your daw and use an included plugin (promo ones) but it’s not validating anything. With the internet off, it just auto opens and doesn’t give errors. Deleting it has no effect on the plugins. Again I’ll go back to the lack of a dsp, because the spec sheet doesn’t do a good job at saying, “hey, this is a UA interface, but you still can’t use UAD plugins with it”. To an outsider, super confusing.

Overall 2/5

If you see this review , that’s atleast a good sign they’re not suppressing negative ones and that’s a plus.

P. Wehby

January 9, 2023

A great start

Keeping it simple works well, this box is pretty easy to understand even if your not a pro, and seems to just plug and play on a mac, without much fuss. Yes the headphone is a tad loud, but it's also ten times clearer than the audio out from a mac, which I never knew.

G. Rogers

January 7, 2023

Fine

It's a fine little interface but I'm not wowed by it. The vintage mode is really poor and I can't ever imagine making use of it. Drivers really do not work smoothly on a Windows laptop.

A. Urazgulov

January 1, 2023

Will be waiting for a rev2

A nice attempt to enter the low-budget market. I love the meters, design, and metal finish, overall it doesn't look or feel cheap, and the software selection it comes with is just perfect. A complete beginner can start making music having only this and a laptop. It would be a perfect entry-level product that gives access to professional sound.
I have two significant issues with it that for some may ruin the whole experience:
The amount of RF noise it picks up is insane. I can't believe this product has made it through tests, and UA sells it. The worst thing is that the noise is present in the outputs and gets recorded. Take your cellular phone far away from it.
The headphone output is too loud, and its knob is too sensitive. When the DAW output is around -6 dBfs, I usually turn the output down to a comfortable volume. In this device the right ear signal cuts off, and you have to change the volume digitally in the DAW to avoid that.

M. Nicholson

January 1, 2023

Analog Warmth

Love the preamp on this thing. It really brings some color and some warmth to my instrument and vocal parts. It has def upgraded my game with better quality sound. Love it so far.

J. FN

December 5, 2022

Genius little interface for iPad!

Bought this to use with my iPad Air M1, and it's a perfect match - Small enough to just plug in wherever whenever, and with both features and sound quality enough to make great recordings!

B. Guilford

November 21, 2022

Who knows? Still trying to get it to work with Windows 11

Maybe someday, with enough hours, with more patience. Maybe I need a PhD in computer science, not just the masters I have. I think I'll try my wife's Mac.

K. Baugerud

November 18, 2022

Great stuff!

This is my first time using an audio interface, and i would consider myself a novice within the field of digital audio. The Volt was super easy to setup, and my guitar sounds awesome both through headphones and monitors!

s. kessels

October 24, 2022

Sounds GREAT!!

For a portable interface I chose the Volt 2 and I was very happy with the promotional plugins (plate reverb and LA-2A set)! I've used a Solo 610 mic pre/D.I. and I get what they're going for...works nicely but I ain't sellin' the real tube preamp. Great tonal option though (more sparkle and grit for acoustic guitar and D.I. bass). But for my vocals the 'vintage' adds to much emphasis on certain consonants. So for final vocal tracking I'll reach for the actual 610 pre. But I'm quite pleased with the sound of this compact unit! Sounds i.m.h.o. more solid and inspiring than the UR-RT2 (which does have some nice DSP features that are quite useful in my home recording setup) this unit adds two great preamps to that interface ;-) hopefully future drivers and firmware can improve the latency performance

L. Sonary

October 18, 2022

Don't you dare underestimate it!

Really Don't Cause it's up for your challenge.

N. Watson

September 22, 2022

Very good

Currently use it standalone as a preamp for my turntable. Looks good, sounds as you would expect from UA and haven't had an issue with it. I own an apollo x4 as well so this is my 2nd UA interface.

I. Estrada

September 19, 2022

The Best!

I'm so happy with this interface, is one of the best that I tried. actually, I still have one Focusrite, but this Volt interface is to much better. Thank you UA to make this incredible interefaces.

B. Massy

September 18, 2022

Good Windows integration, good sound but complicated satellite software

The module installs like a charm. The sound is excellent. It's what you'd expect from this device and it delivers the goods. On the other hand, the third-party software offered is difficult to obtain and it's a maze of account creation, promo codes, passwords.... It never ends. Do not get this article for third party software!

m. czaja

September 17, 2022

BYE BYE SCARLLET 2i2! LOL

The Volt Is Louder, Clearer And Down Right Has A Much Cooler Name And Did I Mention That Its Better Looking?! Lol... Seriously Hands Down Thee Best Interface Ive ever Used And Owned! Peace.

UAD User

September 14, 2022

Best interface for the price!

Coming from having had an Apollo Twin Duo and now owning a Volt, I can for sure say that UA definitely makes the best things! I enjoy the suttle yet beautiful saturation from the pres in Vintage mode as well as the power it has to not only record on my DAW but to have almost zero latency when I use it on Zoom calls. It’s a MUST for the price

r. solidee

September 3, 2022

Mic Pre and UA Signature Sound

above all my expectation rested in preserving the audio quality that UA offers and the Volt audio interface affords me such, the analog feel of the UA signature provides effortless recording session and playback. the mic pre sounds great and this is a major take away in the assessment of the volt, also the stand alone power source adds tremendous value. again, this is amazing and am looking forward to upgrades and new integrated gear.

J. Koziol-Repia

September 1, 2022

Amazing

I brought this as UA was just released in NZ. Out of the box with the microphone and headset, it is amazing! One thing I would say to UA is to upsell the mic and headphones. They are very clear and the headphones are comfortable and the mic sounds so crisp and smooth with Vintage mode on. 100% will buy another one for my second set-up. Good work UA for making a great entry level offering.

1-20 of 50 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3