Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Exclusively for UAD and LUNA Recording System

Regular Price: $349.00

$209.00

You'll Save 40%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Regular Price: $349.00

$209.00

You'll Save 40%

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Customer Reviews

Studer® A800 Multichannel Tape Recorder

Overall Rating

501-520 of 569 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

J. Walker

September 10, 2012

It's Definitely Glue Like - Like a Glue Gun For Your Audio

I've been reading a lot of my colleague's posts describing this plug as processing 'Glue'. Welp, count me in for that description. Very first session using the A800 last night: Acoustic Guitar (Yamaha Jumbo - C12 - Arsenal Pre - Protools), Vox (Same Chain), Kick and Snare (Yep, still the same chain).

Instantiated this plug as the first on each track after tracking was complete. Proceeded to remove about 90% of all other processors. The hype is true, its that pretty.

Make sure you have enough UAD chips available - Especially when used in sessions with many softsynths, since they eat stereo instantiations of the A800.

K, now go Demo it

W. Rice

September 2, 2012

Subtle and effective

This is a studio basic. The effect is subtle but essential for providing the familiar warmth of tracking to tape on a quality machine. I recommend it, especially in conjunction with the Ampex 102.

T. Ferguson

August 29, 2012

Buy This

If you buy one plugin in your life, buy the UAD Ampex ATR-102. If you buy two plugins in your life, buy this one as well. I've popped this on every track in all my recent mixes, and in 90% of cases, I've simply ditched all EQ and compression. The gorgeous way it warms the mix while adding detail and separation to your tracks has to be heard to be believed. In short, it improves your mix while saving you work.

Sure, it's a bit of a resource hog, but complaining about it reminds me of the Louis CK routine where everyone bitches about awesome, mind-blowing things that didn't exist five minutes ago. Get the plugin.

M. Rey

August 7, 2012

What can I say? I just love this plug in so much. This one is worth the price of admission alone. How else can you buy a pristine 24 track machine with no repairs or maintenance for $2000? This gets a lot of use in overdubbing when I'm trying to match the MCI tape machine I use for tracking & everything just melts together like you remember it. I really like the ability to easily change tape & calibrations, it's just unheard of in real life to do so fast & creates real tone shaping possibilities. I see on the forums posts saying "do you ever use this thing anymore?" I just don't get it. My answer is YES YES YES! I'll be using this one proudly till my days in audio are done. Thank you UA for making such invaluable tools!

R. Snyder

July 27, 2012

Purchased this plug-in for a project that had to sound like it was recorded in 1965. Turned up the hiss and squashed the tracks unmercifully and really pleased the client. Thought I might use it again from time to time. But, used with more subtlety it's fantastic to marry tracks recorded at different times or in different studios/locations. Use it as much or as little as needed to get the real tape sound without the hassles of real tape or a real tape machine.

N. Scarola

July 22, 2012

Amazing, just like the real thing. For drums, bass, guitars, vocals for everything.

A. Ricard

July 14, 2012

Love it so much i have quit my job so i can use it all day long.

E. Perin

July 9, 2012

Looks expensive but finally an affordable and painless solution compared to OTB summing. Good Results with the ergonomics of a plug-in.

M. Blue

July 5, 2012

I was immediately impressed by after inserting this across my mix buss how the sound took on a certain sheen, presence , warmth and punch !

You can mix into it and use it as channel inserts. It is versatile as it has presets, plus you can play with the imput(clean or distortion), output levels , speed, bias and eq and delay.

If there is one UA plug to buy, imo the Ampex is it !

p.s, plus it gives a little compression variable by input settings so very useful across the mix bus !

Kcat

B. Jester

July 3, 2012

After using a DAW for the last 12 years and not getting to use tape, I've forgot how it just glues it all together. I always loved the sound of Bass, Kick, Overheads, and Acoustic Guitars on tape. The Studer A800 was one of my favorite machines to print to as well, UA hit a homer with this plugin. There aren't many plugins that take me back to times in my tracking or mixing but this one did. That Fat Warm Vibe was present after doing a mix with this plugin! The best part about it is you can totally use different formulas for different instruments! Kick on 456 +6 and Acoustic on GP9 +3 Bass on 900 +7.5 that is a great amount of flexibility that the analog world can't give. UA is a great company that moves to get better and better. WELL DONE

E. Blaker

July 2, 2012

All I can say is WOW! Just got it, fired it up and did a couple of vocal tracks just fooling around (like testing) and again, WOW! I CAN'T WAIT to get serious with this plug-in! I would give it 10 stars, if I could (or a hundred, a thousand, whatever!).

In the late 80's, the studio where my group and I used to record had two of these machines (and a Trident console). There is NOTHING like 'em!!!

I also can't wait to get the 2 track, analog tape recorder plug-in from UA. I read about it and saw the demos and I'm ultra jazzed about that one too!!!

EB
From The Hip, Inc. Animation Studios
:-)

S. Hughes

June 29, 2012

The Studer A800 plug-in is one of those "must have" tools.

I've been amazed at how things can be rescued simply by added this to the insert. I also use it across the mix bus to eliminate that digital harshness that typically builds up over the course of an "in the box" mix. It's amazing.

I had the opportunity to purchase an actual A800 several years ago for a mere 5 grand but it needed a $24,000 head block replacement so I gave it a miss and was very disappointed.

As far as I'm concerned, I now finally have one with this plug in, only without the $300 per roll tape costs and $500 monthly lineup fees, and I'm not limited to just 24 tracks.

This plug-in combined with the new Apollo is the game changer the industry has been waiting for.

M. Rainey

June 15, 2012

Just started using it. Love the acoustic pre-set. Don't understand the variables and method of this device, except that I love the way it stacks in my mixes. I'm just a basic guitar and vocals project guy. Warm, lovely. Get it.

B. Matheny

June 14, 2012

Nice! I just purchased the Studer A800 and have been using the presets to get the hang of what it can do. Using the vintage setting on a hammer dulcimer rounded the tone and made the instrument set in the mix nicely. The effect is subtle. But I can see how this plugin can help give that "analouge" sound.

N. Leophonte

June 11, 2012

Unreal ! But it feels like reel... Since I've been using this plug on my buses, everything is fatter, punchier. My drums sound way bigger. Amazing on vox. It's a must have to do real professional mixes in the box.

A. Vasquez

April 22, 2012

This is what was missing in my mixing 'in the box"! It has the magic to glue everything together. Now my mixes sound way warmer and more pleasing. I just couldn't get that sound I was after before getting the Studer plugin. Simply magical! I recommend any quad dsp Accelerator card or more to fully take advantage of it. You'll want to insert it in every track-so you need the prossesing power. You'll end up with that "big studio sound"!

M. Marchewka

April 19, 2012

I'm all about old recordings. A huge fan of Led Zeppelin. Always trying to get that sound. I know i'll never get " that" sound. But The Studer plug- in is so damn warm. I use it on every track I record.

T. Echols

April 14, 2012

This is the first uad plugin that I have bought, and I absolutely love it. It really brings tracks together and gives a subtle warmth to everything. Very fun to mess with the bias and saturation to get some mild distortion, too! Highly recommended!

P. Moshay

April 3, 2012

It does more than just warm up & fatten your tones, it actually gives tracks more dimension and depth, UA nailed it!!!!

S. Zkh

March 15, 2012

It sounds good on everything. Warmth, character and flexibility .it is the best choice for seeking the classic sound. Simply masterpiece. Good job UA!!!!!!!!!!!

501-520 of 569 Results