Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Regular Price: $349.00

$149.00

You'll Save 57%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$149.00

You'll Save 57%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Ampex® ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

41-60 of 584 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Cranman

June 30, 2014

Pretty Freakin Sweet

I'm going with 4 stars instead of 5 just because it's not real tape and their of course will always be some sort of analog magic, some ethereal sparkle that no digital device will ever re-capture. . . But this sounds awesome in it's own right and gets very close to my memories of nice tape machines. . . But it's kindof it's own thing. Adds a certain heft and density to the recording that is subtle but very very cool for taking tracks "over the edge". . .

S. Gilroy

May 23, 2014

Old Geezer Stuff

Not impressed because I have native plugins that do the same thing. If you need the power buy it and use it on your DSP system but don't be intimidated by the name, just another tape simulator. Typical UAD model something 50 years old. What a Geezer company. I hate how complicated this plugin is, like it takes some magic genie to run it or something. Tape emulators should be simple, like the Phoenix.

E. Gonzales

February 20, 2014

I would have paid $1000 for this plug in...it's that good!

This plug in is hands down the best thing that has ever happened to me. A must have for guys trying to master at home. It literally saved several tired mixes I had given up on bringing life, warmth and clarity to otherwise dead mixes. I never thought I would say there is one plug in that can save any mix but this one defys everything I know about digital and home recording. That old expression, "You can't polish a turd?" Well this plug in can. Very musical. Universal Audio has changed my entire perspective and approch to recording and this plug in is the flag ship that transforms your recordings to music. For the first time in my life, I'm smiling at the finished mixes I'm able to put out now.

D. Medvedev

July 31, 2013

The first sample

Hi! Slowly prazbirayus with this device. One thing I can tell he's doing his job. Although not all the tracks it can be applied, it is necessary to accurately represent what you want to get to the finish. In general, good!

A. Perez

July 26, 2013

Ampex Utilities

Dear:
thanks for your request,
can i use this plug in mono channel? or is only for stereo channels?
is only for mastering?
what is the difference between the studer A600 and Ampex?
thanks

J. Murawski

February 1, 2013

ampex

The best plug.. out there, Not only for master, You can use it on individual tracks,iam. using it as a sound procesor making the track bigger ,it ads That analog Punch To do low end, And of course the nice sweetness of tape,litle EQ, ,,, You can set up the ampex as a tape delay and it's really unique,,its like having six or more Plugs in one , And when am done recording am puting it as a second to lastplug,on my stereo out, It glues Everything together, Ther are different presets for either MIX or MSTR.the only MINUs is that UAD pluggins in general dont have to many presets for any type of electronic music,,its all like rock ,jazz,country, I wish the uad People Recognize that and Release an update with some presets for electronic music,

J. Nichols

June 15, 2018

A must on every mix...

I’ll keep it short... This goes on every mix without question. It just doesn’t sound like a record without it. My typical settings are 15ips, 456 tape, +6 Cal, 1/2 inch. Glues everything together in a way that just sounds great.

Y. Mori

June 1, 2018

ATR-102 Mastering Tape Recorder

The best.
Your house will be the mastering studio.
You should buy this if you use UAD 2.

E. Ananda

May 19, 2018

Amazing!

Great addition to a mastering chain. noticeable difference.

J. Davitt

May 11, 2018

Pleasantly Surprised

My new go - to for heavy guitars. It seems to dip the midrange subtly and adds a touch of growl to chuggy rhythm as well as help bring the stereo image forward.

F. Rainville Côté

April 30, 2018

I love it 8>

Great presets also!

S. Hiestand

April 19, 2018

Mind-blowing analog heaven!

I recently purchased an Apollo Twin Quad and for one of my discounted plug-ins I picked the ATR-102. Being an old-school analog guy, it was an obvious choice. But...I'm always more than a bit skeptical with advertising, and after watching the promo video I said to myself "It can't be that good".

Well, it IS that good.

I've never been fortunate enough to use or see first-hand an ATR-102 in a studio, but I think I do know how to recognize "that sound" of music recorded with analog tape. I was frankly blown away and amazed at the difference once I threw this plug-in on my stereo out channel as I was finishing up my latest mix. Just wow! Grittier but "smoother", you'd never know your music was really just a bunch of 1's and 0's with this thing activated. As advertised, it really "glues" your mix together. I also purchased the Studer A800 so obviously that only adds to the overall improvement in sound. I cant speak to using the ATR-102 in "isolation" (I was too lazy to shut off all my Studer instances and listen) but I'll bet it's still awesome. Playing with the different tape speeds, tape types, bias etc. really gives you some nice variety of textures. The tough part is deciding which to finally pick, because they all have some great qualities.

If you value that old tape/analog sound, RUN, do not walk, and purchas this plug-in. It's worth every penny!

H. Cabrera

April 11, 2018

Siempre presente en mi sonido!

te da ese pegamento o no se que ,que nadie sabe explicar en el sonido de un tema, definitivamente lo uso y usare en cada mezcla, se volvio un basico de mi sonido, lo recomiendo ampliamente

A. Gasper

April 6, 2018

Superb

Absolutely amazing. It adds an indescribable character to any mix of any genre. Warm and beautiful with total control. Get it!

M. Buracchi

March 27, 2018

Ampex 102

fantastic, ampex sounds and brings you back to feel the analogue dough

W. Paluk

March 22, 2018

ATR-102 is awesome!!!

Have used other tape machine emulations but the minute I heard the UAD ATR I had to buy it. It’s now my go to tape plug-in on the 2 buss.

K. Smith

March 17, 2018

Indispensable!

I use this a lot. Tape flanging, delay, but most importantly on the mix buss. It really does sound like an ATR 102, the best sounding 2 track ever produced. The sound is so legit I check it to see if it ran out of tape yet (it never does).

D. Kuvalin

March 13, 2018

Best mix bus plug-in

This tape machine is the best sounding for finalise my mixes. It's a first UAD plug that I bought absolutely without a doubts. You just put it on mix bus and it's already rise my mix to a new level. Make some small settings and you done! Awesome analog sound with tape character! Just Awesome!

e. nedd

March 10, 2018

wooowwwwwww

this just adds the final touch to your mixes,...I really love it

R. DIAMOND

March 9, 2018

Magic

A very simple plugin to use yet makes a mix come alive.Adds some magic mojo that opens up a mix that eq or compression can not do,another winner

41-60 of 584 Results