Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00


You'll Save 14%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00


You'll Save 14%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

181-200 of 418 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

L. Rollins

March 7, 2016

Spoiled for choice

UAD has given me so many flavors of tape and I find each to be really useful and great for explorative sound sculpting. This deck has found a happy partner in my Tom Oberheim Two Voice Pro. From chugging basses to twinkling tenor range sequences, this deck really allows for a high degree of sheen and shine. I can get each voice to settle down nicely in the mix with this. Great plugin.

A. Smith

February 27, 2016

Is this worth getting into the UA2 ecosystem alone?

Is this worth getting into the UA2 ecosystem alone? Well it costs considerably less than the real thing, you can have many of them working at the same time, trying to fit multiple Studers in a studio, let alone a home setup is going to be painful in more ways than one.

And then there's the impression that I get that it just sounds RIGHT. Unlike a lot of tape emulations! I can't quite explain it, it's sometimes quite subtle differences, but long listening you just don't feel it's artificial, or an EFFECT. It's tape without the tape.

J. Coleman

February 23, 2016

I like IT!

I don't know why people say don't use it on the 2 buss. Some songs it works great on the 2 buss and some it does not. Main thing to tweak is the low end going through it. I have starting just putting it on a buss and dialing in how much I want of it on each individual instrument.

UAD User

February 14, 2016

Warm that Mix up!

This plugin is a time machine that'll take you back to a far away place where music sounded warm and beautiful to the ear.

It's a must have for any digital environment.

M. Samek

February 7, 2016

Very happy with the Studer A800 Plug-in!

I've been tracking drums the past couple weeks and had the opportunity to get to know this plug-in a little better. I've been running an Apollo insert on every drum mic on the way into the DAW and this plug-in delivers the analog sound and feel that I've been hoping for. Drums and cymbals already sound full and warm before additional processing, which is the perfect starting point for me. Very useful along with my other UA plug-ins!

J. Banfield

February 1, 2016

On evvery track now...

I have been throwing this guy on all of my multitracks since I got it. I worked with tape for MANY years and I was glad to see it go for all the trouble it was to maintain. I work strictly digital now but sometimes long for that voodoo tape adds to the sound. This plugin has done an excellent job of adding a little meat to the track, without sounding cheap and artificial like so many tape sims do. I have been very happy with it.

v. souza

February 1, 2016


It really is amazing the end result in the mix! I'm in love with it! Perfeito!

C. Leiria

January 27, 2016

A must have in your recording chain

I got it mainly for tracking with my Apollo, the preamp I choose to track It depends of the source but the chains always includes the Studer.

In combination with a 1176 or a LA-2A It gets your dynamics controlled at recording and i do less processing later at the mix.

Made some console presets for bass and guitar with several plug-ins combinations so when a want a precise sound it's really fast to get it and adjust for the track.

Get a good sound at recording spares you time at mixing and this plug-ins in my workflow helps me a lot with it.

I'm doing some tests with it on group busses but not yet comfortable to change my PT template, but the result on bussed drums and guitars it's quite good.

I usually take out the noise.

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Finally!!! A Tape emulation that sounds like tape!!!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you!

P. Marriott

January 21, 2016

Finally!!! A Tape emulation that sounds like tape!!!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you!

D. Gray

January 12, 2016

WOW...just WOW

I am not going to lie....With all the hype around the ATR 102 (which I bought about the same time). I assumed the A800 would be slightly less impressive. BOY WAS I WRONG!!! The A800 is amazing!!! What it does to the low end in phenomenal!!! The luxury of not dealing with an actual tape machine makes the world (and my projects) a better place :)

I do however wish that Oxide was includes in the bundle :(

J. Ivarsson Björklund

January 6, 2016

Great plugin!

Can't track drums without it now but for me it really, really shines on vocals. Sweet sounding tape compression! Love it!

V. Salvaggio

December 27, 2015

Tape is king

Every track, every time, perfect session that's what you need to do

K. Boaten

December 16, 2015

Studer A800

Beautiful beautiful seamless sound. Very very happy I made the choice to use UAD products in conjunction with my Apollo. Far far superior to ANYTHING by waves. Awesome:)

g. grini

December 12, 2015

Love it!

what makes it really worth the money to me, in addition to that it´s realistic, is that it is easy to use!

A. Crowley

December 6, 2015

Flagship UAD plugin :)

This was the main reason I started considering a UAD, as nothing in the native world comes close. Worth every penny and goes on almost every track.

Generally softer and more saturated than the Ampex, great for single tracks/busses.

K. de Wit

November 29, 2015

Low End Character

This is an amazing Tape Emulator. The low end it brings to your tracks is just spectacular. I place this on all my busses and it just brings the song to life. I could add it on every track but I like to be realistic with my plugin and DSP use and find just using it on every buss/group works great.

M. Ryder

November 6, 2015

Smooth subtle cosy? Very effective

I was told to get this from some one I respect in engineering circles. We were mixing down some tracks and there was harshness on some channels so this was the go to recommendation. It has a smoothing out type of feel a bit like the brainwork refiner (thats just my opinion) but it was better in that when pushed it has some nice subtle compression also which is hard to describe in words as there was not really any distortion more a warm together feeling of a sound
I suppose you could simply say it does exactly what people have been saying for years what putting to tape does to a sound so yes another perfect emulation for the UAD boys.

UAD User

October 26, 2015

First insert

Put this on your first insert followed by an ampex, dial according to taste. Your welcome.

G. Futcher

October 15, 2015


We have this exact tape machine at work. The plug-in sounds exactly like it or, if you want, totally different. I prefer the ability to change settings on a plug-in rather than commit to a specific real tape recording. My favourite preset is "Cassette"....seriously saturated.

181-200 of 418 Results