OX Amp Top Box

OX Amp Top Box

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Find a Dealer

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

OX Amp Top Box

Overall Rating

1-20 of 62 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

A. Vigre

February 20, 2019

Love it.

Looking forward to an even more live guitarist interface, like footswitch for remote change between rigs and on/off rev, delays, compressor. And midi sync for delay speed. The latter is of course handy both live and in studio gigs. I1d also for the left and right channel like two separate dry/wet pots so to have one chanel dry guitar and the other chanel wet in fx. In example reverb unit wet in L and dry in R. And oposite in the modulation unit with R wet and L dry. Thanks for impressive work in speaker and mic simulation. Allan

D. DIENG

February 18, 2019

The eighth wonder of the world

This is clearly the best gear I got. I own many guitars, many amps and many pedals. But this thing does a lot of marvels. Your sound stays pure and more...Now, I can hear a lot of details that I never heard before. It is worth every penny. Please UAD, release more cabinets, more treasures and the Ox Amp will be invincible... forever...

M. Daruvala

February 18, 2019

Perfect for the Studio ONLY

Perfect for the studio, but not for live use. There are many reasons against it for live use and the main one is the large volume steps in the attenuator. I tried using it for a wet dry wet setup, but was unsuccessful since the dry was either too quiet or too loud. I also fear that any liquids can get in through the vents totally destroying the box. I'm also keen to know if the footswitch option will be implemented and would be used for changing rigs - however, currently switching between rigs is too slow, so when you go into the lead break or switch to something ambient there will be a one or two second delay for the new rig to cut in.
I really want UA to be a leader in this product just like they are in the rest of their range. It is a solution that many have been waiting for and I now think they have missed the opportunity as another (as I regard) inferior manufacturer have taken advantage of the missing features of the Ox. UA have got to realise that the Ox is a solution for live gigging usage which is a larger money spinner that for studio.

H. Jørgensen

February 18, 2019

Next update?

Still missing V30’s. Any updates including this in the near future? Really had my hopes up for the OX.

M. David

January 8, 2019

Not much to say.

There is not much to say. This device is perfect.

R. Panossian

January 7, 2019

I've been waiting for this all my life!

I have been through almost every possible way to have a guitar sound into a headphone, for the past 35 years! This is so far the best solution. I must admit that lately there have been some pretty good sounding emulators, but the big problem with almost all of them is that they don't feel like the real thing., there is is something very special that happens when you plug a guitar directly to an all tube amp that hasn't been emulated yet. Unison plug ins gets closer. All internet comparisons that compares real amps with emulators all depend on how close is the sound, in my opinion that is useless since sometimes the emulations sounds better than the real amp. Things that I love is how the different guitars preserves their unique personality and playability, it's easier to play and you just don't have to fight to get the sound you want. I'm very thankfull to be able to experience such an amazing setup. Every note is blooming and sustaining beautifully. My advice is stop purchasing amp models and get an OX and if you don't have a tube amp go get a 15 watt amp and one analog OD peddal and you'll never look back.

J. Morra

November 28, 2018

The just right one I need just right now!

Now I can crank up my tube amplifier without annoying neighbors!
So many amp simulations out there, but nothing can replace real guitar sounds from hardly pushed tube amplifiers.
And also, I can record my guitar tracks like I'm in high-end record studio with various guitar cabinets and mics!

J. Kwakman

November 10, 2018

Makes you a better player

Soundwise there is nothing anyone could teach the guys from Universal Audio. After 25 years of professional playing and using all the stuff that is available (including the Kemper profiler) in both studio and live environments I think UA raised the bar again. For me personally the winner is the combination of features. I see people comparing stuff and listening very close to what sounds best, but that is subjective. The combination of finding the sweet spot of an amplifier, switching (fantastic sounding) mics and cabs in a blink combined with top notch converters. That is what's helping the actual player and that is what it's all about. Real tube compression is one of the most important things when talking about sound and the actual 'feel' of an amp. That is something a profiler doe NOT own. Period. 5 stars for me. Brilliant product.

R. Heiringhoff

October 20, 2018

Das Ende der Amp-Mikrofonierung...?

OX ist eine Reactive Load Box, die zum Röhrenamp verschiedene Boxen simulieren kann und diese dann perfekt mikrofoniert ausgibt. Man muss kein Cabinet anschließen und kann so den Amp für Aufnahmen sehr schön am "Sweet Spot" fahren, oder man schließt eine Box an und passt diese durch Drosselung an die Location an. Die Klangqualität ist spitze im Vergleich zu ähnlichen Loadboxen, die ich getestet habe.

Universal Audio sind mit ihrer Studiohardware und Plugins qualitativ ziemlich gut aufgestellt und entsprechend ist der Raumklang und die Mikrofonsimulation großartig gelungen. Die Kiste ist sehr einfach zu bedienen (wenige Knöpfe, Einstellungen über die App) und ist aus meiner Sicht die perfekte Ergänzung zum Lieblingsamp, sowohl live als auch beim Recording. Sieht auch schick aus. Der Mischer kriegt ein symmetrisches Stereosignal, aufnehmen kann man perfekt per Digitalausgang. Das Ganze ohne Nebengeräusche und mit 3 Mikros oder DI gemischt, wie man es haben will. Es gibt 17 Cabinets und 6 Mikros, die kann man in 3 Kanälen (2x direkt, 1x Raumklang) anordnen. 2 Mics sind trocken ohne jegliche Rauminformation, daher sollte man in den meisten Situationen etwas Raum dazugeben. Bei Aufnahmen lässt sich dies auch später nur sehr schwierig nachbilden. Hier geht es auch eher um Raumreflexionen als um Reverb. Wichtig ist zu erwähnen, dass der Raum, die Cabinets und alte Mics von UA verwendet wurden und dies den Klang bestimmt. Wer also gern im eigenen Badezimmer aufnimmt, muss stark mit dem EQ und Raumhall tweaken oder sich auf den anderen Raumklang einlassen. Und man sollte den Klang im Vergleich zu einem mirkrofonierten Amp im Mischerraum sehen! Direkt vor nem Fullstack ist der Spieleindruck natürlich anders.

Es gibt praxistaugliche Presets als Ausgangsbasis, die z.T. wirklich authentisch Albumsounds nachbilden (es ist verblüffend, wie man mit dem Aufnahmeraum den Ampcharakter verändern kann!). Schon der "Speaker Drive"-Regler ist magisch!!

Cabs und Mikrofonierung lassen sich sehr akribisch verstellen und bei Bedarf kann man noch EQ, nen 1176, Delay oder ne Hallplatte drauflegen. All das geht natürlich auch nach der Aufnahme, die Plugins sind nahezu identisch mit den UAD2 (bietet sich z.B. bei der Hallplatte an). Bin total begeistert und werde wohl nie wieder ein Mikro vor meine Box stellen. Beim Gig kann man super der Amp aufreißen, die Box dann auf ne gute Monitoring-Lautstärke drosseln und den mikrofonierten Ausgang an den Mischer geben. Den Raumklang (3. Mikro) kann man dann mit dem Regler vorne nach Bedarf / Location anpassen.

Nachteile: Zurzeit kein Celestion Vintage 30 zur Auswahl (gehe davon aus, dass er später in Updates zur Verfügung gestellt werden wird, da sehr beliebt, es gibt aber auch gute Alternativen). App nur für OS-X und iPad, man arbeitet wohl an anderen Formaten. Die App ist allerdings wirklich spitze gemacht und sehr bedienerfreundlich. Ich bin sehr gespannt, wie sich die Plattform entwickeln wird - mit 3 USB-Ports und Fussschalteranschluss kann hardwareseitig auch noch was kommen. Dementsprechend ziehe ich keinen Stern ab.

Teuer ist der OX, aber man sollte dies in Relation setzen: mind. 3 gute (R-121) Mikros, Preamps dazu, perfekter Aufnahmeraum, perfekte auslöschungsfreie Mikrofonpositionen, Amp aufgedreht. Bei OX ist das jederzeit, auch live, so einzusetzen und rekonstruierbar.

Schön ist, dass die Kiste einfach super zu einem guten Röhrenamp passt und ihn dann flexibel und bei Bedarf ohne Box einsetzbar macht, ohne dass man auf Kemper & Co. zurückgreifen muss. Vor allem macht das Spielen auch über Kopfhörer total Spaß, man hört extrem viele Details vom Amp und durch die sinnvolle Bedienung ist man nicht nur am Knöpfe drehen. OX löst glaube ich für viele Leute eine Menge Probleme. Die Klangqualität lässt keine Wünsche offen - unglaublich.

F. Schebelle

October 12, 2018

All you will ever need

I played before with a Shure reactive Load and custom IRs and a computer to get a well sounding result. Now you only need your amp and the box, that's all. Se possibilities are endless if you are able to combine the cabinets with the micros and varying the micro position and using the room hall. Playing directly from the amp into your headphone or monitoring boxes. It's so easy. And in the feature there will be more. Well done!
And IRs aren't the future, the future starts here!

L. Walker

October 11, 2018

Obsolete on arrival

Oh, sure, it sounds good. So do other load boxes, including less expensive, more flexible and upgrade able options. UAD is marketing this overpriced pig like crazy because their plugin business is out of cool gear to model. This device is headed for the black hole in the closet along with Gibson’s FirebirdX. Technology too costly and too late for what it hopes to do. The fatal flaw of the Ox is it’s closed design, not allowing the use of other IR’s. You will get sick of the included choices and lament not having access to new great tones. Expensive door stop.

J. Burns

October 4, 2018

Half Amazing

It sounds incredible, but I do a lot of genres. No V30s at launch was disappointing. I’ve had it awhile now and the lack of cab updates has skipped past disappointing to lazy. Get your act together UA.

D. Brewer

September 26, 2018

It really is that good

I was definitely skeptical of this product--for 2 reasons really. The first was that I couldn't find any demos showing off the Ox's ability to handle really high gain metal and hard rock tones. The 2nd reason was that the Ox doesn't come with any v30 speaker options.

I can say firsthand that this box handles high gain tones better than any load/IR combination that I have tried to date. As far as the v30s, I'm not too heartbroken, as the modern Marshall 4x12 options work wonderfully for heavy sounds.

I was on the fence so I figured that I would just order it from Sweetwater and return it if it was nothing special. Well, I can't return it, because I am already in love with this thing. It's worth the money. I ran my Bogner Uberschall through it on day one and I was blown away.

I still want UAD to add v30 options, but I'm certainly good for now.

D. DiPietro

September 19, 2018

Spot on

Unboxed it a few hours and I'm sitting in my control room with a Deluxe and running the 1x12 Deluxe speaker sim. Going between the amp in the room and the line out coming through my JBL monitors and it's 99% the exact same sound - a better job at mic'ing a cab then I've done over the last 30 years. I was skeptical and waited for some "non marketing" reviews before I spent the cash but for once the marketing hype was for real. Hate to be a fan-boy but the sound is the real deal. Won't add to my live rig until there's a flight case for it but for the studio it's a no-brainer.

M. Dannells

September 16, 2018

I Can Use My Tube Amps Again!

I am a touring guitarist and I switched to using a Kemper some years back to have an efficient touring/recording rig. While I still love my Kemper for live use, it is as of late usually in transit in the band trailer, so I wanted to have another option for home recording.

I am using it in conjunction with a UAD Apollo Quad, and I had an issue with some digital noise when I first plugged it in. It turns out I had a sample rate mismatch with the Apollo being at 48k and the OX running at 44.1k. If I have one complaint so far it is that it is limited to 44.1k as far as I know.

Tone? Pretty blown away. I am using my old 80s 50 Watt Marshall JMP which I rarely use because of the volume issues. I am currently working on a really heavy death-ish metal project and have been experimenting with different ways of achieving a really crushing tone (Note: The UAD Engl Savage model is pretty awesome, too). The front end gain is courtesy of Fender's new Full Moon Distortion. I got an early model of the pedal because I created some music for Fender that goes with these insane animations that will be released soon to promote the pedal line. A great pedal as well.

Anyway, I dialed up what I thought was a pretty killer tone, and then started messing with the presets. That's when s&*t got real! It was amazing that even with the same settings on my pedal and amp, the factory presets made things so radically different. You have a choice of mics, cabinets, room, EQ, 1176 Compressor, a delay/mod unit, and a plate reverb. All of the effects are up to UAD high sonic standards.

Anyway, I am spending some more time with it tonight and just wanted to give my initial impressions. Thanks, UAD for making me love tube amps again!

A. Noto

September 16, 2018

Game Changer!

Simply put, the OX is incredible! As an attenuator, it’s the best I’ve experienced and the speaker and mic sims are so real, so lush it’s hard to go back to the real thing considering the benefits of silent recording. Looking forward to digging deeper with the iOS App and for UA to add more cabs. Bravo!

T. Nakatsuchi

August 25, 2018

Almost Perfect

I want to buy vintage 30's...

G. Koftinoff

August 21, 2018

Even with complaints it gets a 5!

First off, I've tried a lot of different amp sims and fx units/software over the years, and currently have the Axe FX II Ultra which is great in its own way, but I've always felt the sounds weren't quite real enough or present like recording a live amp. That has all changed with the OX. Using the output of your real amp and running it through their cabinet/mic/fx models is definitely the best I've ever heard. It will be amazing to try different amp heads on this as I slowly collect them! My only complaints: 1) They should have implemented the USB ports to hook directly to computer although the wi-fi does work fairly well. 2) If they did implement the USB, the unit could have MIDI in to sync the delay unit to your daw which makes things a lot easier 3) The quality of the processing is amazing but more would be nice. 4) Since you can't save your 'Rigs' or 'Presets' to your computer, a better filing system would be great. These are things that can all be worked around and hopefully with additional firmware/updates in the future, these things will be addressed. The bottom line is the unit sounds amazing so take the plunge!

H. Jørgensen

August 20, 2018

Almost..

Sounds great, but really miss a 4*12 with Vintage 30’s..

a. druon

August 7, 2018

Un nouveau mo de vraiment

Salut,
Ce n'est pas un n-ieme buzz sur le nouvel objet de MAO qui finit par décevoir.
Les Ir en leurs temps étaient une révolution, l'OX passe au mode supérieur, très supérieur meme / dynamique , profondeur, amplitude jamais entendu en sim à ce jour (ai vupassé chez moi au cours des 10 dernières année :torpedo(s), axe(s), kemper, rivera rockcrusher etc etc

1-20 of 62 Results

Page
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4