6176 Vintage Channel Strip

6176 Vintage Channel Strip

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

6176

Overall Rating

61-80 of 85 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. Yanyali

April 4, 2015

character / attitude

love this channel strip, had a spl channel one before and the uad matches my sony c38a much better.

R. Lima

January 30, 2015

My Rating is 10 not just 5.

It's my favorite preamp in the studio, good pre with some valve distortion, for acoustic guitars and vocal is just perfect. That's why we can hear Chris Martin's vocal and Adele's vocal with so softness sound.

By
Ricardo Lima - Brazil

B. Williams

June 10, 2014

6176 Channel strip

Wow what a machine every thing just sounds great recorded through it Its the best of both worlds Fantastic Preamp and excellent Compressor. Love it love it

B. Williams

April 16, 2014

6176 Wow

Wow what a machine it changed every thing I do its definitely NO: 1

M. Maradei

December 8, 2013

Awesome pristine sound!

I need to be honest… i picked up this gear because i read that Adele uses it. At the beginning i had some troubles doing the setup connecting the 6176 with my apollo. After the help of the people from support i understood that i was needing a microphone that could help to get the best of this gear. The people from support really kindly suggested me the Josephson and since then the results of my recordings are blowing me away. Really amazing. I think that this is an amazing piece of gear, but your really need to have the right tools. Not for the aficionado…. for the one trying to become a pro!

S. Leamon

May 24, 2013

Unbelievable!~

I've used these for years in the studio. Several times in the their separate incarnations (the 610 and the 1176).

This is the real deal. You just have two classic pieces in one unit!

It will add life to any source its fed.

S. Leamon

May 22, 2013

What can I say?

It lives up to its legend and then some. Every studio big and small should have this piece. I've used it for several applications and its never failed to impress.

You don't have one? Just buy it. Now!

P. Weisenburger

April 20, 2013

6176 Vintage Channel Strip

This unit would be an asset to anyone's sonic arsenal. There are channel strips with tube based overtones (which this has in spades), channel strips with transformer based overtones, and channel strips that pacify those who desire a pristine uncolored path. No one unit does it all, but this amazingly three dimensional tube preamp also has the benefit of being chained with THE desert island compressor, the 1176. If you are unfamiliar with this glorious piece of magic, just read any article about its fans who have used it on countless recordings, in all genres. I personally have used this unit for: vocals, guitars (acoust/elect) drum room, DI for bass-very delicious, dobro, mandolin, banjo, horn sections. It never disappoints. Enjoy!

R. Ryda

February 20, 2013

My precious! Needs time to get used to, but absolutely great!

A bit muddy as a PRE, but this can be fixed by replacing stock tubes, especially that guitar JJ one. Great fast attack/release compressor! Fabulous for anything if you feel the device and set all the levels right! Much quicker than LA-610, but also requires you to have minimum attack/release understanding to start using it properly. It has a very musical tone and when coupled with the right microphone/converter gives a great result! I love the join/split feature and it has one of the biggest displays of all similar units. I love it and I dont want to let it go ever!

R. Ketchem

January 24, 2013

Creamy Vocal Pre!

The 6176 has been my go-to vocal recording box since my original purchase in 2003 (I have serial number 349). It's clean, but not pristine or boring. The 1176 portion is classic and helps when tracking as well as mixing. I may add other favors, but I'll never, ever stop using my favorite vocal recording pre amp, the 6176.

K. Qafoku

November 5, 2012

Perfect Sound

I use this wonderful channel strip, its so cool, I like it very much in my recording

G. Nespoli

May 29, 2012

just amazing! what's in your head comes out through it, with more effort and character, things that you normally don't get from a machine, 'coz the 6176 is a human way of thinking, well I'd say ...of sounding!

D. Skoglund

May 12, 2012

Wow, what sonic joy! I recorded a Strat direct to a track using the 6176. I sent that out to a Rivera Quiana, tweaked the sound at the amp, set up an AT 4033 in the sweet spot, plugged the mic into the 6176 then recorded that to another track. Great sound and so much fun! I would buy it again in a heartbeat. Thanks UA for making great products.

J. Cottini

November 25, 2011

Chaleur / efficacité / Gros sons & qualité sont aux rendez-vous !

Sur voix comme instruments

J'adore le 6176 !!!

STUDIO EAST SELEK-CION

T. Rivers

September 18, 2011

I love it ! Anything i record through it sounds amazing ! Cant wait to buy another 6176
and a 2-1176. Universal Audio makes the best gear ! Also i love my UAD-2 Quad !
Thank you UA.

C. Harris

June 26, 2011

Dear Uaudio,
I purchased the 6176 as part of the deal which included the UAD-2 Quad card. I use a Mindprint DTC and Vintech X73i for audio tracking at present. The 6176 is just better as a single channel. I love the EQs on the Mindprint and the X73i, but the combination of the mic pre and 1176 compressor on the 6176 just is better for a class sound and fast workflow when tracking. That said, I can take the outs from the other strips into the compressor of the 6176 with ease.
The 6176 is top top class sound equipment- a make everything sound better box. A Rolls Royce in my project studio. Result!

D. A.

June 20, 2011

I love this channel strip! The 610 PRE really makes many of my mics shine, whether a LDC Valve, ribbon or condensor, and with gain staging you can vary the color and there's plenty of head room. The 1176LN is just amazing and I have several go to settings I've come to rely on. Being able to pair or split the 610 and 1176LN is a Godsend. I also use the DI frequently for electric bass. There will always be a spot on my rack for the 6176!

C. Anawaty

June 18, 2011

The most flexible and useful box I have! Tracking, mixing, and coloring--it's all here. I especially enjoy being able to "decouple" the devices so I can use the 610 as a tone box for one track while compressing another! Now I just need another one to link!

J. Svensson

June 17, 2011

I received my 6176 one week ago. So far I've tested it on El-guitar and Vocals. I use it to record into Logic on my Mac Pro. I think this unit really flexible and versatile. On the Pre-amp section it's a little risky to get to much distortion on the Peaks. I have own a LA-610 for a while and learned to keep the levels down before the signals gets into the Compressor section. Some claims that there is not enough headroom on the Pre-amp, but I believe they set the Level to high out from the Pre-Amp section. It's in the compressor section where this unit really shines! It can really pick out the best bite from the El-guitar, and get your vocal right "in-your-face" in the "All-Button-Mode. I can be quite smooth as well if you want to. But I prefer the LA-610 for "soft" vocals. It's definately worth the time to play around with different settings and test over and over again, because it can really sound wonderful! This unit is really Rock 'n' Roll!

T. Serôdio

June 17, 2011

Oh man!! How I love my 6176. The joy of a 610 and an 1176 together. Smashing combo!

I never expected this box to be such a versatile tone shaping unit. I almost double my mic count with certain type mics, like ribbons and some dynamics thanks to the impedance switch. And slightly compressing going in does absolute wonders to anything I put through it, everything just hits its spot in the mix.

It can be tricky to dial in at first, but once you get the hang of it... WOW !!

Love it !! Cheers UA!

61-80 of 85 Results