Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Regular Price: $299.00

$119.00

You'll Save 60%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$119.00

You'll Save 60%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Manley® Variable Mu Limiter Compressor

Overall Rating

181-200 of 257 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

H. Petersson

October 8, 2015

One of the best

I had ignored this one for a long time thinking I had enough compressors already. Then I did the mistake of demoing it, and what it did on my master bus just made me smile. After some time of trying to convince myself not to, I just could not keep myself from buying it.
I have been continuously impressed at how well it handles a wide variety of sources. It's so smooth, gentle and transparent while at the same time adding a nice sheen to everything it touches. It's not a heavy character like the 1176, but rather a nice touch.

My only regret is that I got the Fairchild before this one, because I can't see myself picking it over the Vari Mu. So if you are on the fence of buying he Fairchild, make sure to demo this before you do!

A. Momsyakov

October 2, 2015

Brilliant

Brilliant !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P. Lordo

October 1, 2015

Highly Recommended

I bought this and pretty much use it on Vocals as well as a Bus Conpressor. Sounds nice and warm, and actually very easy to use.

UAD User

August 20, 2015

That sound

The sound your looking for but cant quite reach with anything else..game changer.. Wicked on transients

J. Roye

August 3, 2015

Killer Plugin

Great sounding plugin! Who cares if its not a 100% match to the hardware unit?

Sits on my mix bus all day. every day.

G. Hadfield

July 29, 2015

Best mix bus compressor plugin

If ever there was a plugin that just makes almost everything sound better glued together, it's this one.

As with the Manley Massive Passive I found that it was all about making small and subtle changes and not sculpting massive chunks. So really a finsher and polisher in the best possible way.

D. Sokolov

June 2, 2015

This is my reference of compressors!!!

It just works perfectly with DI bass and Kick! All that passes through it becomes denser and thicker. UAD Thanks for the great work!

I. Papagiannidis

May 24, 2015

the ghost compressor

the absolute gluing compressor. so smooth and invisible...
no matter the amount of comp... it sounds great!
www.johnjefftouch.net

I. Papagiannidis

May 24, 2015

the ghost compressor

the absolute gluing compressor. so smooth and invisible...
no matter the amount of comp... it sounds great!
www.johnjefftouch.net

M. Altieri

May 7, 2015

i like so much

I read many reviews about the success of this compressor, it is true at the beginning you expect sensational things, do not know the hardware I saw comparisons on youtube but mostly I listened well is damn clean and I like!It gives him his sound clean and velvety with that particular tone on average. My conclusion?It is set to be well adjusted the gain to give the right dynamic and not just pat the compressor with two knobs!It has its own parameters and must be used. different from the original, as you all hardware compared to the plugin, but it's pretty close to me !!! and how can this universal audio other known brands of plugins have some way to go since among other things the price at which they sell them. i love this plug

B. Taylor

May 5, 2015

Really Blown Away

I've never heard the Variable Mu hardware so I can't talk to its authenticity. I was familar with the SSL's bus compressor from the Waves SSL that I owned so I started off getting that compressor for this platform as well. I felt it did what I expected but I wanted more and so I auditioned this and the Neve 3390. I expected I would really like the Neve so I tried it first. Next I tried the Variable Mu and wow! I for the first time heard that magical glue that every strives to get. I use about 2 db of compression on my sub mixes and 2 - 4 on my master mix bus. I ended up getting this compressor and the UAD SSL that I already bought. I found I use this one always because it doesn't sound compressed it is very transparent. Try it!

UAD User

April 24, 2015

Winner vs Previous Compressor Combination

Before buying Manley Variable Mu I was using Teletronix® LA-2A Classic Leveling Amplifier Plug-In combined with Fairchild 670 Compressor Plug-In made by UAD. Was an excellent choice but after buying Manley Variable Mu® Limiter Compressor Plug-In there was a big change on my mix. This is one of the best plugins to work compression on vocals based on my experience.

R. Huxen

April 19, 2015

Smooooooth

I almost bought the hardware version a couple of years ago so I'm glad UAD finally did this one! It's one of the smoothest and most transparent compressors I've ever used (plug-in wise). Whether on the mix buss or individual tracks - it just works. If you want something aggressive you may not reach for this one - but if you're looking for smooth and creamy, this might be your "go to". And you don't have to replace the tubes every couple of years. :-)

K. Hegyi

April 17, 2015

Absolutely love it!

We had one of these back in the day at University and I used it all the time and ever since I got the plugin it put me back into those days. It's so nice so warm and just beautiful on everything. It's a subtle effect but it makes everything sound just better!

10/10

D. DiPietro

April 14, 2015

Maybe it's just me....

As a plug-in stereo compressor it's great- just like a lot of stereo compressors in UA's catalog. I've used the Vari-Mu plug-in in a wide variety of situations and it works fine. But when comparing it to the 10 year old Manley Vari-mu in my rack (recently modified with the HP SC option), the plug-in just doesn't carry the same "weight" as the hardware. The hardware version just has some magical glueness to it that the plug-in doesn't. Maybe I'm just used to my particular hardware version sonic character -using something every day for 10 years, things tend to grow on you. Maybe it was modeled after the tube switch?
So for me it's the hardware version going in and sub-bus on mixes and the plug-in for channels for a little extra as needed.

C. Mileski

April 13, 2015

Gorgeous

I own the 670 mkII & SHMC. I initially thought the VariMu might be redundant, I assure you, it is NOT. It has a sound all its own. It does have a sublime 'glue' factor. It has less edge than the 670 but does still manages to impart a polite, silky top that is all class. I tend to like it best working at ~ -2 dB's of G.R., more than that & I can start hearing the comp work a bit too much for my tastes; unlike the 670 which seems to sound just fine when pushed harder. However, an argument could be made: a decent mix shouldn't really need much more than -2dB's of G.R., yes? Ill be reaching for this on every mastering project moving forward. I'll A/B it against the 670 & occasionally try it against the SHMC too. I expect it will be quite a star

E. Ambel

April 11, 2015

I've had the hardware version since the year it came out...

We've loved having the hardware Vari-Mu at Cowboy Technical Services in Brooklyn. It's such a great, musical compressor. I remember EveAnna Manley excitedly showing it to us at the AES Show in NYC. It's been used on every recording that's come out of our place since then. I'm very familiar with the sound of the hardware unit. It's terrific to be able to use this one in addition when mixing. Also terrific to be able to use it when mixing ITB. It behaves just like the one I've used to and has some added features beyond that. Thanks a bunch for your hard work on this one.

T. Friesecke

April 10, 2015

really good tool.

i looked for a stereo-compressor, which is easy to handle and i found it.
nice!

A. Lawson

April 9, 2015

Beautiful.

What a beautiful compressor. This has to be one of the best plugs I have ever had on my master buss. The input is amazing. Glued everything together like nothing I have used before. Awesome!

R. Sandor

April 7, 2015

excellent sound

excellent sound, thick but transparent, waiting API 2500?

181-200 of 257 Results