Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

561-580 of 603 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. Hlavsa

September 16, 2012

Ampex ATR.102

It is the Excellent Tape machine.....If you put it for mastering your track , you can give more softness and warmer sound...

J. Englund

August 25, 2012

Love it!

This plugin has become a game changer for my mastering arsenal. Everything that is said about gluing mixes together is very true. It really warms up mixes and takes the harsh end off the top end so tracks can be made loud without becoming ugly and brittle. It adds three dimensionality to the music. I highly recommend this plugin!

R. Brown

August 9, 2012

Wow....tape mastering on a computer. Didn't believe it was possible, now I know it is. I keep it on the final mastering and have been blown away. Invest......enjoy!

M. Rey

August 7, 2012

I'm in love. Everything gets mixed through this plug now. I love having it on the master buss. I feel warm just knowing it's there, all aglow & spinning. Nice big soundstage, creates that wide extended frequency response you'd expect from Ampex. I'm personally loving these new digital/vintage type tools. the UAD2 Ampex goes on every mix, I don't even have to think about it. Set it & forget it....how did the mix get that much easier to sound like that? Thanks again UA for such brilliant processing.

D. Carboni

August 3, 2012

I've never worked with tape, and I don't care if this plugin is accurate to that end or not....this thing just sounds damn amazing in it's own right. I use this thing in a million different ways, and always does it bring a smile to my face!! This combined with the Massive Passive has brought so much joy to my creative endeavors! As someone who cannot afford to spend the big bucks on all the best analog gear, I've found an alternative in UAD that has been a game changer for me.

M. Young

July 24, 2012

This is an essential mastering tool, now I have the ampex I couldnt imagine living without it. It is what it says that beautiful final polish in mastering.

M. Ballenger

July 18, 2012

Hands down the best mastering tape emu on the market. Everything is instantly more round and 3D with the ATR-102 applied on the 2buss. I can't get over the way this plug helps glue things together while enhancing the stereo image. The effect is subtle, but it is instantly missed when bypassed. It is an essential tool on all of my work.

B. Lohmeier

July 15, 2012

It is the perfect Tape machine. So detailed that you can get the sound you are searching for.. Just perfect

R. Campbell

July 13, 2012

Seems UA will not rest until the stigma of "in the box" music production is eradicated. This plug-in is a stand-out to that commitment. For all of the reasons you'd want a mastering 2 trk reel-to-reel tape recorder (saturation, boost, cohesion), you have the epitome of 2 trks, the Ampex ATR-102, in all its' tweak ability.

J. Rapha

July 12, 2012

le top niveau pour le grain anlogique, je ne connais pas mieux, quel chaleur et
rondeur il apporte au mix et meme en mastering, c'est exceptionnel,une fois
mis sur un master de bus ou groupe impossible de s'en passer. une de mes armes
secrete.

R. Carmany

July 4, 2012

Probably the most realistic plug-in I've heard so far - and I have a huge number from Waves, and several other excellent companies. Having worked countless hours for over three decades on analog tape machines by Ampex, Otari, MCI, Studer, etc. I haven't been convinced until now. I think UA did a remarkable job with the ATR-102, and the positive quality it adds to my tracks (especially in Mastering) is significant. Thank you for this wonderful addition to my arsenal.

Rafael Carmany
Cobalt Creative Recording Services

P. Malmberg

June 19, 2012

I've used the Ampex ATR-102 on four mixes now and I have to say that this plugin
is amazing! It gives my mixes a warm and natural sound. For that little amount of money?!! it is so good!I can recommend Universal Audio ATR-102 with all my heart_3
Peter from Sweden.

J. Grenier

June 18, 2012

Wonderful!! I love it!!

Printing my mixes through the Ampex ATR-102 is now my final touch before mastering

Jeff Grenier

M. Baldin

June 11, 2012

This plugin is simply stunning! I can't imagine any mix without this for now on.

C. Brush

June 7, 2012

This is the missing link. The Holy Grail. Essential. This takes flat, lifeless music and gives it the dimension that digitally recorded music is missing. This is how music is supposed to sound. It's a shame in a way, that my DAW doesn't just DO this on its own, so thanks to UAD and Ampex for this. This somehow simultaneously compresses and yet adds those trademark tape characteristics which seems to bring out the dynamics. A dimension jumps out. The music seems to flow more naturally. Bravo.

R. Masters

May 1, 2012

I don’t know what this thing is doing to gel my mixes together but I was completely sold when I found out.

I would recommend using a midi controller for adjusting the knobs. They are very sensitive and almost blow my head off on a few occasions.

J. Bramburek

April 26, 2012

Friend of mine, great sound engineer, told me never ever demo this thing... Well he was right. I have bought it after 30 minutes of demoing.... It sets record for me....

E. Portugal

April 5, 2012

Digital was never so analog. I havev been using this for months now and the possibilities are endless, from mastering to surreal old dodgy tape saturation like you've had left a cassete tape baking under the sun.. But for real!

C. Silva

March 3, 2012

I fell in love almost instantly with the ATR. It made everything i ran thru it just sweeter. After a couple days with the demo, i just decided to get it on the magnetic month promo ! It's quite hard to describe it if you're not used to the way tape sounds, but believe me, you'll love it. I hadn't played with manual cal settings yet ,but you can get some awesome effects from the ATR, like a (sort of) doubler, using wow and flutter plus tape delay, or some cool delays using 3.75ips and miscalibrating the controls (for degenerative repeats, just put an aux send feeding back to the input of the aux you're using)

Anyway, five stars. Best tape emulation ever, at least for me.So bad i cannot afford a full restoration / pimping of studio's old beatup Ampex ATR102.

J. Broeckers

March 2, 2012

Amazing,

Ampex A TR-102 is one of my fav in every production...Voices getting more warmth and brilliance and stereo sound.
If you put it for mastering your track , you can give more softness and warmer sound in your productions.

Thank you UAD for this awesome product.

561-580 of 603 Results