Get 3 months of UAD Spark for 99¢. Extended thru December 31st. Learn More ›

Customer Reviews

Apollo x8

Overall Rating

21-40 of 259 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Aikman

February 21, 2022

Apollo X8

Great interface - conversion is stellar, the plug-ins are out of this world, albeit a little on the expensive side, and the routing software is a breeze after the first day… Would highly recommend!

J. Hecker

January 27, 2022

With the Apollo X8 i reached my destination!

Coming from several Focusrite Interfaces, i decided to do the step to a professional interface. After a few weeks of recording, I absolutely do not regret this decision to buy the UAD Apollo X8. The DSP Power, the low latency, the pristine preamps and most important for my workflow the console with all it's routing and DSP-Plugin integration was more than a game changer for me.

For now, there is no reason for me to change this setting in the future. Best Interface I ever owned!

T. Heeringa

January 4, 2022

Best interface I’ve ever owned!

This thing is incredible. The hexacore finally allows me to use a tonne of plugins for mixing, which intact is terrible for my wallet, buuuut their plugins are so worth it. Great I/O for routing outboard gear and guitar pedals. Only thing I would grumble about is how clunky the console app is still. I’ve owned an Apollo Solo for a year now and when switching between the two it gets really confused and screws up the I/O matrix even when loading presets for either interface. Maybe I just don’t know how to use it properly haha. Other than that I’m obsessed!

D. Batty

December 9, 2021

great recordings

I have be recording songs for over 30 years from two track tape to the first computers dedicated to recording and always felt that something was holding me back . I now know there was, I didn't have a Apollo
The plugins on the Apollo do sound like you thought they would and I have just used the Marshall amp in the unison slot and it records so well I don't know if I will us my amps again
so as a fist time user just starting to use the Apollo all i can say is wow and if this is read by someone with out one. From a ordinary guy that has to work hard for money and is just wanting to make music that sounds well recorded you really can not get better than the Apollo 8

o. brinkhurst

November 22, 2021

Great quality product

I bought this as an upgrade for my home studio from an entry level interface. The quality is instantly noticeable. The unison preamps are fantastic and the top end AD conversion really helps capture the character of my outboard synths without adding any unwanted character.

K. Frost

November 20, 2021

Excellent

Met my expectations as soon as I used it. Seamless integration with Twin X quad and Quad Satellite.
It works every time. Great tracking results, less to do at mix time, especially with the new API Console in LUNA. Will be getting the X8P next, that will give me 14 unison slots. To those just getting into the UA family, I do it one piece at a time. Then I make decisions on what my needs are, these are not toys, but tools, serious tools.

M. Picker

November 6, 2021

Amazing and well thought out. Zero latency finally!

It’s just an amazing interface, so flexible and simply works! The fact that you can record and track with no perceivable latency is truly amazing. Love it! Also so many ways to color and control the sound with unison plugins makes me feel like a little boy in a huge sand box. Also their support is excellent. Thank you UA!

A. Lovison

November 6, 2021

Amazing!

I love the quality of my new Apollo!!
I love the new workflow that this machine allows me to have and finally, i have a creative feel to be in control of the sound during my recording sessions!

D. Horn

October 28, 2021

Near perfect, lacking external sidechain

The x8 is insane. UA is paving the way here and I love being able to track in real-time with the Unison Pres. I see that UA is adding more and more modern plugins to their DSP list (Sonnex, Antares, etc.) and external sidechain support is becoming more and more of a gaping hole in functionality. Not a big deal with some of the classics that didn't even have true sidechain support (no need to hack those) but modern software plugins are shipping with this type of functionality as table stakes these days.

Would love to see this functionality, even if it's not enabled at the Unison level.

While I see a review or two on poor customer service, mine has been great. They've even responded to me outside of normal biz hours via email.

M. Zaccagnini

August 31, 2021

sloppy customer service

I bought a Apollo 8 thunderbolt a few years ago. The thunderbolt port broke (not sure how and why). I have been trying to get it repaired for more than a year now. Covid has made that an impossible process, I understand that there are delays but at this point I don't see how the delay, this kind of delay, is acceptable. I had to buy another interface and keep getting negative responses from customer service, Never going to buy anything UA again!

UAD User

July 23, 2021

A step up

Been using Apollo units for about a decade. Started with silver, then black and now the X8. I find both the monitoring and recording conversion of the X8 a step up from the previous generations. Very, very clear, no graininess. Very pleased!

S. Bhatti

July 16, 2021

A bigger difference than I originally thought…

All I can say is…wow! I didn’t think that the difference from the Blackface Apollo 8 to this would be as significant as it is. Improved A/D and D/A conversation, better depth and stereo imaging, and more DSP are all things this x8 improved upon! Well worth it!

t. mori

June 29, 2021

The sound has changed dramatically

 I used to use the Apollo Duo, but the sound has changed dramatically compared to that, and I can now see the sound of the synth even with fine particles. If in doubt, buy it.

D. Wagner

June 19, 2021

Beautiful sound quality

I upgraded from an 6 year old USB Twin and the difference is far more than I expected. I wasn't sure about the sound of the highs but I gave it a couple days for my ears to adjust. The sound stage is wide, deep and detailed in a whole new way. Love listening to everything all over again. Creating and mixing is going to an absolute pleasure with this for years again.

D. Hill

May 31, 2021

Awesome

This sweet , real user friendly and I used the unison with the neve mic pre and the 1176 on insert in the uad console and the artist was amazed of how balance his vocals sounded in the daw without even starting the mix and also tracking without latency...the io options are nice headphone amp is good. Haven't tried the converters as yet but I'm sure it's good because the unit is good..not up grading for another 8 years

D. Hill

May 31, 2021

Awesome

This sweet , real user friendly and I used the unison with the neve mic pre and the 1176 on insert in the uad console and the artist was amazed of how balance his vocals sounded in the daw without even starting the mix and also tracking without latency...the io options are nice headphone amp is good. Haven't tried the converters as yet but I'm sure it's good because the unit is good..not up grading for another 8 years

D. Hill

May 31, 2021

Awesome

This sweet , real user friendly and I used the unison with the neve mic pre and the 1176 on insert in the uad console and the artist was amazed of how balance his vocals sounded in the daw without even starting the mix and also tracking without latency...the io options are nice headphone amp is good. Haven't tried the converters as yet but I'm sure it's good because the unit is good..not up grading for another 8 years

D. Hill

May 31, 2021

Awesome

This sweet , real user friendly and I used the unison with the neve mic pre and the 1176 on insert in the uad console and the artist was amazed of how balance his vocals sounded in the daw without even starting the mix and also tracking without latency...the io options are nice headphone amp is good. Haven't tried the converters as yet but I'm sure it's good because the unit is good..not up grading for another 8 years

A. Aniper

May 23, 2021

Прибор отличный, но...

Прекрасный прибор, великолепный звук, удобный софт!
Но отвратительная совместимость с Windows 10 и с 4к разрешением! Просто УЖАС! Работать практически невозможно!

D. James

May 19, 2021

Everything I Hoped for -- and More

I was not looking forward to going through the upgrade to a new Interface/ DAW system, but man am I glad I did! The process was much smoother than I feared thanks to the Universal Audio on-line guidance and the intuitive design of the interface. Every day I am impressed by the power and audio quality of the Apollo x8. I highly recommend this interface to those considering stepping up their game.

21-40 of 259 Results