Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00


You'll Save 14%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00


You'll Save 14%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

181-200 of 574 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

A. Suanlarm

December 3, 2016

An Absolute Must!

I use this along with the other two tape plugins. I wouldn't mix without them. Everything just sounds better.

N. Dayan

December 3, 2016

My go-to mix bus plugin

The Ampex ends up on most of my mix busses as a last insert and gives that finishing touch to a mix. It glues the track together and smooths out the top end for that analog sound. I'm also very pleased with the tape delay effects that it can produce and along with the wow and flutter settings, I've been able to recreate that 60s tape flange effect I was looking for.

a. vt

December 2, 2016

the only tape emulator i need

this is it, when im after the warmth of the tape, the extra glue i need on my masters

W. McCurdy

November 30, 2016

Copious Amounts of Fatness

I always marvel at how people describe treatments that effect sound, so I'll give a crack at it for the first time here. The sound is fat, and delicious! its warm and rich, its amazingly good =] soooooo tasty... How'd I do? Pretty good, yeah? I thought so, but yeah this plugin is that good. Love it! I never leave reviews, but this thing is so good I couldn't resist! Do not hesitate to purchase this one and enjoy! Cheers

S. Hill

November 24, 2016

Just make it sound cool!

Put it on the master bus and be happy :-D

E. Wohl

November 20, 2016

Great Purchase!!

I was spending hours and hours on a mix and couldn't get the low end right. Things were fighting and wasn't really jelling right. I was just about to play a low sub keyboard along with the bass to fill out the bottom but before i did that I put on the ATR 102 and bam magic, not only did it fix my low end but made the high end come to life too, well done UA!!!!

O. Us

November 20, 2016

One of my top 5 plug-in

I've tried both Struder and ATR and first i bought ATR and probably a week later i got the Struder. These are my go to plug-ins and the thing they do with transients is incredible. Smooths, thickens, saturates, polishes and finishes your mix. I do not feel like the mix is finished if i don't use ATR.
If you work on the speeds, you get what you need, bright? ok go faster, jelly glue and warmth and thick low end; ok go 15..
The delay is incredible. Just for the delay this plugin would deserve it's price. Yes pricey, i recommend you to catch a sales... It shines between countless plugins. Totally pro. If you do not have Struder it'll do all its job, if you have Struder they are brothers in arms..

UAD User

November 18, 2016

The finishing touch on the mixdown bus

I am now using the UAD Studer A800 on my individual tracks with the Ampex on the mixdown bus, which feeds the print track. I'm an old analog gal (dating back to 1988) and now, thanks to UAD I am once again faithfully analog all the way down my signal chain, start to finish. When I have time, I want to instantiate the Ampex on each of my stereo threads being fed to my hardware summing amp - I think it could be stellar. My projects are primarily blues related, pretty "old school" and they scream for analog. The Ampex gives me a mixdown sound that is faithful to the hardware, and frankly I could not be happier, nor could my clients.
RedRaven-Sounds LLC

C. Holford

November 16, 2016

Subtle and deep tape emulation

this model is so detailed in terms of controls and options that you'll be able to tweak away endlessly to your heart's content -but it can also be as quick as you want it to be. Every new tool lends a different possible flavor, but this plugin is probably close to as subtle and variable as actually having one of these machines. Really looking forward to trying the ATR out on new mastering projects coming up.


November 12, 2016

Feeling Analog

This is amazing...I can't belive what I hear when I use ::)))

D. van Haarlem

November 10, 2016

Instantly and fully customizable "analog tape" sound!

You can read everywhere how good this tape-plugin sounds. And I wholeheartedly agree with that, but for me the biggest asset is that you can adjust all kind of parmeters to your likings depending on what the specific track/project needs; If you don't want noise, you switch it off, add wow & flutter, have different tape choices and calibrations, do bias adjustments, all in a few clicks for easy comparison. Imagine what a hastle that would be with a real tape machine. Oh and did I mention the glue and the breath it adds to your tracks?! This one is a real winner!

D. Shacallis

November 8, 2016


Love love love it. Whatever you need it does it. It brings dull to life. It tames bright. It exudes warmth and wobble! Well done lads. 5 stars

P. Braux

November 8, 2016

The best !

Super boulot ! un plaisir et un rendu énorme ...

B. Schimmel

November 4, 2016

What ever it is - things just sound better

Simply the best tape emulation i have heard so far.
Very subtile but VERY effective.

S. Son

November 3, 2016


Stays on the 2 Bus. No words to explain the magical powers of this one! #SUCCESS #ITSOUNDSLIKEARECORDNOW

B. Oszczak

November 1, 2016

Ampex atr-102

It is a must have plugin for Master Track - it glues everything and has dozens of mastering possibilities

L. Angulo

October 17, 2016

Great so far

I cannot compare it to the real thing but what i hear is interesting,i still have to mess with it more offcourse

M. Nigro

October 11, 2016

Best Tape plugin

Oh, boy! This is an incredible versatile tape emulation plugin! The sound character is amazing and you can have a lot of fun with the tape delay option. I think I have test the main tape emulation plugins available. Ampex ATR-102 is by far the best!

G. Link

September 23, 2016


I am all about that analog tape vibe -- I love mixing lofi analog sounds along with hifi digital recordings in a mix, creating that contrast. So when it comes to analog-simulation vsts, I like the ones that REALLY give it that tape vibe -- even when it's to the point of destruction. The ATR-102, out of the other UAD tape sims, is the best and most authentic when you want to get that warmth. Whether you want to make your drums just a tad warmer, or make them sound like they've been recorded on a boombox back in '85, this plugin will help you get there. I've used and tested a LOT of analog tape plugins (pretty much all of them) and this is the best out as of right now.

s. bjornsen

September 23, 2016

Great analog warmth!

If you want "past and future! warmth on your songs, this is it! Only thing i would have loved was a simple "tape hiss" button to click on and off in case it was a song i would liked to be "all silent" but still get the warmth of the plug in:) but well, its just to dial those knobes, and you will find a solution.

181-200 of 574 Results