Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$179.00

You'll Save 48%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$179.00

You'll Save 48%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

41-60 of 451 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

N. Zervos

January 16, 2011

I just used this inline on a big midi project going to PT9. Recorded all tracks thru this plug strait to disk to save using it in the mix later. I would have to say it is amazing. But be careful as it can mess with timing on things if you make small adjustments on individual tracks to it. I sold my old Tascam deck for this and so glad I did!

A. Oberholz

December 7, 2010

As an EX owner of the Telefunken-M-15-A I can say this product is not bad by any means.

I was mixing a whole song with it and it was fascinating how it can round of transients and saves you from using extra compression in the mix.

The user manual lacks description in how to use the hidden EQ,Bias etc. controls traditionally right.
There is a Generation that never had the chance to work with such a Tape-Machine.
For this reason it would be great to get more context-information how these hidden knobs affected the output.

At this point I don't care if it sounds like a real tape machine.
At least it emulates well the Tape-Kompression and alone that is great!!

I measured the plug in - watching out for inharmonic-distortions...nothing bad to see.
Other UAD plugs still suffer from inharmonic-distortions - missing dithering in the signal-path?

I give it only 3/5 points because I think it is too expensive for a plug-in.
For some more money you can get a decent 1/4" real HW tape recorder and you will have lot of fun with it.

The price point in my opinion is 250$.
350$ will make this wonderful plug in for a lot off younger-folks unreachable-

I skipped Massive-Passive and Fatso because of the high price.
It looks like that I will skip this one as well even if I like it.

Development: 5 POINTS
Price-Tag: 1 POINT

A. Souza

April 14, 2013

Great plugin but....

This is a great plugin, but if you have a uad-2 duo like me forget!! This plugin use many dsp resources of you card. I suggest you buy Ampex 102, great plugin no use dap like A800. Expend my money for nothing. But great plugin if you have system to use.

G. Montagni

May 15, 2013

Lazy Custumer Support

I bought a couple of the most expensive plug ins like this and for no reason the authorization fail multiple times, even by opening 3 support ticket and 2 call from germany directly to the us support center.....still no solution.....great plug ins but no real good technical support.....

T. Cosentino

January 20, 2014

I loved it when I heard it working for about a minute

Whether it's the fault of Apple computers or UA , the bottom line is that my brand new iMac doesn't work with my Apollo Quad. A problem that has now for me been over a month with no solution as of yet. So.........I'll review this software and the interface when some party can get around a fix. I am not the only one who has been inconvenienced both financially and time wise by this issue and the fact that, to this day UA states on it's site that this unit is supported by the 2013 iMacs makes them responsible to a great degree.

A. Fischer

February 5, 2016

Not my must have

Having received as part of a promo bundle I may yet have to discover how great it is. Sofar, I didn't notice much.

F. Barbaglia

November 19, 2014

the tape is not spinnin'

I don't know what's goin on,
since I bought it, the tape is not spinnin' anymore in the interface.
don't know if this effect the sound of the plug or not.

S. Gilroy

May 23, 2014

Not Great

Duy tape, Cranesong Phoenix, and Slate VTM are my first picks but I need the DSP
So I bought it.

M. Bolton

February 8, 2013

Saturation at Its Finest

I was skeptical of anything to do with tape.
I demoed it, comparing it to the Ampex emulation. The Ampex was blown out of the water.
With this, you can adjust how much analog hiss you add to the signal... it's nice to do be able to do that.
It's almost like EQ by adjusting the high freq on it.
Try it out; you'll fall in love with its distortion properties and warm sound. Once you add it to your signal path, you simply cannot take it off. Happens to me, every time.

G. Sebastien

October 15, 2012

great

i own the ampex atr 102 for real and the plug
also i use the studer quite often to warm or tame lot of differents stuff
a great piece of software

M. Blue

July 5, 2012

I was immediately impressed by after inserting this across my mix buss how the sound took on a certain sheen, presence , warmth and punch !

You can mix into it and use it as channel inserts. It is versatile as it has presets, plus you can play with the imput(clean or distortion), output levels , speed, bias and eq and delay.

If there is one UA plug to buy, imo the Ampex is it !

p.s, plus it gives a little compression variable by input settings so very useful across the mix bus !

Kcat

J. Grimm

April 4, 2011

UH-MAY-ZING. Best, most useful plug-in ever. Hardware manufacturers are probably scrambling like mad cause in another 5-10 years, with the exception of good mic pres, outboard hardware will be unnecessary thanks to UA.
Yeah, that's right, I said it, I'm not scared. Ever since I got a UAD-2, (got 4 now, and I'll keep on getting them) the rules of the game have changed. And after getting the Massive Passive and FATSO plug-ins, I thought how can they top them? Well they did, and did they ever.
This is hands down the most useful, incredible plug-in made by any company to date. If you have enough UAD cards, you can drop this on every track as the first plug, adjust to taste, using the input and output to saturate or "compress", the tape types and IPS settings to "EQ", not to mention the calibration, all the under the hood controls to further create and tweak the tone you're looking for, and the Bias and LF settings are just fantastic on bass or kick, not to mention beefing up overheads and room mics, guitars, etc. And all in about a minute or 2. Makes mixing in the box and dream whether you have a million dollars of outboard or not. Yet another miracle from UA to add to your collection. Let's not forget you also don't have to buy any tape, do any maintance, and can run tons of them with all different settings which you could never do with the real thing.
I can't really think of a UA plug-in I don't like, and I have most of them. If you're weary of the price, than get out of recording, cause this is hands down a f***ing steal. People who complain should have their gear taken away and auctioned off to charity! Now you need to get together with Chandler and Cranesong and make the Germanium comp and EQ and the Trakker plug and I literally will be in heaven!

B. Zdravkovic

December 11, 2018

The best plugin I've ever bought!

I'd put it on every channel if that DSP allowed me!
Instantly makes an incredible difference in sound.

A. Vella

December 9, 2018

Beast

Use it in my low end this is a beast machine!

B. Higham-Smith

December 6, 2018

Can’t tell the different in the slightest!

After using a real A800 for a few years, I can say honestly that I could not tell the different between the plugin and the real thing. Blind tests with clients also gave the same result!

M. Ahn

December 4, 2018

Glue machine.

I must use it at last master track with ssl gcomp.
Result is never disappoint me.

z. de

December 3, 2018

very good!

The same simulation effect as imagined!

K. Morris

November 13, 2018

File under "it just sounds good"

Whether for tracking or post, this plugin is dynamite. Subtle or extreme, it adds feel and color with that hard-to-define "analog warm-yet-punchy". Don't be shy about using the defaults, but also definitely pop the cover and learn the tweaks. Love the gang mode as well for tracking or applying across a mix in post.

K. Morris

October 26, 2018

Superb tracking and mixing tool

I love running kick and snare mics through this in console. I frequently reach for it when mixing. It just sounds great. The under-the-hood tweaks are plentiful, and worth exploring to tease out your own sound. Having said that, you can literally use the default setting on almost any instrument and hear it instantly settle in the mix. Highly recommended.

P. OakwoodProductions LTD

October 9, 2018

Must Have on your Mix buss.

I know that this is based on a multi track machine but when used on the stereo buss it adds a fantastic glue that totally reminds me of the old 2" Tape recorders compression sound. I found using it on every channel too much, but one over the whole mix helped fatten the bottom end and bring everything together like the old tape machines did. Love this plugin

41-60 of 451 Results