Thermionic Culture Vulture

Thermionic Culture Vulture

Regular Price: $299.00

$119.00

You'll Save 60%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $299.00

$119.00

You'll Save 60%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Thermionic Culture Vulture

Overall Rating

21-40 of 146 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

R. Ketchem

August 7, 2014

Not UAD's finest hour

From the silly promo video to the actual plug-in, this one is a disappointment. I've used the hardware for years and the plug-in manages to capture, maybe 40% of the magic. For $299, it's still a bargain, but I'm hoping for a sweeter version with future upgrades.

D. Matthies

July 21, 2014

Sounds awesome, uses an insane amount of DSP

This thing is really beautiful sounding and does what you would expect, but uses A LOT of DSP, enough that is should come with a disclaimer. I'm used to The ATR-102, which is a heavy DSP hitter, but this seems to use almost twice as much.

B. Finnie

July 9, 2014

Sounds nothing like the hardware.

As an avid UAD user and also an owner of the Vulture hardware unit I was excited to hear about this release. However, upon hearing the audio examples I was very disappointed. The distortion sounds nothing like the hardware, and the overdrive switch sounds like a cheap plug-in not even comparable to other dedicated distortion plug-ins already available for the same price. why pay 300 for a gain knob?

C. Bower

July 17, 2014

Dont Stack the Cards Please!

Come on, I realize you guys want good reviews, but as customers we want reliable reviews that we can trust. Please remove all the duplicate 4 and 5 star reviews for this product and others.

M. Compton

July 15, 2014

It's like sound toys decapitator only twice as expensive and 5 years later

I wanted to love it, really did.... I like it, but it doesn't live up to the characteristics of other similar plugins like Decapitator or camelphat. Pretty disappointing really, and at this price there is no way I will be a buyer.

-1 star for value
-1 star for lacking exciting or unique characteristics
-1 star because I think 3 stars is too much

J. Carmo

July 18, 2014

Culture Vulture Reviews

Please remove all the duplicate 4 and 5 star reviews for this product and others.
I have over 2500$ plugins from UA, i love your stuff, have Satellite DUO, Apollo Quad, LA-610 and gonna buy Octo core, but i want to continue trusting UA company. Even if im opinion about CV is very negative, it does not mean i am not satisfy with your products...i really love UA stuff, but after demo several times CV, i really think this plug IMHO is a mistake...but, everybody makes mistakes.

A. Puro

September 5, 2014

great sound but has some kinks...

This plug sounds great but unfortunately as of right now for DP users it causes massive glitchy/stuttering sounds when run at a buffer size of 512. Running it at 256 or 1024 is fine however.

G. Piazza

July 29, 2014

Please don't review based on DSP usage!

Caveats:
I do not yet own this plug-in or the hardware, nor have I demo'd it.

BUT, I have to chime in here on all the reviews complaining about too much DSP usage.

As most professional engineers know, the main point of having UAD cards is to facilitate unrestricted plug-in development. I.E. no compromises circuit emulation.

To me, it is a good thing that UA are developing plug-ins without concern for DSP usage.

Think about it - if you want 'efficient' plug-ins (that often sound so-so) then buy something else.

Eventually, UA will release UAD-3 cards, and we will be glad they did not compromise to save DSP.

Until I try CV, 4 stars for ignoring the 'too much DSP' blowback.

I. Babayoff

July 8, 2014

DSP consumption

I love your plugs, they are 85-100% of my Mixes. But... this one have way to much DSP consumption. so its not a real option for me no matter how good it sounds. Sorry.

P. Tavasoly

July 18, 2014

Thiz plugin is amazingly amazing !

Got in love with it at the first use !!! I mean WOW !¡!¡
I do not understand those guys who say it is not a good plug ....
Maybe you need to switch to better speakers or converters !
This thing is one on the most advanced modelings I have ever came across.
The sound is extreamly real. Injects life to everything I tried.
But I warn you ! You must have hi quality material to hear this baby correct.
It does do magic but can not make badly recorded material into gold.
It is not a home studio toy. It is hi end stuff. You need to be pro to use it.

THANS UA ... You nailed it just like always.... Love you !

J. Carmo

July 8, 2014

Can´t be true....Disaster

Please UA, tell me this is one mistake...
I never heard the hardware, but this plug sounds IMO very BAD.
I just saw the video and the distortion that this plug generates
is horrible IMO. Can´t belive that UA (The best in the market) have done this job...!!!

J. Carmo

July 25, 2014

UAD Culture Vulture vs HW

I have give already a bad review to the CV plugin because the type of distortion
this plugin delivers, is IMO very digital, not Warm/Tube like, but after watching the demo
of the original HW unit in a guitar and other stuff, my opinion is different. I really dont´t like the sound otf the HW because IMHO the saturation is not warm like other tube gear, but the emulation of UA is not so bad. If there are people who like the HW, i understand they like the UAD CV and they will be happy with this. I really love UA, but not this particular Plugin, but it depends also of personal taste...

J. Reed

December 14, 2018

I love it

I just got it not long ago, I've been using it on bass, it just adds some punch and clarity without losing any bottom. I just love distortion and this thing does it great from subtle warmth to full on screaming sound destruction.

R. Persson

December 14, 2018

Best ever.

Bought it right away. Best distortion plugin i own.

C. Soto

December 14, 2018

Great Tone Box

It's simple and effective. There are plenty of tones to shape without being over the top. It's subtle and effective.

UAD User

December 13, 2018

Surprisingly diverse

Blown away by the capabilities of the Vulture. The more you push it the better it sounds.

c. jackson

December 11, 2018

Winning Culture

I tried the demo on my bass... and Boom, it got me! Like someone mentioned on a previous review here, I too tried to make the ‘Soundtoys Decapitator’ act like a Culture Vulture, but it just didn’t cut it. Don’t get me wrong now, the Decap sounds great on most things and i use it on most my mixes. But the Culture has a certain depth and feel to it that i couldn’t deny no matter how bad i wanted too. Really easy to dial in with the wet dry knob too. I can rip something to shreds like guitars and drum distortion, or give a strong smooth presence to vox & keys. It also brings out the best in my other plugins and makes them sound even better ie...”the culture with cl1b is magnific” It makes everything sound great, Vox, Bass, Drums Synths> Everything.
The Vulture is a Beast Period. I’m glad he’s on my side now.

D. Perini

December 6, 2018

Thermionic Culture Vulture

Thermionic Culture Vulture is a real useful tool!

A. Bruschini

December 5, 2018

Brilliant... No, I mean BRILLIANT.

I will admit it, I am old and come from 2" tape machines and SSL desks, studios that cost £1000 a day! As a pro musician some years ago a bought a UA Twin and P-tools to listen to mixes coming from our main studio and also lay some Gtr ideas down from my hotel room and send back (embracing modern technology). My problem was even when using clean tones it always had to be re-recorded with an amp and mics back home, So after a bit of research I bought the Culture vulture, WOW even a small amount made the guitar sit in the track, Bass fattens up nicely, Rhoads piano is wow... I even tried it on overheads (Ooops)! Now that clinical digital sound is tamed... I love it. BTW the UA Distressor is a must too. As to DSP problems.... 'Print it' problem solved!

R. Garmash

November 28, 2018

Great for adding sub power

I have tested this one with Fabfilter Saturn, and this wins. More sub power. More kind of hardware power than just high freuq. picture like power.

21-40 of 146 Results