Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$149.00

You'll Save 57%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$149.00

You'll Save 57%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

181-200 of 587 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

C. Laster

January 2, 2017

AMPEX ATR-102

I HAVE THE OXIDE AND THE AMPEX ATR-102 AND I CAN'T WAIT TO GET THE STUDER. FOR YEARS IVE BEEN USING THE STEVEN SLATE VTM ON MY MIX BUS ONLY AND THE ATR WILL NOW TAKE ITS PLACE. IT GLUES THE ENTIRE MIX TOGETHER AND THATS ALL I NEED TO SAY AND THAT'S ALL I NEED IT TO DO! THE ONLY ISSUE I HAVE IS THE PRICE BUT LUCKILY THERE'S THE CUSTOM 3 BUNDLE!!!

A. Picciafuochi

January 1, 2017

Ideal for warming mastering

Ideal for warming particularly "digital sounding" mastering

R. Shaw

December 31, 2016

Absolutely Stunning

I can't tell you just how amazing this plugin is, it has to be used and experienced to see just what it does. I previously was using a Slate tape emulation plugin and the difference was very apparent. I still like the Slate for group saturation but for the overall mix this is untouchable.

j. elliott

December 30, 2016

far and away my favorite tape emu.

permanently lives on my two bus for mix down.

D. Whittington

December 27, 2016

At the beginning of my Mastering strip everytime!

Even when I place this on my master strip it pulls my track together on Default. The presets are always good enough to find a sound I am after regardless of the style of music I am working on. Cheers UAD!

J. Pitcher

December 25, 2016

Great Finish

If you're looking for a way to polish the final mix or as a last step in your mastering chain, this is it. It's the final layer that buffs and polishes the overall sound. Love it.

F. Batiste III

December 22, 2016

Master Of The Two Bus

Just put it on the two bus and watch it turn a good mix into a great one. Best tape emulation period IMHO.

F. Vieira

December 22, 2016

Can't live without it

This plugin brings my mixing to another level... Great Character and impact!
Use it all time!!!!

M. Cartwright

December 19, 2016

great

I have been trying this plugin all over my mixes. I tried it with some keys and it added some incredible warble/vibrato effects when the wow & flutter were dialed up. It also sounds incredible for glue on the master when set with normal settings. Just push the input right where the signal pushes into the tape and pull back a little. I like some of the magic that happens there. It makes transients live in a happy place.

S. Gough

December 15, 2016

Adds life to dead tracks

Great for master and drum busses. Can make drums sound nice and fat. It added some life back into tracks that were cut on a less than impressive console. Reacts very similarly to a real machine

A. Meyer

December 14, 2016

This is the plugin that made me take the UAD leap.

This is a wonderful plugin. It comes very close to the original. This plugin goes deep in the amount of tones you can get out of it. I like being able to switch between the sync and play heads. This is a mandatory UAD plugin.

UAD User

December 10, 2016

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder Review

From the moment I first tried this plugin on my entire mix, I felt like I finally found the missing link to a GREAT sounding mix. The number of different sounds you can get just by choosing different combinations of tape speeds, head widths, tape formulas, calibration levels, biasing, wow/flutter, hum/hiss and input/output record levels is astonishing!
A huge range of tape sounds are covered from lo-fi (3.75 IPS, 1/4" head) All the way to Ultra Hi Fidelity (30 IPS 1" Head)
A really cool add on is the tape delay control, which gives you tape delay effect, with variable time control.
A MUST HAVE plugin. Great Job UA!

J. Banfield

December 8, 2016

Fantastic!

I worked with tape for many years and was happy to abandon it when digital caught up. Tape is a major headache and hope I never have to touch it again. This plugin brings back some of that special "warmth" that those old machines and oxides used to give the sound without ANY of the hassle of a real tape machine. While not necessary for every application (I am a fan of clean digital sound), it is great on some tracks to add that dirt and classic sound. Very flexible and faithful recreation of the "tape" sound. UA has done it again. A bit pricey but if you catch it on sale, totally worth it!

A. Suanlarm

December 3, 2016

An Absolute Must!

I use this along with the other two tape plugins. I wouldn't mix without them. Everything just sounds better.

N. Dayan

December 3, 2016

My go-to mix bus plugin

The Ampex ends up on most of my mix busses as a last insert and gives that finishing touch to a mix. It glues the track together and smooths out the top end for that analog sound. I'm also very pleased with the tape delay effects that it can produce and along with the wow and flutter settings, I've been able to recreate that 60s tape flange effect I was looking for.

a. vt

December 2, 2016

the only tape emulator i need

this is it, when im after the warmth of the tape, the extra glue i need on my masters

W. McCurdy

November 30, 2016

Copious Amounts of Fatness

I always marvel at how people describe treatments that effect sound, so I'll give a crack at it for the first time here. The sound is fat, and delicious! its warm and rich, its amazingly good =] soooooo tasty... How'd I do? Pretty good, yeah? I thought so, but yeah this plugin is that good. Love it! I never leave reviews, but this thing is so good I couldn't resist! Do not hesitate to purchase this one and enjoy! Cheers

S. Hill

November 24, 2016

Just make it sound cool!

Put it on the master bus and be happy :-D

E. Wohl

November 20, 2016

Great Purchase!!

I was spending hours and hours on a mix and couldn't get the low end right. Things were fighting and wasn't really jelling right. I was just about to play a low sub keyboard along with the bass to fill out the bottom but before i did that I put on the ATR 102 and bam magic, not only did it fix my low end but made the high end come to life too, well done UA!!!!

O. Us

November 20, 2016

One of my top 5 plug-in

I've tried both Struder and ATR and first i bought ATR and probably a week later i got the Struder. These are my go to plug-ins and the thing they do with transients is incredible. Smooths, thickens, saturates, polishes and finishes your mix. I do not feel like the mix is finished if i don't use ATR.
If you work on the speeds, you get what you need, bright? ok go faster, jelly glue and warmth and thick low end; ok go 15..
The delay is incredible. Just for the delay this plugin would deserve it's price. Yes pricey, i recommend you to catch a sales... It shines between countless plugins. Totally pro. If you do not have Struder it'll do all its job, if you have Struder they are brothers in arms..

181-200 of 587 Results