Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

41-60 of 661 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Cranman

June 30, 2014

Pretty Freakin Sweet

I'm going with 4 stars instead of 5 just because it's not real tape and their of course will always be some sort of analog magic, some ethereal sparkle that no digital device will ever re-capture. . . But this sounds awesome in it's own right and gets very close to my memories of nice tape machines. . . But it's kindof it's own thing. Adds a certain heft and density to the recording that is subtle but very very cool for taking tracks "over the edge". . .

S. Gilroy

May 23, 2014

Old Geezer Stuff

Not impressed because I have native plugins that do the same thing. If you need the power buy it and use it on your DSP system but don't be intimidated by the name, just another tape simulator. Typical UAD model something 50 years old. What a Geezer company. I hate how complicated this plugin is, like it takes some magic genie to run it or something. Tape emulators should be simple, like the Phoenix.

E. Gonzales

February 20, 2014

I would have paid $1000 for this plug in...it's that good!

This plug in is hands down the best thing that has ever happened to me. A must have for guys trying to master at home. It literally saved several tired mixes I had given up on bringing life, warmth and clarity to otherwise dead mixes. I never thought I would say there is one plug in that can save any mix but this one defys everything I know about digital and home recording. That old expression, "You can't polish a turd?" Well this plug in can. Very musical. Universal Audio has changed my entire perspective and approch to recording and this plug in is the flag ship that transforms your recordings to music. For the first time in my life, I'm smiling at the finished mixes I'm able to put out now.

D. Medvedev

July 31, 2013

The first sample

Hi! Slowly prazbirayus with this device. One thing I can tell he's doing his job. Although not all the tracks it can be applied, it is necessary to accurately represent what you want to get to the finish. In general, good!

A. Perez

July 26, 2013

Ampex Utilities

Dear:
thanks for your request,
can i use this plug in mono channel? or is only for stereo channels?
is only for mastering?
what is the difference between the studer A600 and Ampex?
thanks

J. Murawski

February 1, 2013

ampex

The best plug.. out there, Not only for master, You can use it on individual tracks,iam. using it as a sound procesor making the track bigger ,it ads That analog Punch To do low end, And of course the nice sweetness of tape,litle EQ, ,,, You can set up the ampex as a tape delay and it's really unique,,its like having six or more Plugs in one , And when am done recording am puting it as a second to lastplug,on my stereo out, It glues Everything together, Ther are different presets for either MIX or MSTR.the only MINUs is that UAD pluggins in general dont have to many presets for any type of electronic music,,its all like rock ,jazz,country, I wish the uad People Recognize that and Release an update with some presets for electronic music,

D. Brown

June 18, 2019

Mastering solution

This thing makes all my work blend together in a perfect balance. Smoothing out the low end and bringing the kick and bass together. It’s awesome!

M. Rose

June 15, 2019

A little bit of Magic

The ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder is just Incredible I'm Blown away by the Quality
it Bring's something to the table that other Tape emulations just don't have
A great bit of kit ( Try it and you'll Buy it ;-)

B. Gibbons

June 14, 2019

wow

this plug-in took my masters to the next level, my go-to plug in now

S. Roefs

June 14, 2019

Amazing

This in not subtle like a few other tape emulations. This is heavy stuff and is simply magic.

S. Manuaba

June 12, 2019

Supacool

Love the result from ATR, give me sweet saturation n tape feel so real

s. coar

May 28, 2019

Wow!

I was expecting this plugin to sound good but it is downright transformative. So many options, so many very cool sounds, and that’s just the presets. Once you start tweaking the eargasms really start in earnest.

J. OBrien

May 19, 2019

One Of my favorite plugins

I use this plugin on almost every track I mix. It’s super versatile and can make almost anything sound better especially on a mix/master bus. Amazing job by everyone involved in creating this. I have a bunch of other tape emulations but this is by far my favorite one. If you are thinking about buying it you should you won’t regret it.

R. Carvalho

May 12, 2019

Best Tape emulator

With no doubt, Ampex is the best tape emulator on the market. Put it in your mix buss and you will never let it out.

UAD User

May 11, 2019

Ampex ART-102

Just makes the difference to a 2 bus or Master track.

UAD User

April 24, 2019

Everything they say it is

I read on the forums how this was a game changing plugin...it is! Throw it on at the end of your master and watch it suddenly warm up and glue together. I can’t do without it now.

J. Calverley

April 17, 2019

Give your too clear digital audio character

Expensive but worth every nickle my nizzle. Nothing else quite like it. One thing I learned though is that it outputs a "dirty" type noise when on a track so you may see some slight meter dancing when nothing is playing. But when my vocals were too bright and clear this calmed it all down to a pleasant level. Kind of like when coloring video, you record high quality digital video but you don't want that "home video" look, you want that film look, so you color it to taste. This is that for audio.

J. Blake

April 14, 2019

Excellent for rounding things out and glueing the mix together.

I absolutely love this plugin! By far the best tape emulation I’ve ever heard. Can’t recommend enough!

A. Hernandez

April 5, 2019

Ampex®

excellent , Shine on you crazy diamond

J. Alexander

April 4, 2019

Wow! Best Tape on the market in software form

I use this on every one of my masters since getting it, and also use it on bass, kick, drums, vocals... It is AMAZING!

41-60 of 661 Results