Thermionic Culture Vulture

Thermionic Culture Vulture

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$149.00

You'll Save 50%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Thermionic Culture Vulture

Overall Rating

21-40 of 114 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Ketchem

August 7, 2014

Not UAD's finest hour

From the silly promo video to the actual plug-in, this one is a disappointment. I've used the hardware for years and the plug-in manages to capture, maybe 40% of the magic. For $299, it's still a bargain, but I'm hoping for a sweeter version with future upgrades.

D. Matthies

July 21, 2014

Sounds awesome, uses an insane amount of DSP

This thing is really beautiful sounding and does what you would expect, but uses A LOT of DSP, enough that is should come with a disclaimer. I'm used to The ATR-102, which is a heavy DSP hitter, but this seems to use almost twice as much.

B. Finnie

July 9, 2014

Sounds nothing like the hardware.

As an avid UAD user and also an owner of the Vulture hardware unit I was excited to hear about this release. However, upon hearing the audio examples I was very disappointed. The distortion sounds nothing like the hardware, and the overdrive switch sounds like a cheap plug-in not even comparable to other dedicated distortion plug-ins already available for the same price. why pay 300 for a gain knob?

C. Bower

July 17, 2014

Dont Stack the Cards Please!

Come on, I realize you guys want good reviews, but as customers we want reliable reviews that we can trust. Please remove all the duplicate 4 and 5 star reviews for this product and others.

M. Compton

July 15, 2014

It's like sound toys decapitator only twice as expensive and 5 years later

I wanted to love it, really did.... I like it, but it doesn't live up to the characteristics of other similar plugins like Decapitator or camelphat. Pretty disappointing really, and at this price there is no way I will be a buyer.

-1 star for value
-1 star for lacking exciting or unique characteristics
-1 star because I think 3 stars is too much

J. Carmo

July 18, 2014

Culture Vulture Reviews

Please remove all the duplicate 4 and 5 star reviews for this product and others.
I have over 2500$ plugins from UA, i love your stuff, have Satellite DUO, Apollo Quad, LA-610 and gonna buy Octo core, but i want to continue trusting UA company. Even if im opinion about CV is very negative, it does not mean i am not satisfy with your products...i really love UA stuff, but after demo several times CV, i really think this plug IMHO is a mistake...but, everybody makes mistakes.

A. Puro

September 5, 2014

great sound but has some kinks...

This plug sounds great but unfortunately as of right now for DP users it causes massive glitchy/stuttering sounds when run at a buffer size of 512. Running it at 256 or 1024 is fine however.

G. Piazza

July 29, 2014

Please don't review based on DSP usage!

Caveats:
I do not yet own this plug-in or the hardware, nor have I demo'd it.

BUT, I have to chime in here on all the reviews complaining about too much DSP usage.

As most professional engineers know, the main point of having UAD cards is to facilitate unrestricted plug-in development. I.E. no compromises circuit emulation.

To me, it is a good thing that UA are developing plug-ins without concern for DSP usage.

Think about it - if you want 'efficient' plug-ins (that often sound so-so) then buy something else.

Eventually, UA will release UAD-3 cards, and we will be glad they did not compromise to save DSP.

Until I try CV, 4 stars for ignoring the 'too much DSP' blowback.

I. Babayoff

July 8, 2014

DSP consumption

I love your plugs, they are 85-100% of my Mixes. But... this one have way to much DSP consumption. so its not a real option for me no matter how good it sounds. Sorry.

P. Tavasoly

July 18, 2014

Thiz plugin is amazingly amazing !

Got in love with it at the first use !!! I mean WOW !¡!¡
I do not understand those guys who say it is not a good plug ....
Maybe you need to switch to better speakers or converters !
This thing is one on the most advanced modelings I have ever came across.
The sound is extreamly real. Injects life to everything I tried.
But I warn you ! You must have hi quality material to hear this baby correct.
It does do magic but can not make badly recorded material into gold.
It is not a home studio toy. It is hi end stuff. You need to be pro to use it.

THANS UA ... You nailed it just like always.... Love you !

J. Carmo

July 8, 2014

Can´t be true....Disaster

Please UA, tell me this is one mistake...
I never heard the hardware, but this plug sounds IMO very BAD.
I just saw the video and the distortion that this plug generates
is horrible IMO. Can´t belive that UA (The best in the market) have done this job...!!!

J. Carmo

July 25, 2014

UAD Culture Vulture vs HW

I have give already a bad review to the CV plugin because the type of distortion
this plugin delivers, is IMO very digital, not Warm/Tube like, but after watching the demo
of the original HW unit in a guitar and other stuff, my opinion is different. I really dont´t like the sound otf the HW because IMHO the saturation is not warm like other tube gear, but the emulation of UA is not so bad. If there are people who like the HW, i understand they like the UAD CV and they will be happy with this. I really love UA, but not this particular Plugin, but it depends also of personal taste...

B. Wansbrough

December 1, 2017

Decapitator rules the roost

The real time use of Culture Vulture is great... but if I could replace it with Decapitator I would do so instantly. It’s not a bad plugin but it’s not as usable as Decapitator.

E. Cramon

September 5, 2017

Really great plugin

Great job UA! First I was skeptical if this plugin would be able to convince me but during demoing I quickly got into using the "CV" on so many signals I never thought of. In my opinion this is one of the best plugins that exist for the UAD platform Especially the Vocal Forward preset by Chris Coady has been a great starting point for all kinds of sounds being put through. Tip: Since the DSP-hit is a hefty one, try using this one as an aux effect rather than throwing it into the insert slot. In my opinion it "shines" even more when being used sparingly than cranked fully till 11!

D. camani

August 11, 2017

bomb

bomb

E. Sokolowski

July 27, 2017

My favourite distortion

I remember demoing this and not expecting to be blown away - upon using it I had to own it. I can't say enough good things about using it so just be done with buying it and prepare for the DSP hit.

R. Van den Dries

July 22, 2017

Culture vulture

I think this is one of the best uad compressors you can buy! Very happy with this one!

S. Park

July 18, 2017

Distortion with full of multi dimensional info.

This is kinda distortion machine but with 3dimentional information. Good job UAD

I. Turner

July 17, 2017

Balls of Fire

This box rox with its thing out! Brought so much balls to the most recent record I produced for a client. I used it on guitars mostly, and also on snare with great results. I've never used the original hardware, so can't compare, but this is easily my favorite distortion plug.

D. Louisin

July 16, 2017

Place in a battery bus and bass ...warmth guaranteed for a highlight in the mix A must have


I use culture vulture to give a little more flavor when I use the technique of multi bus compression! Place just after a DBX 160, wow ,warmth and dynamism are waiting for you !!!!!!! Exellent tool !!! Thank you UAD and thermionic culture !!!
Donat Louisin for youtube mix indie home itb !!

21-40 of 114 Results