Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

181-200 of 411 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

C. Leiria

January 27, 2016

A must have in your recording chain

I got it mainly for tracking with my Apollo, the preamp I choose to track It depends of the source but the chains always includes the Studer.

In combination with a 1176 or a LA-2A It gets your dynamics controlled at recording and i do less processing later at the mix.

Made some console presets for bass and guitar with several plug-ins combinations so when a want a precise sound it's really fast to get it and adjust for the track.

Get a good sound at recording spares you time at mixing and this plug-ins in my workflow helps me a lot with it.

I'm doing some tests with it on group busses but not yet comfortable to change my PT template, but the result on bussed drums and guitars it's quite good.

I usually take out the noise.

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Finally!!! A Tape emulation that sounds like tape!!!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you!

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Finally!!! A Tape emulation that sounds like tape!!!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you!

D. Gray

January 12, 2016

WOW...just WOW

I am not going to lie....With all the hype around the ATR 102 (which I bought about the same time). I assumed the A800 would be slightly less impressive. BOY WAS I WRONG!!! The A800 is amazing!!! What it does to the low end in phenomenal!!! The luxury of not dealing with an actual tape machine makes the world (and my projects) a better place :)

I do however wish that Oxide was includes in the bundle :(

J. Ivarsson Björklund

January 6, 2016

Great plugin!

Can't track drums without it now but for me it really, really shines on vocals. Sweet sounding tape compression! Love it!

V. Salvaggio

December 27, 2015

Tape is king

Every track, every time, perfect session that's what you need to do

K. Boaten

December 16, 2015

Studer A800

Beautiful beautiful seamless sound. Very very happy I made the choice to use UAD products in conjunction with my Apollo. Far far superior to ANYTHING by waves. Awesome:)

g. grini

December 12, 2015

Love it!

what makes it really worth the money to me, in addition to that it´s realistic, is that it is easy to use!

A. Crowley

December 6, 2015

Flagship UAD plugin :)

This was the main reason I started considering a UAD, as nothing in the native world comes close. Worth every penny and goes on almost every track.

Generally softer and more saturated than the Ampex, great for single tracks/busses.

K. de Wit

November 29, 2015

Low End Character

This is an amazing Tape Emulator. The low end it brings to your tracks is just spectacular. I place this on all my busses and it just brings the song to life. I could add it on every track but I like to be realistic with my plugin and DSP use and find just using it on every buss/group works great.

M. Ryder

November 6, 2015

Smooth subtle cosy? Very effective

I was told to get this from some one I respect in engineering circles. We were mixing down some tracks and there was harshness on some channels so this was the go to recommendation. It has a smoothing out type of feel a bit like the brainwork refiner (thats just my opinion) but it was better in that when pushed it has some nice subtle compression also which is hard to describe in words as there was not really any distortion more a warm together feeling of a sound
I suppose you could simply say it does exactly what people have been saying for years what putting to tape does to a sound so yes another perfect emulation for the UAD boys.

UAD User

October 26, 2015

First insert

Put this on your first insert followed by an ampex, dial according to taste. Your welcome.

G. Futcher

October 15, 2015

Saturation

We have this exact tape machine at work. The plug-in sounds exactly like it or, if you want, totally different. I prefer the ability to change settings on a plug-in rather than commit to a specific real tape recording. My favourite preset is "Cassette"....seriously saturated.

E. Sevmont

October 14, 2015

Try it!

I haven't purchased neither of the tape emulations, but I used my free trial and this is just musical, I'll def purchase it in the future. So many usable options, it's hard to mess up something when using this plugin.

S. Muscio

September 17, 2015

Top Tape Tracking Tool

This thing is powerful. I use it for drums mostly, but have used it on guitars and vocals too.
Sounds great when pushed into the reds on peaks. I try to aim for +1 or +2 on the meter with drums.
If you use the Ampex tape plugin, this is a nice compliment to that. Together they can really get an authentic vintage sound.
I've only worked with tape a handful of times, but this gives me the freedom to play with it and not worry about breaking anything.
Getting creative with this can also give you some cool effects!

N. Franks

September 12, 2015

Just Brilliant!

Having used Slate VTM for some time I had heard a lot about this plug so obviously once I got on the UAD train it was essential I check it out. It going across all the tracks is where it is at. While I love the VTM still and it has a place being my 2buss tape The Studer has taken the individual tracks in spades. This plug brings so much to the sound you will find you need less compression and eq. So much to the point where you will be doing things like a real engineer and only using them as need be basis. Meaning rather than throwing a bunch stuff on tracks once you get things close to where you want them you really question if you need anymore! Great plugin and worth getting because it will be used every session which makes the cost worth

R. Garcia

September 9, 2015

Sutíl Saturasion!!

Lo he usado en Buss master de Baterias.. y es muy bueno como realza los transientes agregando una pisca de saturacion... es genial!!!

E. Maccoppi

September 8, 2015

Great mastering tool!

My master nver will be the same !

B. Olivier

September 6, 2015

Perfect for Drum bus

Really Nice! I use it on my drum bus most of the time. It Glues everything together :-)

L. Garcia

September 3, 2015

Great!

Great to my mix and master sessions. Lovely sound!

181-200 of 411 Results