Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

181-200 of 427 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Perez

May 4, 2016

This Plugin Is AWESOME on the drum bus......

So far I've been trying this on everything and have found it to be extremely beneficial for drum busses or individual tracks. It doesn't sound bad by any stretch of the imagination on anything else I've tried it on; I just really, really like what it does for the drums. Nice, Fat and Clear.

UAD User

April 24, 2016

Oh Yeah

This plugin is perfect, I can not describe it. It helps to boost the whole sound.

m. wilson

April 22, 2016

nice warm does the job

not sure this is close to original never used one lol but this adds grit to any track

G. K.

April 19, 2016

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder : very nice !

I like to use it in a very subtle way , and 'yes' , this is possible. You need to read the manual to get an idea how to use this PlugIn properly. 5Stars

R. Olivier

April 5, 2016

Chaosthetic Cosmos premastering

Sound engineer for CrossAngel:The album "Chaosthetic Cosmos" has been fully treated with UAD2 in 2014.
Neve 88RS channel strip for the mix then Studer A800, SPL TwinTube and Precision Equalizer for the premastering.
Effective tools that helped keep the analog sound throughout the project.Thanks!

A. Mann

March 20, 2016

Great tape sound

Just put it in the insert and you've got the great smooth sonic sound of tape.

S. Connor

March 19, 2016

Subtle but nothing like it.......

So many have tried to emulate the distortion and compression effects of tape eg. the Emperical Labs Fatso but I must say this just nails it! I love slamming this with drums and just hearing the effect it has on the drum sound, want that Tame Impala retro drum sound? You need this plugin! I have compared it to Slate and UHE and this wins, it just sounds so natural and responsive- fantastic job UA, a triumph in digital engineering- it is a great time to be a musician.

T. Naus

March 18, 2016

Nice warm analog feeling

WOW! The A800 plug gave me the warm authentic feeling on my record that i needed. This will be a go to for me from now on.

P. Nørgaard

March 8, 2016

Opens the Mix

Open the Mix up like no other plug ins. I love this plug in

L. Rollins

March 7, 2016

Spoiled for choice

UAD has given me so many flavors of tape and I find each to be really useful and great for explorative sound sculpting. This deck has found a happy partner in my Tom Oberheim Two Voice Pro. From chugging basses to twinkling tenor range sequences, this deck really allows for a high degree of sheen and shine. I can get each voice to settle down nicely in the mix with this. Great plugin.

A. Smith

February 27, 2016

Is this worth getting into the UA2 ecosystem alone?

Is this worth getting into the UA2 ecosystem alone? Well it costs considerably less than the real thing, you can have many of them working at the same time, trying to fit multiple Studers in a studio, let alone a home setup is going to be painful in more ways than one.

And then there's the impression that I get that it just sounds RIGHT. Unlike a lot of tape emulations! I can't quite explain it, it's sometimes quite subtle differences, but long listening you just don't feel it's artificial, or an EFFECT. It's tape without the tape.

J. Coleman

February 23, 2016

I like IT!

I don't know why people say don't use it on the 2 buss. Some songs it works great on the 2 buss and some it does not. Main thing to tweak is the low end going through it. I have starting just putting it on a buss and dialing in how much I want of it on each individual instrument.

UAD User

February 14, 2016

Warm that Mix up!

This plugin is a time machine that'll take you back to a far away place where music sounded warm and beautiful to the ear.

It's a must have for any digital environment.

M. Samek

February 7, 2016

Very happy with the Studer A800 Plug-in!

I've been tracking drums the past couple weeks and had the opportunity to get to know this plug-in a little better. I've been running an Apollo insert on every drum mic on the way into the DAW and this plug-in delivers the analog sound and feel that I've been hoping for. Drums and cymbals already sound full and warm before additional processing, which is the perfect starting point for me. Very useful along with my other UA plug-ins!

J. Banfield

February 1, 2016

On evvery track now...

I have been throwing this guy on all of my multitracks since I got it. I worked with tape for MANY years and I was glad to see it go for all the trouble it was to maintain. I work strictly digital now but sometimes long for that voodoo tape adds to the sound. This plugin has done an excellent job of adding a little meat to the track, without sounding cheap and artificial like so many tape sims do. I have been very happy with it.

v. souza

February 1, 2016

Awesome!

It really is amazing the end result in the mix! I'm in love with it! Perfeito!

C. Leiria

January 27, 2016

A must have in your recording chain

I got it mainly for tracking with my Apollo, the preamp I choose to track It depends of the source but the chains always includes the Studer.

In combination with a 1176 or a LA-2A It gets your dynamics controlled at recording and i do less processing later at the mix.

Made some console presets for bass and guitar with several plug-ins combinations so when a want a precise sound it's really fast to get it and adjust for the track.

Get a good sound at recording spares you time at mixing and this plug-ins in my workflow helps me a lot with it.

I'm doing some tests with it on group busses but not yet comfortable to change my PT template, but the result on bussed drums and guitars it's quite good.

I usually take out the noise.

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Finally!!! A Tape emulation that sounds like tape!!!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you!

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Finally!!! A Tape emulation that sounds like tape!!!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you!

D. Gray

January 12, 2016

WOW...just WOW

I am not going to lie....With all the hype around the ATR 102 (which I bought about the same time). I assumed the A800 would be slightly less impressive. BOY WAS I WRONG!!! The A800 is amazing!!! What it does to the low end in phenomenal!!! The luxury of not dealing with an actual tape machine makes the world (and my projects) a better place :)

I do however wish that Oxide was includes in the bundle :(

181-200 of 427 Results