Dytronics Cyclosonic Panner®

Dytronics Cyclosonic Panner®

Regular Price: $149.00

$119.00

You'll Save 20%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $149.00

$119.00

You'll Save 20%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Dytronics® Cyclosonic Panner

Overall Rating

1-20 of 30 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

S. Peterson

April 29, 2018

Flutters, stutters & others

The Cyclosonic is not for everyone or everything. But it is a lot of fun to find uses for. I found that when critical listening to mixes, I would reach for it when the mix needed a little movement on backing vocals, rhythmically or layered with synth parts.
If you are on a tight budget & looking to get really useful plug ins, this would not be where I spend my money.

T. Mandylas

April 21, 2018

Just awful to control.. sorry Softube and UA

This is now my number one UA plugin purchase regret.. So much so I am actually going to ask to see if I can swap for another plugin + whatever cost difference. I should have demoed it properly.. The issue is, that the time is from 30 seconds to 0.1 second, but the display field shows that in *percentage*, which is useless.. Rather than the actual time.. If it showed the actual time, one could set something suitable by using a tempo calculator.. The problem with the Sync option is that I saw 4 bars in the picture.. and presumed i could do 1/2/3/4 bars.. but it goes from one to 4 only.. and then no higher..So you can sync an auto pan at 1 bar or 4 but not in between, and everything else is under a bar (more useful for rhythmic effects/stutters etc). Softube had to be stubborn on this one instead of giving a full complement of tempo options.. They just had to follow the hardware.. This is exactly why we buy plugins, to get the good hardware sound but free ourselves of limitations.. Anyway.. It does more than pan, which is why i gave it an extra star.. I will never use it for auto panning, nor rhythmic effects as I already have much, much better plugins for the latter, but at least it's not only a one trick pony. Now.. I recently bought WAVES brauer motion for $29 on sale.. THAT is a pan plugin.. and i am not a huge waves fan.. But that was a bargain, and makes this softube plugin look like a joke.. I mean just demo it for yourself and see what I mean.. If you want a really good autopan plugin, that's the one I recommend, and advise you to skip this one completely. (OTOH the chorus by same company, also emulated by Softube, is really nice and lush - that one I can recommend and will do a separate review).

M. Fulwider

April 17, 2018

Underwhelming

I have been happy with most every plugin that I have purchased from UA EXCEPT this one. Pretty underwhelming, might work for some synth. Overall, not a very useful plugin in actual use. For me, I wasted my money.....you win some.....you lose some.....

M. Ivey

April 10, 2018

Extremely versatile and intricate panning

I own the Waves Brauer Motion panner and though I don't have any regrets with its quality, I find the Dytronics Cyclosonic panner to be more of a beast. Both are great plugins but the Dytronics sound is uniquely different and I haven't experienced any way to emulate the effect using Brauer Motion.

Both accomplish the same panning in the stereo field, but Dytronics definitely does it in a very distinct and unique way.

In comparison of CPU, Brauer Motion doesn't tax the processor much; but Dytronics being a UAD plugin obviously doesn't tax my CPU at all. Overall, I am pleased with the investment. It costs more, but my ears tell me it does more and it sounds very different.

B. McDade

February 20, 2018

Great creative fun with all things PAN shaped!!!

buy while you can stack your rack (bought with Tri Chorus.... brilliant fun!)

L. Roccatagliati

February 2, 2018

love it

It's a magical tool for percussions loop!

M. Vergeade

January 14, 2018

Let your sound travel !

The most efficient panner I know, , including amazing3D possibilities and many more presets of modulation : a big success !!!

M. Kartashev

January 13, 2018

Great!

This is awesome been waiting for a good emulation of some analog rack panner for a while...
Many tools can do similar task but this one got some unique character and feel.
Very nice hope to see more emulations of rare and unique tools like this...

J. Cunningham

January 12, 2018

Shoegaze daydream

Absolutely brilliant plugin, albeit simple in some aspects. Add to a rhythm guitar, and it's instant shoegazing. Once again, UA offers world class mixing and sound design tools to the palette. Thank you!

S. Shrimpton

January 10, 2018

A worthy addition for subtle movement and variation.

Really nice auto panning plugin. This thing is a must have for sound designers. But as an effect for general mix duties, its a fantastic but non essential tool. It can create a sense of 3D space, which is very reminiscent of certain 80’s tracks and goes from over the top tremolo, and strobe like volume/panning to a mild sense of movement and subtle variation. A really useful way of adding energy to cymbals and hi-hats, but I imagine this thing will be a dream on choppy samples, synth leads and chords. Probably great on Edge like guitars too. You can get similar results with automation, or stock plugins for sure, but this thing has a certain warmth and depth to it that makes it valuable. I can see myself using this with subtly on cymbals/hi-hats pretty frequently. Good job UA!

J. Beck

December 12, 2017

The UberPanner

3D is the key word here!! This makes other very popular panners seem completely B-grade (which I will not name out of politeness). So many possibilities with this thing. Also gives a subtle but interesting character to the sound. It definitely takes a few minutes of fiddling around to properly understand how to set it for your needs, but once you do, it's like a magic stick for motion and psychoacoustics.

P. Perfetto

November 20, 2017

Very creative

I love this plugin, and its super creative, and creates a great 3D image for things like hi hats, percussion, and creates movement in the track.

N. Fernandes

November 16, 2017

Very cool but...

It's a really cool, creative effect. I just wish there was a mix knob in the plugin. Other than that, really sweet.

V. van Tiel

November 10, 2017

Really 3D

I love this one. I put it subtle on the background vocal. Now the lead vocal sounds 3D and alive. Great tool. Not your standard panner.

S. Vitiello

October 15, 2017

loving it

I had used the hardware version of this 20 years ago and always wondered if I'd find a plugin that might come close. This does all I need and has been so much fun to use

C. Perez Iserte

September 30, 2017

Perfect for me!

add the color I need in low frequencies, I do not need to do anything else for me.

C. Perez Iserte

September 30, 2017

Perfect!

I thought a boring panner like everyone else, but no. This is really the panner we should all use, you can do it all

G. Perry

September 25, 2017

Gr8 Floater

Really interesting is this one. I have many panner / stereo toys and this one is currently my favourite. Has a great analogue sound and fun to play around with. Highly recommended, well done Softube. Thanks UAD

M. Hailey

September 19, 2017

Haven't stopped using it!

An excellent secret weapon. I have just finished mixing an ambient electronic music album and this was invaluable for adding subtle movement and 3D imaging to pads.

E. Bautista Garcia

September 17, 2017

Unexpected !!!

I've used quite a few panners in the past, both hard & soft cause I'm a lot into psychoacoustics, never heard 'bout Dytronics until I saw as a plugin in UAD2 and I thought I'll give it a try. The presets don't do much justice to the power inside, so after working with it for a couple of weeks I was amazed at the potential of this engine, specially with headphones and a good 5.1 system. It works wonders on stereo speakers too. Give it a try !!!

1-20 of 30 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2