SOLO/610 Classic Tube Preamplifier & DI Box

SOLO/610 Classic Tube Preamplifier & DI Box

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

SOLO/610

Overall Rating

1-20 of 36 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

P. Catella

June 17, 2011

This is an incredible preamp!
Without throwing too much character into your recordings (some valve flavor, but not overwhelming), it is detailed and creamy - whilst still retaining a fair amount of bite and good transient response.

While they are not know for having much headroom, I'd say that for dynamic and condenser microphones (along with many newer ribbons), they offer more than enough gain - along with value and tone.
It's a classic UA piece; and it's easy to add some extra harmonic content to your sound, although they are quite hard to fully drive. They keep their clarity and detail even in higher gain settings, and you never feel like you're losing control of the sound. Ever.

I found them to be so good.... I bought two. Try putting a Neumann U67 or a Brauner Phantera through them, you'll know what I'm talking about.

Now, a bit of constructive criticism: metering could be better; the one and only light that gives you an indication of gain is unusable, in any situation. The case, although very sturdy and thought-out, is bulky and somewhat unattractive. And a few more dB's of gain would make me feel more at ease overall.

But if you're like me, and only really care about the sound, then I can't fault them in any way.

J. Ham

September 28, 2017

An amazing addition

This item will do your studio well! It gives your vocal and acoustic recordings. I haven't used it on electric guitar or bass, will soon. Honestly, Universal Audio is the name you can trust in audio. Get it, use it you will not turn back. Thanks UA!

R. CLEMENTE

August 23, 2017

Just amazing

I have this beautiful micpre already for 10 years it is just amazing how beautiful this sounds

e. rafael

June 14, 2017

consideracion

exelente por ahora mi favorito para mi neuman en voses bajo y guitarras

n. lambertson

June 5, 2017

The big difference.

This piece of gear pushed my recordings from the "okay" sound to the "yes" sound. I have two, and I use them as DIs for my synthesizers and drum machine. If you want to record line in, you need a DI to boost the signal and clean it up. Go for one of these tube DIs, you will not regret it. It's a little expensive, but it's a beautiful, handmade piece of art that may last you for many many years.

UAD User

April 7, 2017

just so nice

tubey dooby i love this pre. everything sounds so nice and thick and real.

A. Tebeleff

February 17, 2017

Great for bass

Killer bass tone

P. Freitag

January 28, 2017

Groovy Tube

Awesome unit! If it were a chick... I'd marry it!

w. triyawong

November 26, 2016

สุดยอดคับบบบบ

มันดีมาก ........

S. KreisDrei

October 28, 2016

jsut great

i like it very much, giving me the warm sound for my anlogue maschines i need.

A. Dees

October 18, 2016

Just the sound I was missing!

Tried a few other mic preamps but none gave me the warmth and character that I get from my UA 610 solo! Hands down the best in its class!!!

L. Fernandes

December 27, 2015

solid

The Solo 610 is an awesome preamp/DI, which warms up your tracks. I've been using it intensively for 6 years now and can't praise it more..

It also saturates pleasantly when needed.

Extremely recommended.

E. Chong

January 23, 2015

AMAZING PIECE OF KIT

One of the best sounding DI boxes out there. LOVE it especially on bass and mic'ing harsh sounding brass instruments.

J. Cheek

November 27, 2014

Classic piece of gear

This was the first preamp I ever bought when starting out and I've never looked back. Used it for everything over the years. In particular now I love just plugging a bass straight in and knowing that I'm going to get a great sound straight away!

Thank you!!

D. Saltzman

August 7, 2013

Killer Preamp for any source!

I have had the pleasure of working extensively with the 2-610 units and I knew I had to pick this guy up. It is my go-to DI for bass/vocals and sounds incredible with almost any source. I love the transient clarity on bass and vocals, and I have also had a lot of success using it for sax, trumpet, guitar amps, bass amps, kick drums and snares. While it does not have the EQ section that the 2-610 has, the variable input and output stages really give you a lot of tonal variety.
I have no complaints with the unit and I am extremely excited to use it with my new Apollo Quad! I love all Universal Audio products and their customer service is also incredible. Definitely pick this guy up if you are looking for a preamp that will give you some TONE

S. Bahmani

April 28, 2013

love 610

this preamp is really cool...i love it ... Thank you UA for your helping in World of music :)

C. Tuncer

April 13, 2013

SOLO/610 Classic Tube Preamplifier & DI Box

SOLO/610 Classic Tube Preamplifier & DI Box perfect preamp

A. Bouchard

January 22, 2013

Awesome!!!

I have had a lot of different preamps. This one is the best sounding, cleanest and most useful in my experience. It has a sonic signature. The tube gives a creaminess at low levels and slightly grainy at max levels but it always sounds good no matter what you do.It is the best piece of gear I bought last year, hands down.

L. Hughes

December 31, 2012

Great preamp

This preamp provides a great interface for almost any mic. I particularly like it in a vocal chain with a U87 or TLM49. Works as a DI, but for some reason I get a hum when passing through to an amp. Some are worse than others. Noisy guitar amps are often even noisier using the 610 in line. Removing the earth from the mains leads sometimes helps and the ground lift switch makes no difference. Small trade off for an otherwise fantastic sounding unit. The built quality is also superb.

C. Presnell

August 31, 2012

Love it!!!

Had a chance to try it next to an API 512c for an A/B comparison. I loved what it did to the sound. Very versatile with the separate gain and level knobs. The API only has a level knob which is very small. The Solo 610 has a great pair of knobs!!!

I've also used it in my home studio where a few issues with noise occurred. A/C hum out the thru made it unusable as a DI when passing through to an amp. It also picked hum with my other guitars when going directly into my DAW.

All these problems disappeared when I brought it to work at a real studio. No hum issues under any circumstance when used at the studio. None while using it as a DI, none while using it as a pass through to the guitar amp, and none when a mic was hooked up.

Great pre-amp

1-20 of 36 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2