Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$199.00

You'll Save 42%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

41-60 of 603 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Cranman

June 30, 2014

Pretty Freakin Sweet

I'm going with 4 stars instead of 5 just because it's not real tape and their of course will always be some sort of analog magic, some ethereal sparkle that no digital device will ever re-capture. . . But this sounds awesome in it's own right and gets very close to my memories of nice tape machines. . . But it's kindof it's own thing. Adds a certain heft and density to the recording that is subtle but very very cool for taking tracks "over the edge". . .

S. Gilroy

May 23, 2014

Old Geezer Stuff

Not impressed because I have native plugins that do the same thing. If you need the power buy it and use it on your DSP system but don't be intimidated by the name, just another tape simulator. Typical UAD model something 50 years old. What a Geezer company. I hate how complicated this plugin is, like it takes some magic genie to run it or something. Tape emulators should be simple, like the Phoenix.

E. Gonzales

February 20, 2014

I would have paid $1000 for this plug in...it's that good!

This plug in is hands down the best thing that has ever happened to me. A must have for guys trying to master at home. It literally saved several tired mixes I had given up on bringing life, warmth and clarity to otherwise dead mixes. I never thought I would say there is one plug in that can save any mix but this one defys everything I know about digital and home recording. That old expression, "You can't polish a turd?" Well this plug in can. Very musical. Universal Audio has changed my entire perspective and approch to recording and this plug in is the flag ship that transforms your recordings to music. For the first time in my life, I'm smiling at the finished mixes I'm able to put out now.

D. Medvedev

July 31, 2013

The first sample

Hi! Slowly prazbirayus with this device. One thing I can tell he's doing his job. Although not all the tracks it can be applied, it is necessary to accurately represent what you want to get to the finish. In general, good!

A. Perez

July 26, 2013

Ampex Utilities

Dear:
thanks for your request,
can i use this plug in mono channel? or is only for stereo channels?
is only for mastering?
what is the difference between the studer A600 and Ampex?
thanks

J. Murawski

February 1, 2013

ampex

The best plug.. out there, Not only for master, You can use it on individual tracks,iam. using it as a sound procesor making the track bigger ,it ads That analog Punch To do low end, And of course the nice sweetness of tape,litle EQ, ,,, You can set up the ampex as a tape delay and it's really unique,,its like having six or more Plugs in one , And when am done recording am puting it as a second to lastplug,on my stereo out, It glues Everything together, Ther are different presets for either MIX or MSTR.the only MINUs is that UAD pluggins in general dont have to many presets for any type of electronic music,,its all like rock ,jazz,country, I wish the uad People Recognize that and Release an update with some presets for electronic music,

S. Safiullin

September 19, 2018

What is needed!..

this plugin is excellent "colors" sound! I like to apply it on the master bus already at the stage of mixing to avoid surprises after.
I like its saturation at the top of the range. Of course everyone finds its application to any of the universal Audio plug-ins and I'm sure that this plug-in should be in your gentleman's setup.
Good luck!

C. Uquillas

September 9, 2018

Eccellente !

Sono più che contento, uno dei migliore, se non il migliore, plugins di uad e anche di quelli analoghi che si trovano sul mercato

S. Thomas

September 8, 2018

retour au source

i had to record a lot with tape and nothing beats the sonic bliss of a piece of music laid down on a saturating tape..Warmth, fullness , transparency with an edge...this ampex atr 102 ......plugin is the nearest i went to the real deal...it doesnt just add color or eq the signal...in fact its acting A LOT the way tape acts...try it, like i did and i promise you wont finish the 15 days before getting it !! :)

J. Murner

August 25, 2018

For added clarity in a final mix

Sometimes it works, sometimes not, but most of the time it does. Gives sparkles, clarity to a final mix

C. Kaliampakas

August 2, 2018

Best Tape for my tracks

I love how its sounds, that vintage colour is whats missing from todays music. It helps a lot to get rid of the "plastic sound" of the digital world

M. Funk

July 29, 2018

Gives that extra sheen that mastered tracks have.

Very versatile plugin that does something that i just cant seem to match with other tape plugins on my master bus and vocal bus.

UAD User

July 16, 2018

Sound great but beware of the latency.

The best tape plug in ever, but you cannot track through this. If you wanna use it for tracking get the Studer.

P. Schwaiger

July 16, 2018

Incredible!

It's an unwritten law, that you have to know your plugins to use them to their fullest potential... and there are only a few exceptions to that rule. The UAD Ampex Tape is one of them. Simply insert it to you masterbus and listen!

R. Novin

July 14, 2018

Perfekt

In short, you want analog sound? Thats the best way to have

a. rosas

July 13, 2018

holy fuck

hands down the one UAD plugin you cannot substitute or live without. I have a few waves plugins and I’m subscribed to the slate everything bundle and THIS PLUGIN IS GODLY

S. Svishchev

July 2, 2018

Super plugin,recommendable!!!

Until recently I used the tape emulation in the form of OAD tape recorder UAD and I really liked it and I'm still happy with this purchase.
I have been testing the Ampex® ATR-102 mastering for several days and have read many reviews, and here is this plugin that I have.

I like this plugin because it can be tuned differently to a particular audio material, it is very functional and works smoothly with the sound, I miss the tape delay in the Oxide Tape Recorder and the advanced setting of the tape speed.
In a word, the combine is all included)) I am pleased about my purchase and wish you dear colleagues to have made the right choice.
Thanks UAD!!

D. Stevens

June 30, 2018

This thing's like air

When I mix I like it on the master buss. It has results really hard to describe. It does multiple things all at the same time in one preset. If I try to equal it, I gotta use 3 - 4 other plugins. I also like it on s drum buss.

S. Pedneault

June 27, 2018

Allways on!!

Awsome on the Master Bus!!

G. Strickland

June 26, 2018

It has a thing you are going to want

I use this on every master and sometimes on sub group bounces. It adds an instant quality. I don't understand how it does that but that's not important. If you are considering it I'd say do it. I'm glad I did

41-60 of 603 Results