6176 Vintage Channel Strip

6176 Vintage Channel Strip

Customer Reviews

6176

Overall Rating

1-20 of 86 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

M. Fulwider

June 13, 2014

Link in the chain.

I have had my 6176 for 7 or 8 years now. I wanted to buy a chain of components that would create the widest range of popular sonic reproduction I could; based on the recording history of the music I am most passion about. The products I choose for my recording chain are:

Neumann U87 AI Large Diaphragm Condenser Mic

Universal Audio 6176 Channel Strip

RME Fireface 800 Audio Interface (use optic throughout)

RME HDSP 9652 52-Channel 24-Bit/96kHz PCI card

I Run Digital Performer (Now on a PC)

I write on a Yamaha XS 88 KEY Workstation

Hear my words...

I have never regretted my purchase of any component listed. The 6176 is everything I hoped it would be as a signature link in my recording chain.

UAD User

November 24, 2013

Like opening a window

Picked my first UA product up less than a month ago, I had been paying down on the Layaway balance for months.I would come to the store, have them pull the box out of the back, sing my preamp a song, wrote poems to it, bought it a steak. The usual infatuation and blush. Yadda yadda. Thoroughly enjoying this latest addition to my humble recording setup now, and can hardly wait to lure prospective artists to perform for it. In other words, having a blast. If you've had trouble in the past discerning the differences in your microphones, the 6176 will put all ambiguities to rest. The nuances of each mic stand out like a color for your sonic palette.

M. Tahirovic

August 5, 2013

Little Beast

This channel strip is an absolute solution for recording vocals, el. guitars, bass, etc. In my home studio the 6176 plays a key role when it comes to input signals. In combination with some of the UAD-2 power plug-ins (Manley MP, LA2A, etc.), this channel strip provides amazing results! A definite recommendation for future users.

Without exaggeration, Universal Audio solutions like the 6176 Vintage Channel Strip make life easier :)

Best Regards,

Mirza

P. Stephan

November 1, 2011

This Channel Strip is amazing! Its extremely versatile and sounds incredible. I was able to achieve any sound that I could think of just by tweaking the gain stage and the EQ. The EQ sounds really musical and even though the parameters are limited I couldn't ask for more during recording. What I also really like to do is use the preamp in a mixdown situation to give certain instruments (synths, samples...) that lack warmth, a little bit of life.

The 1176 style compressor sounds just like the 1176 only more transparent and a little more modern. I have used the original 1176 and I must say that I can't say which version I like better (6176 or 1176).

Overall I have to say that this is the most impressive Unit that I have come across. I have tried a lot of preamps and channelstrips (Neve, SSL, Mindprint...) and eventhough Neve and SSL sound amazing the 6176 is a perfect combination of great sound and high usability. It will always have a spot in my rack!

K. Browne

June 18, 2011

The 610 is a huge sounding pre. If not driven hard it is clean and sparkly, but crank it and it is easily pushed into a musical distortion.
For me this has been a blessing and a curse as being mainly a media composer I
spend most of the time recording myself. This means that I end up having to set the sound using headphones and I have had quite a few mishaps. The good news is that most mistakes have been happy ones with distorted electric guitar being the only thing that doesnt take well to a bit of drive from the pre.
The other problem I have had is that my vocal mic is an SE Gemini which is a valve driven beast that is much more suited to a cleaner pre as there is too much harmonic distortion going on with the 610. The tops become a bit out of control and I have to insert an EQ to calm it down.
It is nice to be able to use the pre and comp independently
The 1176 is a must have. The only drawback of it being matched with the 610 is that
they are both capable of creating a lot of dirt,so things can get a bit out of hand if you
are not paying proper attention.
Overall though I love it and have hopefully got another one on the way.
Now I know not to over valve the chain and watch the gain,everything comes out sounding great

R. Wheelock

June 17, 2011

The preamp is quite good for female voices, specially jazz singers. The compressor part has low noise but lacks a bit of the character from the original Urei units.

A. Cannon

August 14, 2015

Apollo 8 Thunderbolt

Not a bad unit especially if you know what you are doing
and know the sound your looking for.

R. Chirinos

March 3, 2018

6176

Someone please help me or send a video to how hook up my 6176 behind Apollo 8 Guitar Center say one thing and Sweetwater say different thing I can't take anymore

R. Chirinos

February 16, 2018

6176 Vintage Channel Strip

Definitely this is the best decision to buy 6176 Hardware everything is just easy and beautiful color, thank you UA for that great Ideas to creates great product

t. samuel

February 12, 2018

nice one

the next level for my recording setup..

M. Brisset

January 30, 2018

Great Tone

Great tone, beautiful piece of gear

A. Naceta-Susic

January 25, 2018

6176 Vintage it is..

This is my second 6176, so that should say it all. I like this combination a lot.
For guitar and vocals it gives me the silky sheen I was always looking for.
Using "only" a Rode NT1A modded with the RK47 capsule and getting
a Brauner Phantera in addition. I also will try the 1176SA stereo link - just for the Colour of this channel strip (1176's) also on the 2Bus. Get one as early as possible it's worth !

A. Naceta-Susic

January 11, 2018

Warm, pristine and with very high resolution

Just got my 6176 today, using it on my project for acoustic guitar/vocals and I was truly blown away. For me the best sound is without the 1176LN but it is great you can split or join as you like and I will use the 1176 later as insert. Sweet that we can do so!
The EQ section is just perfect for me, smart choice of frequencies.
I need to get a second one for sure!
Now I can hear so much more precise using my Focal Alpha 80 / Yamaha MSP 5 speaker combination. It is all about opinions, and for me that is my match!

A. Naceta-Susic

January 11, 2018

Warm, pristine and very high resolution Pre-Amp

Just got my 6176 today, using it on my project for acoustic guitar/vocals and I was truly blown away. For me the best sound is without the 1176LN but it is great you can split or join as you like and I will use the 1176 later as insert. Sweet that we can do so!
The EQ section is just perfect for me, smart choice of frequencies.
I need to get a second one for sure!
Now I can hear so much more precise using my Focal Alpha 80 / Yamaha MSP 5 speaker combination. It is all about opinions, and for me that is my match!

F. Fiore

November 9, 2017

Great warm tube sound

Sounds flawless it's preamp and compressor in one machine really the right choice. It will be better If I could find still the LA 2 A Compressor not as plug in but the true device. Thanks uaudio

J. Harris

November 4, 2017

6176

Adding the 6176 channel strip gave me a vibe I was missing in my studio. Big Ups UA! Thx
@DoctaJ504

G. Justen

October 29, 2017

you have to like it

I like this channel very much because it brings a lot of possibilities to change the sound of voices (vocal, instruments) and it looks very good and makes joy. And it sounds great!

B. MAHONEY

October 9, 2017

Love at First Sight.

When you need a tool that does it all...

B. Watts

October 7, 2017

Classic!!!

The 6176 is an awesome front end and if need be, one stop solution for vocals, guitar and bass! The option to separate the sections and use them individually, gives you great flexibilty!

l. fiol

September 6, 2017

Preamp

I love this Channel Strip... sound better than the Avalon

1-20 of 86 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5