UAD-2 PCIe DSP Accelerator Cards

UAD-2 PCIe DSP Accelerator Cards

Customer Reviews

UAD-2 PCIe Cards

Overall Rating

521-540 of 620 Results

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or create an account.

T. Pohle

June 17, 2011

Complete miss understanding.
I thought I get a review from you.

But in general - try get TC's reverb and delays on your platform. Out of my perspective TC is on these points’ miles ahead from your sound quality (also third party) for reverb/delays. TC sounds more natural. UA sounds more artificial.

Another point - I don't like your business model of buying additional plugins in your online shop.
As a musician I get usually discounts from my local/online music shop. It is a long time ago I paid street price/ list price for equipment. So the investment in UA plugin stuff is on the end of my list. Because I have to pay in relation the highest price for UA plugs.

I like very much your product quality. I need a few clicks to come to good result.

Sometimes you use special words/expressions in your descriptions which can't really good translated in German or French (I know this from French friends). Please have look on this and try to find other words. Product videos on youtube in German, French or Spanish would be great!

The/my rating is maybe wrong - because in EMEA we use other rating systematics. Or better - I do not fully understand your rating systematics. As a EMEA citizen this is to me non logical.

A. Kovacsics

June 17, 2011

Everything's fine, except a little annoying thing.

It's seem unfair to me, that me as an old customer and UAD user who had almost all the plug-ins, I don't get any introductionary offer for the new stuffs. The special offers usually don't satisfy my needs.

But your plug-ins are great anyway!

T. Garrett

June 17, 2011

This card is a good starter UAD-2 card. I love working with the plugins that I also purchased since having this card. I really want to invest in another UAD-2 card, another solo or duo, but I would like the kinks to get worked out between UA and Avid PT 9. Overall it delivers!

S. Davison

June 17, 2011

I was in a session with a producer and he was amazed that we could just grab a "Fairchild", or a "Massive Passive" and just throw it into a track.
The quality of sound has transformed me from a guy who did not like plug ins to a guy who spends a lot of time tweaking parameters.

I am very happy as well that you have been including classic FX(EP 34) and modern miracles (IBP,Transient Designer).

There was a point in time where i figured i needed to spend $50-1000k on outboard gear to compliment my studio, and while i would still love to have some hardware, i believe this system is top notch.

One nice side grade option would be say if owners of the quad systems could purchase the fire wire system at a friendly price for their portable systems.

Please keep on bringing out classic FX processors like the weird Lexicon stuff(Vortex) and crusty old Prime Time Delays.

Your attention to detail is astounding!

B. Riggi

June 17, 2011

I've just recently purchase this card and so far I'm impressed! I'm hoping to purchase additional plug-ins for it shortly to increase my toolbox. Installation was easy and the control panel interface is straight forward and easy to use. Integration with Pro Tools 9 was seamless. It would be nice to have the plug ins appear under the different categories (ie, compressors, EQ, etc) in Pro Tools but they're easily found under the manufacturer's category. It's just difficult to pick out which plug ins are what sometimes, but that's why there's a manual. :-)

Overall, I'm very happy with the card and I'm looking forward to making it an integral part of my mixes going forward.

Thank you for a great product!

L. Eriksson

June 17, 2011

Thanks to the UAD-2 Q, I can make professional productions in my home studio. I love the analog feel of the sound, it gives me a great inspiration. The power of UAD-2 Q means that I never have to compromise. Many thanks. Leif Eriksson

O. Froning

June 17, 2011

These are by far the best plug ins i have in my Mac. Every time i open a UA Plugin in Logic i am amazed how good the sound-quality is. I never had to worry about the latency or how much more Plugins i can open. This is simply great.

D. Pulgar

June 17, 2011

Muy buena calidad de plugins pero vienen muy pocos. Si quieres comprar plugins nuevos son muy caros y además las tarjetas no tienen mucha capacidad de proceso, en seguida llegan al máximo de su capacidad. La quad es carísima.

D. Pulgar

June 17, 2011

Muy buena calidad de plugons, pero vienen pocos y si quieres comprar mas son muy caros.

P. Kaludjerovic

June 17, 2011

Hi!

+ Very helpfull tool, 80% of my mixes done on UAD cards
+ great plugIns (LA2A, 1176, Fairchild, especially NEVE...)
+ worth every cent I paid (except Harrison)

- Dual&QuadCPU overload & spikes in Nuendo 4.3
It's unacceptable that I have to manage CPU affinity in TaskManager every time I start Nuendo. Expecting this to be solved.

Best regards!!!

T. Rondini

June 17, 2011

Absolutely love my UAD-2 Quad! This card has run flawlessly for me and can take a lot of simultaneous plug-ins. I own a good number of UAD plug-ins and each has a special place in my mixes. I don't even think twice about whether or not the card has the available capacity to take another plug-in, I just move forward with my workflow and focus on the music. Maybe someday I'll find that I've hit the wall for Quad processing...and I guess it will mean it's time to buy another - however that hasn't happened yet with having completed some very big mixes, I don't expect that to happen anytime soon. Nice job UA - as always!

S. Lougheed

June 17, 2011

Overall a fantastic piece. While non-native processing is not totally necessary these days with how powerful CPUs have become, the plugins produced by UA are amazing, and it is nice to have the extra CPU ticks for those big projects where I use more native processing.
I have no gripes about this unit whatsoever, however I am very grateful to have gone for the DUO, as the SINGLE may have been a little too light-duty for me.

B. Gautier

June 17, 2011

Having purchased a UAD-1 card some ten years ago it didn't take me long to purchase another as I soon found, that in the world of plugin s, UA were the only ones I was using, and when the UAD-2 system was released I promptly, when finances allowed, went straight out and supplemented my UAD-1 cards with a UAD-2 Quad card.

As an old fart of the industry I'm fortunate to have spent a large proportion of my professional life with the original hardware, that UA simulate to such a fine and true level, as I have owned and run Studio and Post Production Facilities between London - New York and L.A. for most of it.

Having taken the decision to sell my stake in the companies, that my partner and I built up over a period of seventeen years, it wasn't long before I ached again for a studio of my own that could satisfy my needs and passion for the world of audio.

My studio is an eclectic combination of old and new where UA play a significant role, coupled with my choice of Steinberg's Nuendo Software-Lynx Converters-PMC Monitoring, powered by Bryston Amps and an array of vintage hardware I have collected over my life.

I have no hesitation to recommend the UAD DSP system, as I do on many occasions, to those people who are looking for the utmost in quality, within the Digital world we live in, as it's as good as the real thing without the heavy burden of price.

Thanks to all at UA for being so diligent and expert in bringing the availability of such world renowned hardware to our humble computer systems and long may you keep developing.

Bill Gautier.
Owner / Producer / Engineer.
Martha's Studio - London - 2011

P. Hagberg

June 17, 2011

The UAD-2 quad is just an amazing piece of art ! The UAD LN1176 is still the best compressor available, whether it is software or hardware !

R. Wheelock

June 17, 2011

One of the main pieces of my studio. Really great sounding plugins powered by a powerfull card. I just wish could have more reverb emulations (AMS, L480 etc)

D. Dessers

June 17, 2011

IIIIIIIIIIIIIIII
LLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVEEEEE
YYYYYYOOOOOOOOOOUUUU
U A D

J. Luis

June 17, 2011

I have just bought me a Universal Audio 6176, have a sound card RME Fireface 400 and I would like to know which would be the way of connecting these 2 devices and the ideal configuration to record voices of rap (+-)
Thank you,
Jose Luis Ortega

A. Ziak

June 17, 2011

It's not possible to make anything musically without my UAD-2. This and my Mac is the heart of the studio. Very happy user so far!

J. Juste

June 17, 2011

For me, a "can't live without !". I use it in every production I do.I'm really satisfied of my uad's.

H. Robjohns

June 17, 2011

This is an immensely powerful DSP card, but the installation and authorisation process is almost trivially simple. I had mine installed, up and running within five minutes – and that included three minutes scrabbling around onthe floor taking the side of the computer and installing the card! The installations instructions are clear and easy to follow, and the online authorisation process is more or less automatic and completely hassle-free.

The plug-in collection supplied with the card provide a good starting point, and everything is very useful – there are no 'fillers' here – but the strength of the UAD system is in the depth of plug-ins available and their astonishing quality.

It is easy to be beguiled by the beautiful plug-in graphics which accurately mimic the original hardware, but the important issue is how the sonic character of the plug-ins compare and whether they do the job they are intended to do. The answer, from my experiences so far, is an emphatic YES. The Pultec EQ is sublime in the way is shapes and sculpts an instrument's tonality. I spent many years in a former career working daily with a Neve 33609 across my mix bus, and the plug-in behaves in precisely the same way – a real home from home experience! I've also found the EMT plate reverb to be remarkably accurate in the way it responds.

With most purchases there's always a niggle somewhere; something that doesn't quite work the way you'd like, or something that irritates or disappoints in some, usually trivial way, but which just downgrades the experience slightly. However, all my experiences of the UAD-2 Quad DSP and the various plug-ins I've tried so far have left me feeling extremely pleased and satisfied with the decision to go own this route. There have been no negatives whatsoever, just a very positive and hugely enjoyable experience.

I'm a thoroughly converted fan!

521-540 of 620 Results